Norton Folgate, MiddlesexEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
"NORTON-FOLGATE, an extra-parochial liberty in Whitechapel district, Middlesex: within the metropolis, in the line of Ermine-street, at the end of Bishopsgate-street, 1¼ mile N E of St. Pauls. It took the former part of its name from its situation N of Bishopsgate, and the latter part from the Saxon Foldweg, signifying a "highway, " in allusion to Ermine-street; and the name was formerly written Northern-Foldgate. Acres, 9. Real property, £23, 617. Pop. in 1851, 1, 771; in 1861, 1, 873. Houses, 227. The manor belongs to the Dean and Chapter of St. Pauls. An Augustinian priory was founded here, in 1197, by William Brune; and had an income at the dissolution valued at £558. A theatre here was burned in 1839".¹
"Norton Folgate, the street so-called is the north continuation of Bishopsgate Street Without, and extends to Shoreditch. It is also the name of a Liberty or manor, which belonged to the cathedral of St paul as early as the Conquest. This district being extra-parochial, the inhaibtants support their own poor, and ury and marry where they please, but they mostly use a chapel, built be Sir George Wheeler, a Prebendary of Durham, for his tenants in Spitalfields. I this liberty there are also a small workhouse, a girl's school, and a free school for boys".²
1. John Marius Wilson, “Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales,” (Edinburgh: A, Fullerton & Co., 1870). Online here.
2. James Elmes, M.R. I. A., Architect. In “A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Envirions,” (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831).
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438814. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 12 November 2012, at 21:17.
- This page has been accessed 227 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More