Stord, NorwayEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Norway > Hordaland County > Stord
Contents |
Church Records
Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library for Stord clerical district). Contains the parish registers for Stord clerical district which includes Stord parish. Also included Fitjar parish until 1862 when it became part of the new Fitjar clerical district and Valestrand parish until 1870 when it bacame part of Sveio clerical district. Records avaialable from 1725.
Images of digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
Stord: 1725-1861, 1819-1919
Stord/Fitjar: Sjeleregister 1791
Stord/Stord: 1862-1945
Census Records
- 1664-1666 Census Sogneprestenes manntall Sundhordland prosti Stord clerical district included Valestrand, Fitjar and Stord parishes. This census was taken by the local parish priests. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 122971 Item 3 and online at Digitalarkivet as scanned images and as a database.
- 1701 Census Stord clerical district in Sunnhordland fogderi included Møkster and Austevoll parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 122983 Item 1 and online at Digitalarkivet Manntal 1701 for Søndre Bergenhus amt.
- 1801 Census Stord clerical district included Valestrand, Fitjar and Stord parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 123002 Item 1 and online at Digitalarkivet as 1801-telling for 1221 Storøen
- 1835 Census Stord clerical district included Valestrand, Fitjar and Stord parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 1283409 Item 2.
- 1845 Census Stord clerical district included Valestrand, Fitjar and Stord parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 1283409 Item 3.
- 1865 Census Stord clerical district included Valestrand parish. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 123068 Item 2 and online at Digitalarkivet as 1865-telling for 1221 Stordø
- 1875 Census Stord clerical district is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 273501 and online at Digitalarkivet as 1875-telling for 1221 Stord
- 1891 Census Stord clerical district is online at Digitalarkivet as 1891-teljinga for Stord.
- 1900 Census is on microfilm at the Family History Library Films 274271-274272 and online at Digitalarkivet as 1900-telling for 1221 Stord
- 1910 Census The 1910 census search at Digitalarkivet
- The census of 1865, 1875 (partial), 1900 and 1910 are also available at the Norwegian Historical Data Center
Court Records
Land Records
Farm Books
Høyland, Ola, Stord bygdebok, Stord : Utgjevar: Stord herad, 1966-1973. A history of Stord in Hordaland county and a genealogy of the people and their farms. Vol. 2 includes an expanded index. FHL 948.32/S3 H2h A farm name index to volume 2 is found in the following link. File:948.32-S3 H2h Vol 2 - STORD.pdf
| The farm name index referenced above includes many more names than the list below. |
Farm Names
28 Aadland 6 Agdestein 56 Almaas 48 Birkeland 39 Bjelland nordre 8 Borevik 5 Bortveit 2 Brandvik store 21 Breiviken 32 Dale 52 Digernes 59 Diviken 44 Eldøen 9 Elvepladset 12 Eskeland nedre 51 Føien 10 Førland 50 Grindevik 9 Grov 24 Haga 47 Hatland 15 Haugland 1 Haukenes 9 Heimebøen 7 Hetlesæter 46 Horneland 49 Hornelandsvaagen 26 Hysingstad 41 Høiland 31 Isdal 45 Kaarevik 35 Kaneteig 19 Kivik 43 Langeland 38 Leirvik 34 Lillebø nedre 33 Lillebø øvre 18 Lunde 17 Lunde-Mandsværk 37 Løning 4 Mehammer 26 Midtøen 60 Mjelkvik 63 Morken 38 Naustneset 54 Nes 3 Nordhuglen 57 Nysæter 27 Orninggaard 62 Peterteigen 22 Præstegaarden 14 Præsthaug 20 Rommetveit nedre 28 Sagneset 13 Solhaug 61 Stokken østre 36 Stue 53 Sætrevik 25 Sæverhagen 16 Tveite nordre 42 Tveite søndre 55 Valvatne 29 Vatne 58 Vikenes 23 Økland nedre 30 Økland øvre
Probate Records
1668-1887: Records are found in Sunnhordaland judicial district.
1690-1877: Clerical probate records are found in Sunnhordaland Deanery.
References
Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 28 February 2013, at 03:06.
- This page has been accessed 497 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
