Sierra County, CaliforniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Sierra County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Dates for major county records|
|For earlier dates, try...|
April 16, 1852: Sierra County was created from the County of Yuba. In 1866 additional land was added from Yuba County and in 1863 and 1866 land was gained from Plumas County. Look for records in both Yuba County and Pumas County.
|Remember these collections|
|Sierra County, California|
Location in the state of California
Location of California in the U.S.
|Founded||April 16, 1852|
|Address|| Sierra County Courthouse|
100 Courthouse Sq Ste 11
PO Box D Suite 11
Downieville, CA 95936
County Recorder has birth records from 1857,
marriage and land records from 1852 and death
records from 1862, Superior Court has divorce
probate and court records and naturalization
records from 1852
1947: Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
For tips on accessing Sierra County, California census records online, see: California Census.
Church History and Records
Crime and Criminals
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Land and Property
- California Trail 1844 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California
- Truckee (River) Trail 1844 crossed the Forty Mile Desert to the Truckee River to follow it west past Reno, Nevada to Donner Pass to Emigrant Gap to Sutter's Fort (Sacramento, California). The exact route varied over the years, the most used being the Nevada City Road and Auburn Emigrant Road combination.
- Henness Pass Road 1850 branched off the Truckee Trail at Verdi, Nevada headed for Camptonville and steamboat service at Marysville, California. In 1860 it became a major route to the Comstock Lode silver mines in Nevada.
- Beckwourth Trail 1850 left the Truckee Trail near present-day Sparks, Nevada going to Oroville and Marysville, California
Military History and Records
Naturalization and Citizenship
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Reno, Nevada newspapers going back to 1870 that may include residents from Sierra County. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
- Sierra County CAGenWeb
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch Family History Library Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sierra County, California. Page 87At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).
- This page was last modified on 26 April 2013, at 00:21.
- This page has been accessed 1,594 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More