Sjømannsmisjon (Newcastle-upon-Tyne)-EnglandEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Norway > Bergen > Sjømannsmisjon (Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England)
Church Records
These church records were made by the Norwegian seaman's priests at the Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England station. They included the births, confirmations, marriages, and deaths of the seamen and their families. The priest were required to make two copies of the original records. One copy was sent to the secretary of the Norwegian seamans mission in Bergen, Norway and the other copy was sent to the bishop of the State Church (Lutheran) in Bergen, Norway during the month of Feb. each year. For each ordinance that the priest performed he was also required to send a certificate of the ordinance to the priest in the home town of the seaman for recording in that church book as well.
Microfilm of the original records available at the Family History Libraryfor the years 1865-1883..
Digitized images of parish registers available at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives): 1865-1883, 1883-1936
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 5 May 2012, at 13:15.
- This page has been accessed 213 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More