Rock County, WisconsinEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Wisconsin
Rock County
Guide to Rock County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
County Courthouse
Rock County Courthouse
51 S Main Street
Janesville, WI 53545-3978
Phone: 608.757.5660
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and death records from 1849
and land records from 1839; Registrar in Probate has probate records [1]
County Offices
- Rock County government website
- Rock County Circuit Court website
- Rock County Register of Deeds website
History
Parent County
1836--Rock County was created 7 December 1836 from Milwaukee County. County seat: Janesville [1]
Boundary Changes
There have been no boundary changes in Rock County since its inception.
Places / Localities
Populated Places
See Wikipedia entry
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Cemeteries
Census
1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free images can be viewed at the FamilySearch website. This census includes name of head of household, number of individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane, and foreign born.
Wisconsin State Census— Free indexed images can be viewed on the FamilySearch website. This census includes name of head of household, number of individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, and insane.
1885 Wisconsin State Census— Free indexed images can be viewed on the FamilySearch website. This census includes name of head of household, number of individuals in the household by sex and race, number of individuals from each country of origin.
1895 Wisconsin State Census— Free indexed images can be viewed on the FamilySearch website. This census includes name of head of household, number of individuals in the household by sex and race, number of individuals from each country of origin.
1905 Rock County, Wisconsin State Census— Free indexed images can be viewed on the FamilySearch website. This census includes name of each member of the household, sex, race, age, marital status, country of birth, country of parents' birth, occupation, and home ownership.
Church History and Records
Court Records
Crime and Criminals
Directories
City and county directories from 1858 to 1931 can be found at the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections.
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
- Rock County Townships (sic) Guides - resources in each civil town, published by the Rock County Genealogical Society
- Local History Database - index to obituaries, newspaper articles, and photos, maintained by the Hedberg Public Library, Janesville
History
- Janesville's Past - digitized books, documents, and photos can be found in this collection, part of the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections. *The History of Rock County, Wisconsin, 1879. Digitized volume at the Wisconsin Historical Society website
- Portrait and Biographical Album of Rock County, Wisconsin, 1889. Digitized volume at the Wisconsin Historical Society website
Land and Property
Maps
- Family Maps of Rock County, Wisconsin (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- 1858 Plat Map of Rock County at the Rock County Genealogical Society website
- 1873 Plat Map of Rock County at WIGenWeb Rock County
- 1922 Plat map of Rock County at the Rock County Genealogical Society website
- Official Wisconsin DOT Map of Rock County, showing cities, highways, town boundaries, and survey township numbers
Migration
Military History and Records
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Newspaperarchive.com ($) has digitized historical newspapers from Janesville from the late 1800s and early 1900s that covered local news on residents from Rock County.
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate Records
Vital Records
The Wisconsin Genealogy Index at the Wisconsin Historical Society contains an index of pre-1907 Wisconsin vital records.
Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death
Taxation
Voting Registers
Repositories
Rock County Historical Society
426 North Jackson Street
Janesville, WI 53548
(608) 756-4509
http://www.rchs.us/
Archives, Libraries and Museums
- Beloit Public Library
- Clinton Public Library
- Edgerton Public Library
- Eager Free Public Library, Evansville
- Hedberg Public Library, Janesville
- Milton Public Library
- Orfordville Public Library
County Court House
Family History Centers
Societies
Web Sites
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 759 Rock County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
| This Wisconsin-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 05:07.
- This page has been accessed 3,612 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
