St Alban Wood Street with St Olave Silver StreetEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
London
London Parishes
St Alban Wood Street with St Olave Silver Street
London St Alban Wood Street with St Olave Silver Street family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers (baptisms, christenings, marriages, and burials), civil registration (births, marriages, and deaths), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and website resources.
Contents |
Church records
St Alban Wood Street Parish
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1813-1852 | Ancestry[2] | 1754-1918 | Ancestry[3] | 1813-1849 | Ancestry[4] | ||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1662-1852 | FamilySearch[5] | 1629-1630 1663-1836 |
British Origins[6] | 1662-1786 | FindMyPast[7] | |||||||||||||
| 1629-1836 | FindMyPast[8] | 1754-1851 | FindMyPast[9] | ||||||||||||||||
| 1800-1836 | FamilySearch[10] | 1813-1851 | BritishOrigins[11] | ||||||||||||||||
| 1800-1837 | Ancestry[12] | ||||||||||||||||||
St Olave Silver Street Parish
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1800-1812 | Ancestry[3] | ||||||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1616-1736 | FamilySearch[13] | 1800-1837 | Ancestry[12] | 1567-1770 | FindMyPast[9] | |||||||||||||
| 1813-1851 | BritishOrigins[11] | ||||||||||||||||||
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Census records
1541 Subsidy
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Cripplegate Ward - Seynt Albons in Woodstrete, courtesy: British History Online
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Cripplegate Ward - Parte of Seynt Olave Parish in Silverstrete, courtesy: British History Online
1547 Subsidy
- St Alban, Wood Street, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/142); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
- St Olave, Silver Street, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/142); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1582 Subsidy
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Cripplegate Ward - St Albones Parishe, courtesy: British History Online
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Cripplegate Ward - St Alphage & St Olaves Parishes, courtesy: British History Online
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Farringdon Ward Within - St Fosters & St Olaves Parishes, courtesy: British History Online
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Farringdon Ward Within - St Olaves Parishe in Mugwell Streat, courtesy: British History Online
1638 Inhabitants List
- Inhabitants of London in 1638 - St Alban's, Wood Street, courtesy: British History Online
- Inhabitants of London in 1638 - St Olave, Silver Street, courtesy: British History Online
1645 Subsidy
- St Alban, Wood Street, Cripplegate Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 5); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
1666 Hearth Tax
- Hearth Tax: City of London 1666 - St Alban Wood Street, courtesy: British History Online
- Hearth Tax: City of London 1666 - St Olave Silver Street, courtesy: British History Online
1667 Hearth Tax
- St Alban, Wood Street, Cripplegate Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
- St Olave, Silver Street, Cripplegate Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
1692-1932 Land Taxes
1695 Inhabitants Lists
- London Inhabitants Within the Walls 1695, courtesy: British History Online. (see supplements for St Olave Silver Street residents)
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. |
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Probate records
Will indexes for probate courts covering St Alban Wood Street with St Olave Silver Street are available online.
Before 1858, St Alban Wood Street with St Olave Silver Street fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.
Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.
Cemetery
Transcripts of early St Alban Wood Street with St Olave Silver Street tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[14]
A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Alban Wood Street churchyard.[15]
A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Olave Silver Street churchyard.[15]
Records of the Poor
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Parish History
"St Alban Wood Street, with St. Olave Silver Street, Cheapside, is situated about the middle of the East side. It is an indifferent attempt at the appointed style of architecture by Sir Christopher Wren, who, it is clear by this and other of his churches in the ancient English style of Gothic architecture, had but little knowledge and feeling for this appropriate and elegant style of ecclesiastical architecture. It is dedicated to St. Alban, the Anglo -- proto-martyr who suffered under the persecution of Diocletian, and gave his name to the ancient town in the Abbey of St. Alban, in Hertfordshire. The first church on the site was erected in the year 930, and dedicated to the same. After various repairs, the ancient church was taken down in 1634, and another corrected, that was destroyed by the great fire of London in 1666, when the present edifice was erected after the same plan as the former. The living is a rectory, in the patronage of Eton College [Buckinghamshire], and the Dean and chapters St. Paul's, alternately; and the parish of St. Olave, Silver Street, was united to it after the fire."[16]After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Alban Wood Street Parish united with St Olave Silver Street Parish.[17]
Today, only the tower of St Alban Wood Street stands.[18]
St Olave Silver Street Parish was also spelled St Olave Silverstreet Parish. The church building no longer exists.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
- London Family History Centre Catalogue (St Alban Wood Street Parish records)
- London Family History Centre Catalogue (St Olave Silver Street Parish records)
- Society of Genealogists Library Catalogue (to narrow results, conduct a subject search for 'London St Alban' or 'London St Olave Silver Street')
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Alban, Wood Street in the City of London | St Olave, Silver Street in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
- ↑ London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Alban Wood Street in the City of London.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Alban Wood Street in the City of London | St Olave Silver Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Alban Wood Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ Batches C021961-C021962, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
- ↑ 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
- ↑ 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
- ↑ 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
- ↑ Batch M021961, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
- ↑ 11.0 11.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins, accessed 4 April 2013.
- ↑ 12.0 12.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
- ↑ Batches C010521, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
- ↑ Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- ↑ 15.0 15.1 Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- ↑ James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitized by Google Books.
- ↑ Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
- ↑ "St Alban (Tower only), Friends of The City Churches, accessed 18 October 2011.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 October 2012, at 21:31.
- This page has been accessed 1,066 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


