Todmorden, YorkshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes, S-Y
West Riding
Todmorden
For more information and records see Todmorden, Lancashire.
Contents |
Parish History
TODMORDEN, a parochial chapelry, and the head of a union; containing 16,830 inhabitants, of whom 10,776 are in a part of the town of Todmorden, and in the townships of Langfield and Stansfield, parish of Halifax, W. riding of York; and the remaining 6054 in the greater portion of the town of Todmorden, and in the hamlet of Walsden, parish of Rochdale, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster; 20 miles (N. E.) from Manchester, and 207 (N. W. by N.)from London. The union of Todmorden comprises six townships, containing a population of 31,656. [1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£) |
| TODMORDEN CHRIST CHURCH PARISH (year) Online Records | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| |
|
|
| |||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images |
| AC | 1675-1910 | 1675-1910 | 1675-1935 | 1675-1935 | 1675-1969 | 1675-1969 |
| TODMORDEN CROSS STONE PARISH (year) Online Records | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| |
|
|
| |||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images |
| AC | 1794-1806, 1813-1859 |
1794-1806, 1813-1859 |
1794-1806 | 1794-1806 | 1794-1806 | 1794-1806 |
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Census records
Todmorden is partly in Yorkshire, but mostly in Lancashire.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306935. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
References
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 369-372.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 March 2013, at 23:19.
- This page has been accessed 198 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
