Plemstall, CheshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Cheshire
Cheshire Parishes
Plemstall
Contents |
Parish History
PLEMONSTALL, or Plemstall,is a parish in Great Boughton district, Cheshire; on the river Gowy, adjacent to the Cheshire and Manchester railway,it is 4 miles N E of Chester. It comprises the townships of Hoole, Mickle-Trafford, Bridge-Trafford, and Pickton; and its post town is Chester. The church stands in Mickle-Trafford; and is of the 14th century, with a tower of 1826. A section of Plemstall, is included in the chapelry of Christchurch, Chester.[1]
Plemstall, St. Peter is an Ancient parish which includes: Pickton, Mickle Trafford, Hoole, Bridge Trafford, and Picton.
Mickle Trafford was a township in the parish of Plemstall.
The original church was built in the 12th century but the present building dates mostly from the 15th century. Inscriptions in the church show that there were restorations in 1684, 1711, 1802–03 and 1819.
St Peter's Church, Plemstall stands in an isolated position at the end of a country lane near the village of Mickle Trafford, Cheshire, England. Its benefice is combined with that of St John the Baptist's Church, Guilden Sutton.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Registration Districts
- Great Boughton (1837–69)
- Chester (1870–1937)
- West Cheshire (1937–74)
- Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
- Cheshire West (post 1998)
Registration events can be searched online at Cheshire BMD
Church records
Plemstall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
| FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers | |||||
| FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts |
| Plemstall Parish Online Records | ||||||
| |
|
|
| |||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images |
| FS PR's | 1557-1909 |
NONE |
1558-1934 |
NONE |
1558-1917 |
NONE |
| FS BT'S | 1702-1879 |
NONE |
1702-1879 |
NONE |
1702-1879 |
NONE |
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Registers of Baptisms 1558–1909, Marriages 1558–1949 and Burials 1558–1917 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office DocumentReference P 97 Registers: Christenings 1558-1909, Marriages 1558-1949, Burials 1558-1917. Records other than registers 1683-1956
Their website is here.
Non-Conformist Churches
Mickle Trafford, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1885.
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241232. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions
- Great Boughton (1837–71)
- Tarvin (previously Great Boughton) Poor Law Union, Cheshire
- Chester Poor Law Union (1871–1930)
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
References
- ↑ Wilson, John Marius, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted 5 April 2013
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
Bibliography
- Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, pp. 62–63, ISBN 1871731232
- Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 273–278
- Latham, Frank A. (ed.) (2005), Mickle Trafford, The Local History Group, p. 48–57, ISBN 0 9551470 1 8
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 10 May 2013, at 18:49.
- This page has been accessed 560 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
