Ste. Genevieve County, MissouriEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Missouri
Ste. Genevieve County
Guide to Ste. Genevieve County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Ste. Genevieve County, Missouri | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Missouri in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | October 1, 1812 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Ste. Genvieve |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Ste. Genevieve County Courthouse 55 S 3rd Street Ste. Genevieve, MO 63670 Phone: 573-883-2791 Ste. Genevieve County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth and death records 1883-1892
Circuit Clerk Recorder has marriage, divorce, court and
land records, Circuit Court Judge has probate records[1]
History
Ste. Genevieve County predates the state of Missouri which was admitted to the union in 1821. Ste. Genevieve was one of the five original districts of the Louisiana Territory from 1805-1812 and one of the five original counties of the Missouri Territory from 1812 to 1821.
Parent County
1812--Ste. Genevieve County was created 1 October 1812 as an original county.
County seat: Ste. Genevieve. [2]
Boundary Changes
- See an interactive map of Ste. Genevieve County border changes at N2Genealogy.
Record Loss
Places/Localities
- The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all 114 Missouri Counties.
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Archives and Libraries
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Ste. Genevieve County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Ste. Genevieve County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Missouri Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of Ste. Genevieve County, Missouri (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Map of Ste. Genevieve County townships (Histopolis)
- The University of Missouri Digital Library has digital copies of Missouri county plat books (ca. 1930) for all Missouri counties including Ste. Genevieve County. The city of St. Louis is not included in this collection.
Military
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ste. Genevieve County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Ste. Genevieve County, Missouri Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.
In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records.
St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births. The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office.
- "Saint Genevieve County, Missouri Records" - 190 pages - 9842 names - soft cover - full name index - 8.5X11 inches - reprinted 2012. Gives a brief history of the county, Baptismal Records 1759-1811 giving the child's name and their parent. Marriage Book A(1807-1827 and 1842-1866. Abstract of Wills and Administration 1807-1855. Registry of Wolf Scalps 1847-1895. Death Registry 1883-1892. The dates of the baptismal records in this book are some of the earlist in the Colonial times in America. Might be a local library but you can buy it at mountain-press.com/
Births
- 1883 - Ste. Genevieve County Birth Index 1883. Batches C583914 and C583912 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1891 - Ste. Genevieve County Birth Index 1891. Batch C583913 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
- 1806-1896 - Ste. Genevieve County Marriage Index 1806-1896. Batch M515771 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- Brian Oster Missouri Marriage Records Site
Deaths
- Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
- 1883 - Ste. Genevieve County Death Index 1883. Batch B514598 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1885 - Ste. Genevieve County Death Index 1885. Batch B514597 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Societies and Museums
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ste. Genevieve County, Missouri. Page 406 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f4/Igimissourir.pdf.
| This Missouri-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 17 June 2013, at 19:20.
- This page has been accessed 2,068 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
