Shotwick Park, CheshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Cheshire
Cheshire Parishes
Shotwick Park
Contents |
Parish History
SHOTWICK-PARK, is an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Great Boughton, in the Higher division of the hundred of Wirrall, and the Southern division of the county of Chester, it is 4¼ miles (N. W.) from Chester.[1]
Shotwick Park was an extra-parochial place in Wirral Hundred (Grid reference SJ 3571), which became a civil parish in 1858.
Shotwick Park, being part of the estates of the earl of Chester, passed to the crown with the earldom in 1237, and in 1312 Edward II created his son, later to become Edward III, Earl of Chester. We find the Black Prince, son of Edward III, writing to the Chamberlain of Cheshire on June 26th, 1353, “Make clean and prepare my houses of Shotwick where I intend to stay and have sport in the park”. Shotwick Park passed out of royal hands when Sir Thomas Wilbraham bought it from Charles II in 1677.
It is necessary to search the eccelesiatical parish records for adjacent parish of Shotwick for persons in the Shotwick Park extra parochial place.
Shotwick Park is a civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. Located near the village of Shotwick, it is four miles north west of Chester and close to the Welsh border.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Shotwick Park parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
| FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers | |||||
| FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts |
| Shotwick Park Parish Online Records | ||||||
| |
|
|
| |||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images |
| FS PR's | |
NONE |
|
NONE |
|
NONE |
| FS BT'S | |
NONE |
|
NONE |
|
NONE |
Since this is an extra parochial place the nearby parish records of Shotwick, Cheshire invariably contain events for the estate.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241252. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions
Tarvin (previously Great Boughton) Poor Law Union, Cheshire
Chester Poor Law Union from 1871-1930
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
References
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted 7 April 2013
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 23 April 2013, at 15:31.
- This page has been accessed 460 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
