Shoreditch St James, Curtain Road, MiddlesexEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Middlesex
Middlesex Parishes
Shoreditch St James, Curtain Road
Contents |
Parish History
Curtain Road or, otherwise known as Shoreditch St James, Curtain Road began functioning as a district church in 1839 and lay within the civil parish boundaries of St Leonard Shoreditch.
Here's a list of District Churches and Chapels in St Leonard Shoreditch:
- All Saints Haggerston - 1855
- Aske’s Hospital Chapel, Hackney - 1696- Baptisms 1731-1744 P019041; Marriages 1696-1753 M019041
- Christ Church, Hoxton - 1839
- Geffreye’s Almshouses Chapel, Kingsland Rd - 1794
- Holy Trinity, Beechwood Rd, Dalston - 1879
- Holy Trinity, Bletchley St, Hoxton - 1848
- Holy Trinity Shoreditch - 1866
- Merchant Taylor’s School Mission -
- St Augustine Haggerston - 1863 (part from Bethnal Green parishes)
- St Agatha Haggerston - 1871
- St Bartholomew Dalston – 1879
- St Chad Haggerston - 1863
- St Columba Haggerston - 1863
- St Andrew Hoxton - 1863
- St Anne Hoxton - 1865
- St James, Curtain Road - 1839
- St John the Baptist, Hoxton - 1826
- St Mark Old Street Road - 1848
- St Mark Dalston w/ St. Bartholomew - 1871
- St Mark St Mark’s Rise, Dalston - 1870
- St Mary Haggerston Rd, Haggerston - 1829
- St Mary Hoxton - 1866
- St Michael, Mark St, Shoreditch - 1862
- St Paul, Broke Rd, Haggerston - 1893
- St Paul Haggerston - 1861
- St Paul Haggerston - 1858
- St Peter Hoxton Square - 1869
- St Philip Dalston - 1844
- St Saviour Hoxton - 1862
- St Stephen, Goldsmith’s Row, Haggerston - 1864
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438816. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 November 2012, at 22:10.
- This page has been accessed 582 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More