Perry County, OhioEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Perry County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Perry County, Ohio | |
| Map | |
| |
![]() Location of Ohio in the U.S. | |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Perry County Courthouse 105 North Main Street New Lexington, Ohio 43764 Perry County Website |
|---|---|
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| *For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent Counties: Formed from Fairfield, Muskingum, and Washington Counties 26 December 1817.[1]
- County Seat: New Lexington
- Neighboring Counties: Perry County, Ohioresidents may also have records in [2]Licking (north) · Athens (south) · Fairfield (west) · Hocking (southwest) · Muskingum (northwest) · Morgan (east)
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Perry County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
- Adcock/Cochran/Mt. Hope Cemetery, Jackson Township, Inscriptions. Compiled in 1982 by Timothy E. Fisher from graves still intact.
- First Methodist Church, New Lexington, Perry County, Ohio Inscriptions. Compiled in the fall of 1957 by Harry O. Wright from graves then still intact. Published in "The Methodist Megaphone".
- St. Paul's Church Cemetery, Glenford, Perry County, Ohio Inscriptions. Compiled in February 1979 by Dorothy Smith and Caral & Stephen (Melchling) Bennett.
- Perry County, Ohio Cemeteries. A listing of all of the cemeteries in Perry County, Ohio with maps, driving directions and a local area search function.
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.
Census
- United States Census Mortality Schedules, 1850 (FamilySearch Historical Records).
- United States Census Slave Schedule, 1850 (FamilySearch Historical Records).
- United States Census 1850.
- United States Census 1860.
- United States Census 1870.
- United States Census 1880.
- United States Census 1900.
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.
Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Perry County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Court Records
1818-1868 Perry County, Ohio Bond Book.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Local histories are available for Perry County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.
Local Histories
History of Fairfield and Perry Counties, Ohio ... Chicago:W.H. Beers & Co., 1883.
History of Perry County by Clement L. Martzolff.....Published by Ward & Weiland New Lexington, Ohio..Columbus, Ohio Press of Fred J. Heer 1902.
The Book of Perry County, An Historic Industrial Portfolio, published 1909.
Howe's Historical Collections of Ohio, The Ohio Centennial Edition, Copyright 1888.
Ohio Township Resource Book... Section 1: Township Level Population Characteristics and Trends 1960-2000.
Thornville's First 150 Years 1811-1961, The Sequicentennial Program, 16 pages.
The History of Thornville, Thornport and Area, Ohio Published in 1977 by "The Thornville History Committee" 72 pages.
Shawnee Souvenir Album 1953, Ohio Sesqucentennial 1853-1953, 32 pages.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Many Land records for Perry County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of thier holdings, see the topic details from their catalog. Finding Land Records at Other Repositories
Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Perry County, Ohio Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog(For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Maps
- 1846 Plat Maps for Jackson and Reading Townships, and for the Towns of Crossenville, New Reading, and Somerset.
- 1859 Plat Maps.
- 1875 Plat Maps of Thorn, Hopewell, Madion Township.
- 1935 Plat Maps.
- 1974 Perry County, Ohio Plat Maps.
- Map of Ohio highlighting Perry County.
Military
- Civil War
Civil War service men from Lucas County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lucas County.
- - 114th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies F, G, and I
Roster of Ohio Soldiers 1861-1866. War of the Rebellion Volume III, 21st-36th Reg'ts. Infantry.
Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Perry County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.
For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers. Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate
Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Perry County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Perry County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:
- Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (1981). [3] FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).
- 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
- 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
Many Probate records for Perry County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of thier holdings, see the topic detailsfrom their catalog. Finding Probate Records at Other Repositories
Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Perry County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Perry County Courthouse
105 North Main Street
New Lexington, OH 43764-1241
Phone: 740.342.1022
Probate Court has birth and death records from 1867, marriage records from 1818
and probate records; County Recorder has land records[1]
The County was named for Commodore Oliver Hazard Perry, hero of the War of 1812. Perry County is one of the 88 counties in Ohio.
Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Perry County Chapter, Ohio Genealogical Society.
Perry County, Ohio Historical Society.
Taxation
Perry County, Ohio 1819 Tax Record.
1828 Perry County, Ohio Tax Duplicate.
[https://www.familysearch.org/search/collection/show#uri=http://www.familysearch.org/searchapi/search/collection/1473259 Ohio Tax Records 1800-1850. Finding Tax Records at Other Repositories
Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Perry County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Vital Records
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Perry County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.
Original marriage records are held at the office of the Perry County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Perry County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.
Birth
Perry County, Ohio Birth Index 1; 1867-1908.
Perry County, Ohio Birth Index 2; 1908-1950.
Marriage
Perry County, Ohio Marriage Index 1; 1818-1868.
Perry County, Ohio Marriage Index 2; 1915-1986.
Death
Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 Free name indexes and images at Ohio Deaths; index, 1908-1911]. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.
Ohio Vital Record Batch Numbers by County.
Many vital records for Perry County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of thier holdings, see the topic details from their catalog. Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories
Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Perry County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county. USGenWeb for Perry County.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Genealogy and Historical Information for Perry County, Ohio.
Places
Populated Places
- Perry County, Ohio. Geography, villages, townships, other communities, ghost towns.
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Perry County, Ohio" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Perry_County,_Ohio (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 13 June 2013, at 20:01.
- This page has been accessed 3,712 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


