Scioto County, OhioEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Scioto County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Scioto County, Ohio | |
| Map | |
| |
![]() Location of Ohio in the U.S. | |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Scioto County Courthouse 607 7th St. Portsmouth, Ohio 45662-3948 Scioto County Website |
|---|---|
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| *For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent Counties: Formed from Adams County in 1803.
- County Seat: Portsmouth
- Neighboring Counties: Scioto County, Ohio residents may also have records in [1]Pike (north) · Greenup County, Kentucky and Lewis County, Kentucky (south) · Adams (west) · Jackson (northeast) · Lawrence (southeast)
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Scioto County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
- The Tombstone Transcription Project
- Scioto County Cemeteries
- Scioto County Ohio Cemeteries
- The Political Graveyard
- Greenlawn Cemetery-Scioto County, Ohio- 1800 Burials
- Greenlawn Cemetery-Scioto County, Ohio- 1900 Burials
- Virtual Cemetery Index- Scioto County, Ohio
- Cemeteries
- Linkpendium Cemeteries
- Ohio Gravestones, Scioto County
- Many Cemetery Records for Scioto County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.
Census and Directories
- Scioto County, Ohio links to Online Census Records
- Scioto County, Ohio Census
- 1820 United States Federal Census $
- 1830 United States Federal Census $
- 1840 United States Federal Census $
- U. S. Fedreral Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 $
- United States Census (Mortality Schedule), 1850
- United States Census, 1850
- United States Census 1850
- United States Census, 1860
- 1860 United States Federal Census
- 1860 United States Federal Census $
- United States Census, 1870
- United States Census 1870
- United States Census, 1880 (Index only)
- United States Census 1880
- 1880 United States Federal Census $
- 1890 Veterans Schedule $
- United States Census, 1900
- United States Census 1900
- 1910 United States Federal Census $
- United States Census, 1920 (No images)
- United States Census 1920
- 1920 United States Federal Census $
- 1930 Census of Merchant Seamen $
- 1930 United States Federal Census $
- U. S. Native American Enrollment Cards for the Five Civilized Tribes, 1898-1914
- Many Directories for Scioto County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.
Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Scioto County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
Court Records
- Scioto County, Ohio Free Public Records Directory
- Scioto County, Ohio Court Directory
- Scioto County Clerk of Common Pleas Court
- Many Court Records for Scioto County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Funeral Homes
- D. W. Davis Funeral Home
- D. W. Swick Funeral Home: Obituaries
- Obituary Index Scioto County, Ohio
- Roger W. Davis Funeral Home
- Swick-Bussa-Chamberlin Funeral Home
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Local histories are available for Scioto County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.
Local Histories
- Scioto County History, includes Biographical Sketches of Portsmouth
- Historical Collections of Ohio by Henty Howe Vol. II 1888
- Family History Holdings of SCCOGS, Pioneer Applications.
- Biographies
- Articles and Stories
- History
- Portsmouth Ohio
- Scioto County Ohio History
- Many Histories for Scioto County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Land Patent Search
- Bureau of Land Management Database
- Many Land Records for Scioto County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Finding Land Records at Other Repositories
Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Scioto County, Ohio Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog(For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Maps
- Scioto County And Its Neighbors
- 1895 Scioto County Ohio U. S. Atlas
- Map of Scioto County Ohio With Municipal and Township Labels
- Scioto County Map
- Maps of Scioto County, Ohio
- Many Maps for Scioto County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Military
- General
Many Military Records for Scioto County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
- Civil War
Civil War service men from Scioto County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Scioto County.
- - 1st Regiment, Ohio Heavy Artillery, Companies A, D, and F
- - 1st Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company G, also known as the Portsmouth Guards
-Civil War Reserach Database $
-8th Independent Company Ohio Volunteer Sharp Shooters
-91st Regiment Ohio Volunteer Infantry Field and Staff
-"Final Roll Call" First Ohio Light Artillery, Battery L
-Fifth Independent Ohio Sharpshooters
- World War I
-World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 $
- Korean War
-U. S. Defense Prisoner of War/Missing Personnel Korean War
-Scioto County, Ohio Military Resources
Naturalization and Citizenship
- Many Naturalization and Citizenship Records for Scioto County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Newspapers
Scioto County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.
For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers. Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
- Obituaries
- Portsmouth Daily Times (Portsmouth, Ohio) $
- Portsmouth Times (Portsmouth, Ohio) $
- Newspapers Abstracts
- Obituary Search Engine Scioto County, Ohio
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form
- Many Newspapers for Scioto County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate
Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Scioto County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Scioto County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:
- Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (1981). [2] FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).
- 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
- 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
- Many Probate Records for Scioto County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Finding Probate Records at Other Repositories
Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Scioto County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Scioto County Courthouse
602 7th Street
Portsmouth, OH 45662-3948
Phone: 740.355.8313
Clerk Court has divorce and court records from 1817;
Probate Judge has marriage and probate records;
County Recorder has land records[3]
Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Schools
Taxation
Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.
Finding Tax Records at Other Repositories
Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Scioto County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Vital Records
Birth
- 1800-1962 - Ohio, Births and Christenings Index, 1800-1962 at ancestry.com ($)
- 1908-1964 - Ohio, Birth Index, 1908-1964 at ancestry.com ($)
Marriage
- Marriage Records 1800-1900, 1901-1945 Misc.
- Marriage Records of Scioto County, Ohio, 1803-1860 $
- Marriage Records of Scioto County, Ohio, 1803-1860 $
- Ohio Marriages, 1803-1900 $
Death
- Scioto County, Ohio Death Records
- Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.
- Ohio Death Certificate Index
- Ohio Deaths, 1908-1932, 1938-1944, and 1958-2002 $
- Death Information
- Death Records of Scioto County 1803-1860
- Ohio Death Records and Obituaries
Divorce
General
- Ohio Vital Record Batch Numbers by County
- Many Vital Records for Scioto County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories
Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Scioto County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Scioto County History and Information
- Ohio Genealogy Databases, Progenealogist
Places
Populated Places
- Scioto County, Ohio WikipediA
- National Register of Historic Places listings in Scioto County, Ohio
- Scioto County Township History
- Scioto County, Ohio Histopolis, includes details, cemeteries, cities, townships.
- Scioto County, Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
References
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Scioto County, Ohio" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scioto_County,_Ohio (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Scioto County, Ohio. Page 545 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 15 June 2013, at 21:18.
- This page has been accessed 6,174 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


