Tarrant County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties T
Tarrant County
Guide to Tarrant County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Tarrant County, Texas | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Texas | |||||||||
![]() Location of Texas in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | December 20, 1849 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Fort Worth | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Tarrant County Courthouse
100 W Weatherford Rm 130
Fort Worth, TX 76196
Phone: 817.884.1195
County Clerk has birth, marriage, land and probate records from 1876
and death records from 1903; District Clerk has divorce and court records
1860 census missing[1]
History
Tarrant County, Texas is located directly west and is adjacent to Dallas County, Texas and the largest community in the county today is Fort Worth. The first settlement was in 1841.
Parent County
1849--Tarrant County was created 20 December 1849 from Navarro County. County seat: Fort Worth [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| |
||
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Aditional Cemetary Sources
- Johnson Station Cemetery Alphabetical listing with grave marker photos
- Tarrant County DAR Burial Index ~ TXGenWeb
- Tarrant County Cemeteries ~ indexes, maps, transcriptions ~ TXGenWeb
- Tombstone Transcription Project ~ Partial transcription of cemetery tombstones ~ USGenWeb
- Texas Historic Cemeteries ~ Partial indexes to historic cemeteries
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Texas Escapes Listing of Texas cemeteries with transcriptions and lots of pictures.
Individual cemeteries
BillionGraves:
- Crowley Cemetery, Crowley
- Emerald Hills Cemetery, Kennedale
- Everman Cemetery, Fort Worth
- Hawkins Cemetery, Arlington
- Hudson Cemetery, Mansfield
- Laurel Land Memorial Park, Fort Worth
- Oak Grove Cemetery, Rendon
- Skyvue Cemetery, Rendon
- Tate Cemetery, Arlington
- Walnut Creek Cemetery, Rendon
- White Cemetery, Fort Worth
Census
- 1850 Census of Tarrant County ~ TXGenWeb
- 1880 Tarrant County Mortality Schedules ~ TXGenWeb
- USGenWeb Census Project ~ Texas 1850 - 1930
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Texas Christian Church Directory ~ ChurchAngel
- Catholic Parishes in Texas
Court
Directories
Fold3.com ($) has Dallas City Directories 1878-1823 (8 yrs. missing) available online.
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Tarrant County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Tarrant County Bibliography ~ TXGenWeb
- Texas Museums ~ List of all museums in Texas ~ Hidden Ancestors
Maps
- Texas Land Survey Maps for Tarrant County, Texas (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Historical Maps ~ From the Republic to the Turn of the Century ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
Military
- Muster Roll of the Tarrant County Hussars Mounted Infantry C.S.A., Tarrant County, Texas ~ TXGenWeb
- Civil War Veteran's of Tarrant County ~ TXGenWeb
- Military Resources ~ Links to research Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Fallen Heroes ~ Partial Index of casualties from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Honoring Our Veterans ~ Partial index of veterans from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Tarrant County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Tarrant County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- Home Town News - Texas Newspaper Index with links
- Newslink - Texas Newspaper List (sorted by publication frequency)
- The Olden Times - Historic Texas News Online
Obituaries
- Tarrant County Obituaries ~ TXGenWeb
- Obituary Resources ~ Links to research and locate obituaries ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Texas
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Texas Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Project ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records ~ Ancestry.com (subscription)
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Births
Marriages
- Texas Marriage Records 1966 - 2005 ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 ~ Hidden Ancestors
Deaths
- Texas Deaths, 1890-1976 (FamilySearch) - The name index was created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903 and in many counties prior to 1910. Fold3.com also has Texas Deaths, 1890-1976 ($) available online.
- Texas Death Index, 1964-1998 (FamilySearch) - Index to Texas statewide death certificates covering 4 million deaths since 1964.
Societies and Libraries
- Tarrant County Public Library Addresses and URLs
- Society Hill ~ Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Arlington Texas Family History Center
- Azle Texas Family History Center
- Fort Worth Texas Family History Center
- Hurst Texas Family History Center
Web Sites
- Tarrant County Archives ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Tarrant County TXGenWeb
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- Hidden Ancestors Information on Texas genealogy research as well as genealogy research in general.
- USGenWeb Texas Archives Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tarrant County, Texas. Page 674 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 26 April 2013, at 01:19.
- This page has been accessed 2,900 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

