Nye County, NevadaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Nevada
Nye County
Guide to Nye County Nevada genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Nye County, Nevada | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Nevada in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 16, 1864 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Tonopah |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | 101 Radar Rd PO Box 1031 Tonopah, NV 89049-1031 Phone: 775.482.8127 Nye County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 16 February 1864 from Esmeralda
- County seat: Tonopah [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Churchill | Clark | Esmeralda | Eureka | Inyo County, California | Lander | Lincoln | Mineral | White Pine
Historical Timeline
- Up until 1821 - New Spain controlled land that later would become Arizona and Nevada. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
- From 1821 until 1846 - Mexico had jurisdiction over the land that later would become Arizona and Nevada. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City.
- From 1846 to 1863 - New Mexico Territory included land that later would become Arizona and southern Nevada.
- In 1852 - New Mexico Territory set up counties that stretched east and west from the Texas border to the California border, including land that became Arizona and southern Nevada. Present-day Nye County, Nevada was once part of Taos, and Rio Arriba counties of New Mexico.[2] [3] There is a small chance that a few records from 1846 to 1963 may have been sent to courthouses in their respective New Mexico counties.
- 29 December 1863 – Arizona's three judicial districts were established by the Arizona Territory Organic Act from the western half of New Mexico Territory.[4] All previous counties were dissolved, and eventually four new counties were created in the new Arizona Territory.
- By November 1864 – Mohave County was created by the Arizona legislature as an original county from parts of the 2nd and 3rd Judicial Districts. A part of the 3rd Judicial District Arizona eventually became part of Nye_County,_Nevada.[4] Some records from 1863 to 1871 may have been sent to the Mohave County, Arizona offices.
- 22 December 1865 – Pah-Ute County was created by Arizona from part of Mohave County.[5] Some records from 1865 to 1871 may have been sent to the Pah-Ute County offices. When part of Pah-Ute County was given to Nevada those records were probably transferred to either Mohave County, Arizona, or to Lincoln or Nye counties in Nevada.
- 18 January 1867 – Pah-Ute County, and Mohave County, Arizona Territory west of the Colorado River and west of 114° west longitude were given to Nevada by the U.S. Congress. This area became the southern part of Lincoln, and Nye counties, and eventually Clark County, in Nevada.[5] In 1871, after many petitions Arizona ceased to claim this land.
- Up until 1821 - New Spain controlled land that later would become Arizona and Nevada. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
Church Records
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.
Court Records
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Local histories are available for Nye County, Nevada. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nevada Local Histories.
Land and Property
The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
In the Family History Library Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Nye – LAND AND PROPERTY
Maps
Migration
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Nye County, Nevada newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat
- FamilySearch. Do a Nye County, Nevada Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see, FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Obituaries
Probate
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Nye County Courthouse
101 Radar Rd; PO Box 1031;
Tonopah, NV 89049-1031
775–482–8127
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1860. County Recorder has land records[1]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
- Gabbs Community Library
602 Third St
Gabbs, NV 89409
775-285-2686
- Gabbs Community Library
Museums
Societies
- Central Nevada Historical Society,
1900 Logan Field Road
P. O. Box 326
Tonopah, NV 89049
- Central Nevada Historical Society,
Taxation
Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.
A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada State Health Division or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.
Birth
Marriage
Over 199 marriages from 2 Oct 1864 to 9 Apr 1903 are listed in the Western States Marriage Index.
Death
Records of deaths and burials in Nye, Esmeralda and Mineral Counties with index. Sources include newspapers and funeral homes.
Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
Places
| Adaven | Brucite | Duckwater | Hot Creek | Manhattan | Pioneer | Springdale |
| Amargosa Valley | Bull Fork | Farmer Station | Hot Springs | Manse | Pritchards Station | Steigmeyer |
| Ashton | Bull Frog | Flowers Camp | Ione | Mellan | Ralston | Sugar Bunk |
| Barcelona Summit | Camp Desert Rock | Gabbs | Jefferson | Mercury | Reese River | Sunnyside |
| Basic | Carvers | Gold Center | Johnnie | Millett | Rhyolite | Tonopah |
| Beatty | Crows Nest | Golden Arrow | Labbe Camp | Morey | Round Mountain | Tybo |
| Belmont | Crystal | Goldyke | Lockes | Nyala | San Pedros | Valley View |
| Berlin | Currant | Grantsville | Lodi | Pactolus | Scottys Junction | Warm Spring |
| Bonnie Claire | Darroughs Hot Springs | Hadley | Lodi Tanks | Pahrump | Silverbow | Washington |
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nye County, Nevada page 443. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
- ↑ Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 Wikipedia contributors, "1st Arizona Territorial Legislature" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1st_Arizona_Territorial_Legislature (accessed 8 August 2011).
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 Wikipedia contriutors, "Pah-Ute County, Arizona" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pah-Ute_County,_Arizona (accessed 8 August 2011).
| ||||||||||||
</noinclude>
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 14 June 2013, at 02:15.
- This page has been accessed 1,608 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
