Shipley cum HeatonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngYorkshire Parishes, S-YGotoarrow.pngWest Riding of YorkshireGotoarrow.png Shipley cum Heaton

Contents

Parish History

Shipley cum Heaton is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1828 from Bradford [St Peter] Ancient Parish.

Other places in the parish include: Heaton, Heaton Royds, Shipley Fields, Moorhead, Saltaire, and Moor Head. Church of England denominations identified in Shipley cum Heaton include: Baptist, General Baptist, Methodist, Particular Baptist, Primitive Methodist, Wesleyan Methodist, and Wesleyan Methodist Reform.

SHIPLEY, with Heaton, a district parish, in the parish and union of Bradford, wapentake of Morley,W. riding of York, 3¼ miles (N. N. W.) from Bradford; containing 4043 inhabitants. There are places of worship for Baptists, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Shipley exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AO = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestory.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JMI = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
SHIPLEY PARISH (1826) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1826-1894
1826-1837
None
JMI None

1826-1837

None

ANC (£) None
None
None
HATH None
None
None
AO None
None
None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464257. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 82-85.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 May 2013, at 02:17.
  • This page has been accessed 207 times.