Steuben County, IndianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Indiana
Steuben County
Guide to Steuben County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Steuben County, Indiana | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location of Indiana in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | February 7, 1835 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Angola | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Steuben County Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Historical Facts
Populated Places
Boundary Changes
Parent County
1835--Steuben County was created 7 February 1835from La Grange County.County seat: Angola [1]
Neighboring Counties
Record Loss
Steuben County, Indiana Resources
Bible Records
Biographies
Cemeteries
- Cemeteries of Steuben County - Linkpendium
- Steuben County Cemeteries - INGenWeb
Census Records
For tips on accessing Steuben County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.
- Index to Mortality Schedule (1860) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census (1880) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Church Records
Court Records
Directories
Gazetteers
Genealogies
History
Local Histories
- History of Steuben County, Indiana: together with sketches of its cities, villages and towns, educational, religious, civil, military, and political history, portraits of prominent persons, and biographies of representative citizens: also a condensed history of Indiana, embodying accounts of prehistoric races, aborigines, Winnebago and Black Hawk wars, and a brief review of its civil and political history. (1885. Chicago: Inter-state.) FHL US/CAN Film 924060 Item 1 FHL Collectionother librariesFamilySearch Books Online
- History of Steuben County - Linkpendium
Land and Property
Maps
- Family Maps of Steuben County, Indiana (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Maps and Gazetteers -Linkpendium
- Maps for Steuben County - INGenWeb
Maps
Migration
Military Records
War of 1812
Civil War 1861-1865
- List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883 Steuben County, Indiana (Source: Internet Archive)
- American Civil War, 1861-1865
- The war for the Union, 1861-1865 A record of its defenders, living and dead, from Steuben county, Indiana (Source:Internet Archive)
Civil War service men from Steuben County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Steuben County.
- 1st Regiment, Indiana Heavy Artillery, Company A
- 7th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies D, and K
- 9th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company E
- 12th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies B, and C,
- 29th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A
- 44th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, G, and K
- 74th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company H
- 100th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, and C
- 129th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, H, and I
- 152nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- 155th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company F
- 4th Regiment, Michigan Infantry (1st organization), Company E
- 42nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I
CIVIL WAR BOOKS
- Carpenter, Jesse H. 1889. The war for the Union, 1861-1865 a record of its defenders, living and dead, from Steuben County, Indiana, and history of veteran organizations and kindred associations. (S.l: s.n.]. ), (Regiment, Companies, Name's;Roll Of Honor, page 42- 48)FHL US/CAN Film 547227 Item 6FHL Collection other librariesINTERNET ARCHIVEAllen County Library
- "The Civil War" Chapter 5 in History of Steuben County, Indiana: together with sketches of its cities, villages and towns, educational, religious, civil, military, and political history, portraits of prominent persons, and biographies of representative citizens: also a condensed history of Indiana, embodying accounts of prehistoric races, aborigines, Winnebago and Black Hawk wars, and a brief review of its civil and political history. (1885. Chicago: Inter-state.), (page 339 - 406,Regiment, Companies)FHL US/CAN Film 924060 Item 1 FHL Collectionother librariesFamilySearch Books Online
- World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
- Men and Women who Died in the Service of the United States and the Allied Nations in the World War 1914-1918 (Source: Genealogy Trails History Group)
- World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 Steuben County (Source: Explore Ancestry.com ) ($)
- World War II, 1941-1945
- Steuben County, Indiana World War II Casualties, Army and Army Air Corps (Source: AccessGenealogy)
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Obituaries
Occupations
Other Records
- Roster of Civilian Conservation Corps, Angola, Steuben County, Indiana (1938) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Probate Records
Repositories
Archives
Court House
Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records
- Index of Deaths in Steuben County, Indiana (1831-1938) (free, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Steuben County, Indiana Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Steuben County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 22:57.
- This page has been accessed 2,073 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
