Palo Pinto County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties P
Palo Pinto County
Guide to Palo Pinto County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Adopt-a-wiki page | |
| |
This page adopted by: TXGenWeb Project who welcome you to contribute. |
|---|---|
| Adopt a page today | |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Palo Pinto County Courthouse
PO Box 219
Palo Pinto, TX 76484
Phone: 940.659.1277
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage and land records from 1857, probate records
from 1860; District Clerk has divorce records from 1900[1]
History
The first settlement was in 1854.
Parent County
1856--Palo Pinto County was created 27 August 1856 from Navarro and Bosque Counties. County seat: Palo Pinto [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Cities and towns : Brazos | Gordon | Graford | Mineral Wells | Mingus | Oran | Palo Pinto | Santo | Strawn
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Archives
Family History Library CATALOG
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| |
||
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Sources
Family History Library CATALOG
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
City Directories
R.L. Polk & Co.'s Mineral Wells City Directories -- online: 1909 1920 from the Portal to Texas History
Court
Family History Library CATALOG
History
Family History Library CATALOG
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Family History Library CATALOG - Land and Property - Maps
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Palo Pinto County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- The Palo Pinto Story, 1956, by Mary Whatley Clarke.
- History of Palo Pinto County, 1978, by the Palo Pinto Historical Association.
- Palo Pinto County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
Maps
Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
Family History Library CATALOG - Land and Property - Maps
Military
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Palo Pinto County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Pinto+county+Texas+Newspapers&qt=results_page WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Palo Pinto County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Family History Library CATALOG
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Family History Library CATALOG
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
- Family History Library Catalog for Palo Pinto County, Texas
- Palo Pinto County TXGenWeb site
- Linkpedium Palo Pinto County Genealogy and Family History
- Kindred Trails Texas Genealogy; many counties done, but Palo Pinto County not yet
- Palo Pinto County TXGenWeb Archives Sources Project
- CensusFinder for Palo Pinto County, Texas
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Palo Pinto County, Texas. Page 671 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
| This Texas-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 1 May 2013, at 02:14.
- This page has been accessed 1,945 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More