Prestwich St Mary, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
See a "Comprehensive List of Parish and Chapelries of Prestwich Parish"
Contents |
Parish History
"PRESTWICH St Mary, a parish, in the hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire; comprising the parochial chapelry of Oldham (in which are the townships of Oldham, Chadderton, Crompton, and Royton), and the townships of Alkrington, Great and Little Heaton, Pilkington, and Tonge, 4 miles northwest by west of Manchester."
There were churches built in the ecclesiastical districts of Ringley, Stand, and Unsworth, all in Pilkington township; a church at Tonge, and numerous chapelries as well in the parochial chapelry of Oldham. In Prestwich parish are also numerous places of worship for dissenters; in Prestwich township is one for Wesleyan Methodists.[1]
Prestwich St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the county of Lancashire.
Other places in the parish include: Outwood, Pilkington, Prestolee, Little Heaton, Rigley, Great Heaton, and Rayton.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
- Manchester 1837-1874
- Prestwich 1874-1925
- Mancester North 1925-1934
- Heywood 1934-1974
- Greater Manchester post 1974
Church records
Online Records
Prestwich St. Mary parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk |
| PRESTWICH ST MARY PARISH (1600) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1603-1910 | 1600-1935 | 1712-1921 | ||
| LOPC | 1603-1936 | 1603-1895 | 1603-1921 | ||
| LBMD | 1837-1902 | 1837-1925 | 1837-1877 | ||
| FMP | None | 1603-1712 | None | ||
| AC | 1603-1711 | 1603-1711 | 1603-1711 | ||
| PRESTWICH ST MARGARET Chapelry (1875) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | |||||
| LOPC | |||||
| LBMD | 1875-1902 - part. | 1875-1900 | 1875-1885 - part. | ||
| OLDHAM ST ANDREW Chapelry (1874) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | |||||
| LBMD | 1874-1902 | 1874-1974 | 1874-1877 - part. | ||
| OLDHAM ST JAMES GREENACRES MOOR Chapelry (1829) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1830-1848 - part. | 1836-1848 - part. | 1830-1848 - part. | ||
| LOPC | |||||
| LBMD | 1837-1905 | 1837-1974 - part | |||
| FMP | 1837-1905 | 1837-1974 | |||
| OLDHAM ST MARY Chapelry (1558) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1558-1896 | 1558-1816 | 1779-1798 | ||
| LOPC | 1766-1850, 1866-1872 | 1744-1843 | 1726-1748 | ||
| LBMD | 1961-1974 | 1837-1974 | |||
| FMP | 1598-1818 | 1558-1932 | |||
| OLDHAM ST PETER Chapelry (1768) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1768-1880 - part. | 1836-1839, 1868-1898 | 1768-1876 | ||
| LOPC | 1768-1837 | ||||
| LBMD | 1837-1905 | 1837-1974 | 1837-1885 | ||
| FMP | 1768-1876 | ||||
| OLDHAM ST STEPHEN & ALL MARTYRS Chapelry (1876) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | |||||
| LBMD | 1876-1905 | 1875-1974 | 1875-1885- part. | ||
| OLDHAM ST THOMAS Chapelry (1860) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Buials | |||
| FS | |||||
| LBMD | 1860-1905 | 1872-1974 | |||
| CHADDERTON ST MATTHEW Chapelry (1837) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1846-1875, 1892-1910 | 1857-1935 | 1857-1947 | ||
| LOPC | 1848-1854, 1873-1875 | None | 1873-1875 | ||
| LBMD | 1837-1933 | 1856-1974 | 1837-1871 | ||
| FMP | None | None | 1857-1890 | ||
| CHADDERTON ST JOHN Chapelry (1846) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1846-1910 | 1846-1935 | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | 1846-1933 | 1846-1974 | 1846-1871 - part. | ||
| CHADDERTON CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1872) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1870-1894 | ||||
| LBMD | 1872-1933 - part. | 1844-1974 | None | ||
| COLDHURST HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1848) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1848-1875 | 1871-1920 | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1849-1974 | None | ||
| EAST CROMPTON ST JAMES Chapelry (1845) Indexes - see also SHAW | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1845-1910 | 1845-1938 | 1847-1928 | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | 1847-1974 | ||||
| GLODWICK CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1844) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1844-1910 | 1845-1902 | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1845-1974 | None | ||
| GLODWICK ST MARK Chapelry (1876) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1876-1910 | 1876-1902 | None | ||
| LBMD | None | None | None | ||
| HOLLINWOOD ST MARGARET Chapelry (1769) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1769-1892 | 1836-1843 | 1793-1856 | ||
| LOPC | None | 1902-1912 | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1837-1974 | None | ||
| FMP | None | None | 1769-1901 | ||
| LEESFIELD ST THOMAS Chapelry (1846) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1846-1909 | 1848-1915 | 1848-1905 | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1848-1974 | None | ||
| RINGLEY ST SAVIOUR Chapelry (1712) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1712-1912 | 1838-1935 | 1770-1914 | ||
| LOPC | 1719-1847 | 1719-1753. 1838-1947 | 1719-1847, 1914-1960 | ||
| LBMD | None | 1838-1992 | None | ||
| FMP | None | 1719-1809 | None | ||
| ROYTON ST PAUL Chapelry (1755) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1755-1910 | None | 1758-1868 | ||
| LOPC | 1755-1797, 1806-1919 | 1839-1909 | 1757-1785, 1806-1938 | ||
| LBMD | 1837-1928 | 1839-1974 | 1838-1872 | ||
| FMP | None | None | 1757-1938 | ||
| SHAW HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1704) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1704-1854 | 1705-1837 | 1728-1854 | ||
| LOPC | 1752-1799, 1813-1837, 1848-1854 | 1752-1753 | 1752-1799, 1813-1837, 1848-1854 | ||
| LBMD | None | 1837-1974 | None | ||
| FMP | None | None | 1704-1888 | ||
| STAND (WHITEFIELD) ALL SAINTS Chapelry (1827) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1827-1920 | 1837-1923 | 1851-1920 | ||
| LOPC | None | 1836-1880 | 1827-1846 | ||
| LBMD | 1896-1898 | 1837-1900 | None | ||
| TONGE-CUM-ALKRINGTON ST MICHAEL Chapelry (1840) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1853-1893 | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1840-1925 | None | ||
| UNSWORTH ST GEORGE Chapelry (1730) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1730-1910 | None | None | ||
| LOPC | 1841-1891 | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1844-1900 | None | ||
| WATERHEAD HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1843) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1847-1861 | None | 1847-1850 | ||
| LOPC | None | None | |||
| LBMD | None | 1847-1974 | None | ||
| FMP | None | 1847-1928 | 1847-1928 | ||
| WERNETH ST THOMAS Chapelry (1845) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1845-1910 | 1856-1935 | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1856-1974 | None | ||
| FREG | 1845-1910 | 1856-1890 | None | ||
| WERNETH ST JOHN Chapelry (1892) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | 1892-1908 | None | ||
| LBMD | None | None | None | ||
Parish registers for St. Mary's Church, Prestwich, 1450-1950 Microfilm copy of originals formerly held at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England.
The parish church is known as St. Mary's.
Manchester Central Library call nos.: L160/1/8/1-7; L160/1/1/1-6; L160/1/2/1-2; L160/1/3/1-7; L160/1/4/1-50; L160/1/1/1-8; L160/1/9/1-2, 4, 6-11.
| Content |
Film |
| List of records, ca. 1450-1950. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1603-1746. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356156 Items 3 - 8 |
| Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1752-1768 (marriages to 1754). Baptisms and burials, 1769-1812. Baptisms, 1813-Mar. 1834. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356182 |
| Baptisms, Mar. 1834-1936. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356183 |
| Marriages, 1754-Nov. 1799. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356184 |
| Marriages, Nov. 1799-May 1826. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356185 |
| Marriages, May 1826-July 1838. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356186 |
| Marriages, July 1838-Jan. 1843. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356187 |
| Marriages, Jan. 1843-June 1851. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356188 |
| Marriages, June-August 1851, April 1846-May 1850. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356189 |
| Marriages, August 1851-July 1857. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356227 |
| Marriages, July 1857-September 1864. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356228 |
| Marriages, September 1864-October 1876. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356229 |
| Marriages, October 1876-November 1895. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356230 |
| Marriages, November 1895-September 1946. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356232 |
| Marriages, September 1946-1950. Burials, 1813-November 1865. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356233 |
| Baptisms, 1712-1843 (another filming). |
FHL BRITISH Film 2113204 |
| Marriages, 1713-1813 (another filming). |
FHL BRITISH Film 2113205 |
| Marriages, Dec. 1813-June 1837 (another filming). |
FHL BRITISH Film 2113206 |
| Burials, 1712-Mar. 1843 (another filming). |
FHL BRITISH Film 2113207 |
| Index of baptisms, 1695-1813; index of marriages, 1695-1713; index of burials, 1695-1821. Indexes to baptisms, 1813-1850; burials, 1821-1868. Index to baptisms, 1851-1940; index to burials, 1869-1918. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2113208 |
| Marriage indexes, 1713-1934. Burial index, 1918-1939. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2113209 |
| Content |
Film |
| Burials, November 1865-1921. Banns of marriages, 1809-1821, 1851-August 1852. |
VAULT BRITISH Film 2356234 |
| Banns of marriages, July 1852-1856, 1874-1948. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356235 |
The following on-line indexes exist for this church:
- Baptisms and Marriages 1603-1712 are indexed on the International Genealogical Index.
- Marriages 1837-1900 are indexed on Lancashire BMD.
- Baptisms 1603-1854; Marriages 1603-1838 (some gaps); and Burials 1603-1850 (some gaps) are indexed and transcribed on the Lancashire Online Parish Clerks website.
Banns-1809-1821- MFPR 2038
Banns-1851-1852- MFPR 2038
Banns-1852-1856- MFPR 2039
Banns-1874-1947- MFPR 2039
Baptism Index-1695-1940- MFPR 1084
Baptisms-1603-1712- MFPR 2037
Baptisms-1712-1752- MFPR 108 or MFPR 2037
Baptisms-1752-1843- MFPR 108 or MFPR 2253-2254
Baptisms-1843-1891- MFPR 1561 or MFPR 2254
Baptisms-1891-1936- MFPR 1562 or MFPR 2254
Baptisms Transcript-1599-1600- 929.3272 P13
Baptisms Transcript-1603-1688- 929.3272 P13
Baptisms Transcript-1689-1711- 929.3272 M1
Burial Index-1695-1918- MFPR 1084
Burial Index-1918-1939- MFPR 1085
Burials-1603-1678- MFPR 2037
Burials-1678-1681- MFPR 2037 or MFPR 2040
Burials-1681-1712- MFPR 2037
Burials-1712-1752- MFPR 111 or MFPR 2037
Burials-1752-1812- MFPR 111 or MFPR 2253
Burials-1813-1843- MFPR 111 or MFPR 2258
Burials-1843-1865- MFPR 1576 or MFPR 2258
Burials-1865-1885- MFPR 1576 or MFPR 2038
Burials-1885-1921- MFPR 1577 or MFPR 2038
Burials Transcript-1599-1600- 929.3272 P13
Burials Transcript-1603-1688- 929.3272 P13
Burials Transcript-1689-1711- 929.3272 M1
Marriage Index-1713-1939- MFPR 1085
Marriage Index-1695-1713- MFPR 1084
Marriages-1603-1713- MFPR 2037
Marriages-1713-1752- MFPR 109 or MFPR 2037
Marriages-1752-1813- MFPR 109 or MFPR 2253-2255
Marriages-1813-1837- MFPR 110 or MFPR 2256-2257
Marriages-1837-1840- MFPR 1563
Marriages-1840-1843- MFPR 1564
Marriages-1843-1846- MFPR 1565
Marriages-1846-1849- MFPR 1566
Marriages-1849-1852- MFPR 1567
Marriages-1852-1856- MFPR 1568
Marriages-1856-1860- MFPR 1569
Marriages-1860-1867- MFPR 1570
Marriages-1867-1875- MFPR 1571
Marriages-1875-1882- MFPR 1572
Marriages-1882-1908- MFPR 1573
Marriages-1908-1942- MFPR 1574
Marriages-1942-1972- MFPR 1575
Marriages Transcript-1599-1600- 929.3272 P13
Marriages Transcript-1603-1688- 929.3272 P13
Marriages Transcript-1689-1712- 929.3272 M1
The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk
The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)
Bishop's transcripts for Prestwich, 1599-1883 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/259-264
| Content |
Film |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1599-1641; 1670- 1696; 1707-1769 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545722 Items 2-4 |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1770-1835 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545723 |
| Baptisms and burials, 1835-1854; 1865-1874; marriages to 1837 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545724 |
| Baptisms and burials, 1874-1883 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545743 Item 1 |
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306932. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53001 British History Online
http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53002
http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53006 Pilkington
References
- ↑ A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 616-618. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51224 Adapted. Date accessed: 20 July 2010.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 February 2013, at 05:36.
- This page has been accessed 1,006 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More