Stephens County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Stephens County
Guide to Stephens County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Stephens County, Georgia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Georgia | |
![]() Location of Georgia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | August 18, 1905 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Toccoa |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Stephens County Courthouse 150 W Doyle Street; PO Box 386 Toccoa, GA 30577 Phone: 706.886.9496 Stephens County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Stephens County Courthouse
150 W Doyle Street; PO Box 386
Toccoa, GA 30577
Phone: 706.886.9496
County Health Departmetn has birth and death records;
Probate Court has marriage and probate records; Clerk
Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1906[1]
History
Parent County
1905--Stephens County was created 18 August 1905 from Franklin and Habersham Counties.
County seat: Toccoa [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Stephens County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Stephens County for European settlers included:[3]
- Savannah River pre-historic
- Old Cherokee Path pre-historic
- Lower Cherokee Traders' Path pre-historic
- Coosa-Tualoo Indian Warpath
- Tugaloo-Apalachie Bay Trail
- Augusta and Cherokee Trail 1740s
- Old South Carolina State Road 1747
- Charleston-Ft. Charlotte Trail about 1765
- Fort Charlotte and Cherokee Old Path about 1777
- Upper Road about 1783
- Unicoi Trail or Turnpike 1813[4]
Military
Civil War
- Ledford, Karen Ann Thompson. These Men Wore Grey Genealogical, Military, and Interment Records of Confederate Soldiers. (Toccoa, Georgia : K.T. Ledford, c1998-c2001), 7 Volumes. Each volume contains bibliographical references and full-name index. Contents: v. 1. Franklin County -- v. 2. Habersham County --v. 3. Stephens County -- v. 4. Rabun County --v. 5. White County -- v. 6. Banks County -- v. 7. Jackson County. Book found at FHL 975.8 V3L and Other Libraries.
Newspapers
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Stephens County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog. Do a Place search for Stephens County, Georgia to find these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Stephens County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Stephens County, Georgia. Page 160 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
- ↑ William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 5 June 2013, at 01:32.
- This page has been accessed 1,685 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

