Norfolk County, MassachusettsEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Massachusetts
Norfolk County
| |
| Norfolk County, Massachusetts | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Massachusetts | |
![]() Location of Massachusetts in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 26, 1793 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Dedham |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Norfolk County Courthouse 650 High Street Dedham, Ma 02026-1855 Phone: 781-461-6105 Norfolk County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Probate Judge has divorce and probate records;
Clerk Courts has court records from 1928; register
of deeds has land records.[2]
Towns Organized Before 1800
Bellingham 1719,
Braintree 1640,
Brookline 1705,
Canton 1797,
Cohasset 1770,
Dedham 1636,
Dover 1784,
Franklin 1778,
Medfield 1650,
Milton 1662,
Needham 1711,
Quincy 1792,
Randolph 1793,
Sharon 1765,
Walpole 1724,
Weymouth 1635,
Wrentham 1673
History
Parent County
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Cities: Braintree | Franklin | Quincy | Weymouth
Towns
Ceded Towns: Dorchester | Hyde Park | Roxbury | West Roxbury[4]
Neighboring Counties
Bristol | Middlesex | Suffolk | Plymouth | Worcester | Providence County, Rhode Island
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Norfolk County, Massachusetts census records online, see: Massachusetts Census.
State Census
1855 Massachusetts State Census—a free searchable index and images to the 1855 Massachusetts State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search. This index includes every name listed on the census and is linked to an image including information about each person’s residence and age in 1855, birthplace, occupation, other family members, and neighbors.
1865 Massachusetts State Census—a free searchable index and images to the 1865 Massachusetts State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This index includes every name listed on the census and is linked to an image including information about each person’s residence and age in 1865, birthplace, occupation, other family members, and neighbors.
Church Records
Court Records
Gazetteers
Land and Property
Local Histories
Maps
Military Records
Newspapers
Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Boston newspapers and The Lowell Sun (1878-1977) covering local news that included residents from Norfolk County communities.
Probate Records
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- The Norfolk County MA GenWeb Project, an member of The MAGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Norfolk County
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Norfolk County (backup site)
- Norfolk County Massachuesetts History & Genealogy Blog - by David Lambert
- FamilySearch.org Family History Library catalog for Norfolk County
References
- ↑ "Old Norfolk County Records," Essex Antiquarian 1, no. 2 (February 1897), 19-20. Part of NEHGS American Ancestors Search. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Film 599729 Item 2; Book 974.45 B2a.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 330. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists, 181.
- ↑ Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 225-26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
| This Massachusetts-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 22 March 2013, at 16:54.
- This page has been accessed 2,126 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


