Salford Sacred Trinity, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Contents |
Chapelry History
Sacred Trinity Salford, an ancient chapel and one of twelve chapelries in Salford Township (as of 1885), and lying within the civil parish of Manchester [which also see]. The chapel was created by 1635.
Here is an 1870 historical perpsective of this large township--then with only seven chapelries--and surburb of the ancient parish of Manchester (the Cathedral of Our Lady, St George and St denys) by the famed topographer, John Marius Wilson:
"SALFORD, a town, a township, seven chapelries, a district, and a hundred, in Lancashire. The infantry barracks, in Regent-road, have accommodation for a commanding officer, 3 field officers, 30 other officers, and 978 men. The workhouse stands in Eccles New-road and has accommodation for more than 300 inmates. The borough boundaries are the same municipally as parliamentarily; and include all Salford, Pendleton, and Broughton townships, and part of Pendlebury.
Holy [and sometimes called, Sacred] Trinity is one of Salford's [twelve]...chapelries ...being aggregately conterminate with [Salford] township, [is]...in Manchester (Cathedral) parish.
The places of worship, Salford in 1851, were 13 of the Church of England; 1 of the Church of Scotland; 6 of Independents; 2 of Baptists; 1 of Unitarians; 7 of Wesleyans; 1 of New Connexion Methodists; 2 of Primitive Methodists; 3 of the Wesleyan Association; 1 of Welsh Calvinistic Methodists; 1 of the New Church; 1 of Roman Catholics; and 1 of Latter Day Saints."[1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Online Records
Online transcriptions exist for Salford Sacred (Holy) Trinity Chapelry and its eleven sister chapelries in this very large suburb in Manchester ancient parish (the Cathedral).
Listed below are all the chapels serving Salford Township and the web-links to online data (transcriptions) and the ranges of years:
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk |
| SALFORD SACRED TRINITY Chapelry (1636) Indexes | |||||||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||||||
| FS | 1636-1685; 1708-1738; 1741-1864 | 1709-1882 | 1709-1854 | ||||||||
| LOPC | 1635-1641;1813-1887 | 1838-1882 | 1813-1854 | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1837-1900 | 1838-1940 | None | ||||||||
| SALFORD CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1831) Indexes | |||||||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||||||
| FS | 1831-1885; 1896-1897 | None | None | ||||||||
| LOPC | 1831-1941 | 1838-1919 | 1831-1897 | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1838-1940 | 1838-1940 | None | ||||||||
| FREG | None | 1886-1896 | None | ||||||||
| SALFORD ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry (1842) Indexes | |||||||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||||||
| FS | 1842-1897 | 1842-1930 - part. | None | ||||||||
| LOPC | 1842-1900 | 1846-1920 | None | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1842-1900 | 1846-1940 | None | ||||||||
| SALFORD ST CLEMENTS Chapelry (1881) Indexes see Ordsall | |||||||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||||||
| FS | None | None | None | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1881 only | 1879-1940 | None | ||||||||
| SALFORD ST GEORGE CHARLESTOWN Chapelry (1854) Indexes | |||||||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||||||
| FS | None | None | None | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1854-1900 | 1860-1940 | None | ||||||||
| SALFORD ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST Chapelry (1838) Indexes | |||||||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||||||
| FS | None | None | None | ||||||||
| LOPC | None | 1845-1856 | None | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1838-1900 | 1838-1940 - part. | None | ||||||||
| SALFORD ST LUKE (WEASTE) Chapelry (1866) Indexes; see also Eccles Parish | |||||||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||||||
| FS | 1865-1936 - part. | 1866-1933 - part. | None extant til 1951 | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1866-1900 - part. | 1866-1940 | None | ||||||||
| LOPC | 1866-1900 | 1866-1913 | None | ||||||||
| SALFORD ST MATTHIAS Chapelry (1842) Indexes | |||||||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||||||
| FS | 1842-1846 | None | 1842-1846 | ||||||||
| LOPC | 1842-1846 | None | None | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1842-1900 | 1858-1940 | None | ||||||||
| SALFORD ST PHILIP Chapelry (1826) Indexes | |||||||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||||||
| FS | 1826-1914 | 1838-1935 - part. | 1833-1840 | ||||||||
| LOPC | 1826-1914 | 1838-1900 | 1834-1888 | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1837-1900 | 1838-1940 | None | ||||||||
| FREG | 1826-1864 - part. | 1865-1891 - part. | 1834-1888 | ||||||||
| SALFORD STOWELL MEMORIAL Chapelry (1869) Indexes | |||||||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||||||
| FS | 1869-1921 - part. | 1869-1940 - part. | 1949-1968 - part. | ||||||||
| LOPC | 1869-1921 | 1871-1914 | 1949-1968 | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1869-1900 | 1871-1940 | None | ||||||||
| SALFORD ST SIMON Chapelry (1846) Indexes | |||||||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||||||
| FS | None | None | None | ||||||||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1846-1900 | 1849-1940 | None | ||||||||
| SALFORD ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1794) Indexes | |||||||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||||||
| FS | 1794-1931 - part. | 1838-1957 - part. | 1805-1865 (part.) | ||||||||
| LOPC | 1794-1875 | 1838-1921 | 1794-1843 | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1837-1900 | 1838-1940 | None | ||||||||
| FREG | None | 1838-1886 | None | ||||||||
|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes | |||||||||||
|
|
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||||||||
| FS | 1573-1872 | 1573-1889 | None | ||||||||
| LOPC | 1573-1616;1777-1837 | 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs | 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1837-1881 | 1837-1946 | 1837-1881 | ||||||||
| AC | 1573-1616 | 1573-1616 | 1573-1616 | ||||||||
To view a full list of all Manchester ancient parish's (150-plus) chapelries, ecclesiastical parishes and district chapels, and their links to online data for their baptism, marriage and burial registers, visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL), OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.
Original Records
Original parish and chapel registers are held at the Manchester Record Office, William Brown Street, Manchester L3 8EW, United Kingdom.
The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk
The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)
FamilySearch has microfilmed these original parish (chapelry) registers and they are available for viewing
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438737. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
References
- ↑ John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 31 December 2012, at 01:06.
- This page has been accessed 438 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More