North Carolina DirectoriesEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
U.S. Directories
North Carolina
Directories
| Adopt-a-wiki page | |
| |
This page adopted by: NCGenWeb Project who welcome you to contribute. |
|---|---|
| Adopt a page today | |
Contents |
City and county directories are similar to present-day telephone books and are useful for locating people. They were often published annually, listing heads of households, employed household members, and their occupations, and addresses. They can be used with census records or as substitutes for them.
City directories have been published for some cities in North Carolina. Many of these are located in local libraries in the state.
Directories Available Online
- Ancestry.com ($) has North Carolina city directories available online in its U.S. City Directories collection.
- Branson's Business Directories -- 1867/1868, 1869, 1872, 1890, 1896
- North Carolina Yearbook & Business Directory -1901 | 1902 | 1903 | 1904 | 1905 | 1906 | 1907 | 1908 | 1909 | 1910 | 1911 | 1912 | 1913 | 1914 | 1915 | 1916 | 1922 | 1923
- NC City Directories: Courtesy of the Digital NC Collection
- North Carolina Yearbooks: College,Univeristy and High School Yearbooks: 1890-present: Courtesy of DigitalNC Collection
Family History Library
The Family History Library has directories to some cities such as Charlotte, Greensboro, Raleigh, and Durham. Directories can be found in the Family History Library by using a Place-names Search for:
NORTH CAROLINA - DIRECTORIES
NORTH CAROLINA, [COUNTY] - DIRECTORIES
NORTH CAROLINA, [COUNTY], [TOWN]- DIRECTORIES
Web Sites
- US City Directories This web site identifies printed, microfilmed, and online directories and their repositories.
| ||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 2 January 2013, at 23:20.
- This page has been accessed 1,353 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More