St. Paul Parish, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
St. Paul Parish
Before the American Revolution, the state church of Georgia was the Church of England (the Anglican Church, or Protestant Episcopal Church). Besides keeping parish registers, the church kept many records of a civil nature in their vestry books. The Vestry was as much a political body as a religious one. The wardens and commissioners were responsible for the roads, education, the poor and orphans, voting and collecting taxes in addition to their church duties.
Contents |
Founded
St. Paul Parish (location, GA) was officially created in 1758 as an original colonial parish.
Boundary
Borders: Ceded lands and St. George parishes. For a map, see: Map of Georgia's Colonial Parishes (courtesy: GeorgiaInfo).
Areas Served: St. Paul Parish served: FIX
- part of Berkeley (1682-1768) County 1706-1768
- part of Charleston District 1768-1800
- and survives to the present
Modern equivalent: The original parish covered part of what is present-day county.
Resources
Cemetery
Land
- Alden Associates. Ceded Lands Records of St. Paul Parish and Early Wilkes Co., Ga. Albany, Ga., n.d.
Parish History
Parish Records
Websites
References
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 March 2012, at 22:01.
- This page has been accessed 582 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More