Southtown, SuffolkEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Suffolk
Suffolk Parishes
Southtown
Contents |
Parish History
SOUTHTOWN, anciently a parish, but now commonly considered a hamlet in the parish of Gorleston, locally in the hundred of Mutfrod and Lothingland, E. division of Suffolk.[1]
Southtown St Mary is an ecclesiastical parish within the Diocese of Norwich and the county of Suffolk. Southtown St Mary became a chapelry to Gorleston in 1511. Gorleston was united with the hamlet of Southtown, whose parish church of St Mary was demolished in 1548, the stone being used to build a pier.
A subsequent chapel of ease to Gorleston which later became a parish.
Census Records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474640. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
- For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Yarmouth/Yarmouth.shtml
Registration Districts
- Mutford
Maps and Gazetteers
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
References
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 149-152
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 January 2013, at 23:00.
- This page has been accessed 188 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More