Prowers County, ColoradoEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Colorado
Prowers County
Guide to Prowers County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Prowers County, Colorado | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Colorado | |
![]() Location of Colorado in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | April 11, 1889 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Lamar |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Prowers County Courthouse 300 S Main Street Lamar, CO 81052-2857 Phone: 719.336.4337 Prowers County Website |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has marriage, land and some death records 1889;
District Court has divoce and court recors. County Court has probate records.[1]
Quick Facts
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| *For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
County Seat
Lamar [2]
Parent County
11 April 1889: Prowers County was created from Bent County.
Neighboring Counties
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
- Compilation of cemetery records including index from four cemeteries near Lamar, Prowers, Colorado FHL Collection
Census
For tips on accessing Prowers County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.
Church Records
Court Records
Directories
- Bent and Prowers Counties (Colorado) directories FHL Collection
- Polk's Lamar (Prowers County, Colorado) city directory: including Prowers County residents and ranchers FHL Collection
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Local History
Local histories are available for Prowers County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.
- Prowers County history FHL Collection
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.
- The homestead years: Prowers County, Colorado FHL Collection
Maps
- Prowers County, Colorado land ownership map, 1889 FHL Collection
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Prowers County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Prowers County, Colorado Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate
Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.
You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.
Public Records
School Records
Colorado State Archives Index to the Prowers County Amache School Teachers and Personnel for the period 1942-1945. This is an Index to the records of the teachers who were approved and hired at the Center.
Repositories
Archives
- Inventory of the county archives of Colorado, no. 50, Prowers County (Lamar) FHL Collection
Courthouse
Family History Centers
Libraries
- Holly Public Library
302 South Main Street
Holly, CO 81047
Telehone 719-537-6520
- Lamar Public Library
102 East Parmenter St
Lamar, CO 81052
Telephone 719-336-4632
Museums
- Big Timbers Museum
Prowers County Historical Society
7515 U.S. Hwy 50
P. O. Box 929
Lamar, CO 81052
Telephone 719-336-2472
Societies
Taxation
Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the Family History Library Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.
Birth
Marriage
Death
Divorce
Places
Web Sites
- Prowers County CO Trails to the Past
- Linkpendium
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives (backup site)
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Prowers County, Colorado. Page 100 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ WorldCat 50140092 ▲ FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
| This Colorado-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 June 2013, at 23:08.
- This page has been accessed 1,803 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

