Southwark St Saviour, Surrey, EnglandEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Surrey
Surrey Parishes
Southwark St Saviour
Southwark St Saviour, Surrey family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers (baptisms, christenings, marriages, and burials), civil registration (births, marriages, and deaths), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and website resources.
Contents |
Church records
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1813-1904 | Ancestry[2] | 1754-1921 | Ancestry[3] | 1813-1854 | Ancestry[4] | ||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1759-1835 | FamilySearch[5] | 1605-1625 | FindMyPast[6] | 1722-1781 | BritishOrigins[7] | |||||||||||||
| 1759-1835 | FamilySearch[8] | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1782-1837 | Ancestry[9] | ||||||||||||||||||
- 1605-1625 - Greenstreet, James. "Marriages at St. Saviour's, Southwark, from A.D. 1605 to A.D. 1625," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, 1611-1613: Vol. 27, No. 1 (Jan. 1896):47-49; 1613-1614: Vol. 29, No. 3 (Jul. 1898):171-173. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 27, 29. Internet Archive has digitized Vol. 27 and Vol. 29 - free.
- 1605-1625 - Greenstreet, James. "Marriages at St. Saviour's, Southwark, from A.D. 1605 to A.D. 1625," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, 1611-1613: Vol. 27, No. 1 (Jan. 1896):47-49; 1613-1614: Vol. 29, No. 3 (Jul. 1898):171-173. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 27, 29. Internet Archive has digitized Vol. 27 and Vol. 29 - free.
St Saviour Workhouse Baptisms 1848-1875 C058411
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Non Conformist Churches
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. Southwark was comprised of, as of the year 1870, three registration districts ('St Saviour, St Olave, and St George).
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474670. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Cemetery
Southwark Cathedral database at Find A Grave. (47+ entries)
Parish History
'SOUTHWARK St Saviour Cathedral is an ancient parish and has registers commencing from the year 1538, is the principal church of these five ancient parishes in this metropolitan borough. The borough lies on the south side of the River Thames, opposite the City of London; attached with the city by the London, Southwark, and Blackfriars bridges;
'The five ancient parishes of Southwark include St Saviour, St Olave, St George the Martyr , Christ Church, and St Thomas.
The ecclesiastical arrangement for Southwark included also the following chapelries:
- All Hallow, Copperfield St - 1875
- St Alphege - 1872
- St Jude - 1850
- St Mary Magdalen - 1843
- St Michael - 1867
- St Paul Westminster Road.- 1858
- St Peter - 1846
- St Stephen - 1850
- St Thomas Hospital Chapel - 1690
- Wilberforce Mission Church -
The places of worship within the new borough, included the parish incumbencies of Horsley-Down, Bermondsey, and Rotherhithe.
Also included in the borough were the following Nonconformist churches:
- English Presbyterian Church - 1
- Independents - 1
- Baptists - 15
- Quakers - 1
- Unitarians - 1
- Wesleyan Methodists - 7
- Primitive Methodists - 1
- Wesleyan Association - 3
- Wesleyan Reformers - 1
- Welsh Calvinistic Methodists - 1
- Roman Catholics -3
There were four additional unspecified dissenting chapels in the borough as well.[10]
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
References
- ↑ London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as St Saviour in Southwark Borough and St Saviour, Denmark Park in Southwark Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
- ↑ London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Southwark St Saviour in Southwark Borough and St Saviour in Southwark Borough. Partially indexed.
- ↑ London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Southwark St Saviour in Southwark Borough. Partially indexed.
- ↑ London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Southwark St Saviour in Southwark Borough. Partially indexed.
- ↑ Batches C055181, C055182, C055183, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
- ↑ 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net (WayBack Machine), accessed 27 March 2012.
- ↑ 'Greater London Burials: South London Burials: Parishes, Period and Counts,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
- ↑ Batch M055181, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
- ↑ John Marius Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870)
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 5 April 2013, at 05:52.
- This page has been accessed 3,246 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
