User:Nolaneclark/sandbox/iredellEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
| Iredell County, North Carolina | |||
| Map | |||
![]() Location in the state of North Carolina | |||
![]() Location of North Carolina in the U.S. | |||
| Facts | |||
| Founded | November 3, 1788 | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Statesville | ||
| Courthouse | |||
| |||
United States
North Carolina
Iredell County
File:File:Iredell County Courthouse.jpg File:Iredell County Courthouse.jpgCounty Courthouse[[|]]
| | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
Iredell County Courthouse
21 East Water St
P O Box 904 Statesville, NC 28677
Phone: 704-872-7468
(Courthouse Burned in 1854)
Iredell County Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the State Archives in Raleigh.
Iredell County Clerk of Court holds probate records, court records and divorce records if they have not been transverred to the State Archives in Raleigh. Divorce records began in 1820; court records began in 1788[1]
A listing of the files in the North Carolina State Archives transferred from Iredell County is available at US USGenWeb: Archives.
[File:Iredell County Courthouse.jpg]
History
Parent County
1788--Iredell County was created 3 November 1788 from Rowan County.
County seat: Statesville [2]
Boundary Changes
Alexander County was created in 1847 from parts of Iredell, Caldwell and Wilkes counties.
Record Loss
1852, 1854--Courthouse fires destroyed many court records.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Cities and Towns
Mooresville | Statesville (county seat) | Troutman } Harmony | Love Valley | Davidson (pt.) | Stony Point (pt.)
Townships
Barringer, Bethany, Chambersburg, Coddle Creek, Concord, Cool Springs, Davidson, Eagle Mills, Fallstown, New Hope, Olin, Sharpesburg, Shiloh, Statesville, Union Grove, Turnersburg
Neighboring Counties
Iredell County, North Carolina is surrounded by nine counties, the largest number of any state in the United States; Alexander|Cabarrus|Catawba|Davie|Lincoln|Mecklenburg|Rowan|Wilkes|Yadkin
Resources
Bible Records
Lists of birth, marriage and date information are recorded in North Carolina Bibles. Some online Bible Records are available at North Carolina Family Records Online, a project of the State Library and State Archives of North Carolina
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, death, relationship, military, and religious information. The spouse and children who died young are frequently buried nearby.
More than tombstone inscriptions, cemetery records include sextons (caretakers) records and interment (burial) records, each with slightly different information. See North Carolina Cemeteries.
| | ||
| or Images |
Transcripts |
in the County |
|
FindAGrave | ||
| | ||
Census
For tips on accessing Nolaneclark/sandbox/iredell census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
Church Records
- WorldCat listings of Church records and registers North Carolina Iredell County
- Family History Library holdings regarding Iredell County church records
- Iredell County, NCGenWeb Archives -- Churches
Court
- Family History Library holdings regarding Iredell County court records
Directories
Genealogy
Collections
Genealogical information about some Irdell Couty families during the early party of the twentieth century is contained within the McCubbins Collection[[]].
Some biographies are collected at the NCGenWeb site.
Bibliography
- [Templeton] Templeton, Ronald H. "Possible North Carolina/South Carolina Templeton Relationships," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 35, No. 3 (Summer 2007):123-130. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 35 Presents discoveries of previously unknown kinships based on the Templeton DNA study.
Land
- Deeds are maintained by the County Register of Deeds. Online record searchs are available.
- Published abstracts and indexes of deeds can be located through World Cat.
- Some transcriptions of early deeds are available through Iredell County, NC GenWeb Archives.
- Review catalogholdings in Family History Library regarding land in Iredell County.
Libraries
The Main Library, 201 North Tradd Street, Statesville, NC 28677 has a Local History Room collection, which includes:
- Books - over 7,650 books and journals on Iredell and surrounding counties.
- Microfilm - over 3,000 reels of microfilm records on Irdell and surrounding counties.
- Family Name File - files on almost 1,700 families that lived in Iredell County.
- Local History Files - over 400 files on the history of Iredell County.
- Files on over 200 churches in Iredell County.
- The Homer Keever Collection.
Information is available online regarding Library Research Policy
Local Histories
- North Carolina History Project
- A History of Iredell County (carolana.com)
- Historical Address delivered by Rev. E. F. Rockell in Statesvilee on July 4, 1876
- WorldCat listings of Iredell County local histories
- Family History Library holdings regarding Iredell County local history
Maps
- Early Landowners of Iredell County (Very useful map prepared by Mildred Miller in 1988.)
- 1773 Map of Fourth Creek Congregation (One of Iredell County's most important historical documents; shows early settlers living in eleven mile radius near center of present city of Statesville.)
- GIS Maps and Websites (Interactive web pages - can be used to locate and visualize current property holding.)
- Iredell County Highway Map, 1938 (Can be used to compare historic map with current map or satellite image.)
- Irdell County maps posted by Iredell County NCGenWeb
Migration
- WorldCat listings regarding North Carolina internal migration
- Family History Library holdings regarding North Carolina internal migration
- Migration Trails
Military
- Military records at Iredell County Public Library
- Holdings of Family History Library regarding Iredell County military records
Civil War
- North Carolina - Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865 - search this index of service records from across the state - images included; via FamilySearch (free) (information about historical records)
- North Carolina - Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865 - search this index of service of service records from across the state - images included; via FamilySearch (free) (information about historical records)
- North Carolina - Applications for Confederate soldiers' and widows' pensions 1855-1933 (images from records in the State Archives; via FamilySearch) (information about historical records)
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- -4th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- -7th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- -11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
Newspapers
- Iredell County people in NC Newspapers - name listing of people from the county as located in misc. newspaper articles; time span varies. Articles indexed in the NC People in the Papers database.
- Iredell County newspapers - a listing of newspapers published in the county; libraries that hold them; via the Library of Congress. If you find a paper of interest on microfilm, you may be able to request it via Interlibrary Loan with your local public library.
- Statesville Record and Landmark - current newspaper of Statesville
- Mooresville Tribune - another current paper
Obituaries
Obituaries may mention birth, marriage, spouse, parents and living family members. See United States Obituaries for tips and insights regarding this record type.
Obituaries for residents may be found in:
- Newspapers of Iredell County, North Carolina
- Local funeral homes
- Iredell County Obituaries 1949-2006 from local newspapers, Iredell County Public Library
- LInk to online Iredell County, North Carolina obituaries (some $)
- Obituaries of neighboring counties:
Probate
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Nolaneclark/sandbox/iredell Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1790-1965 - Will Books 1 to 19 (1790-1965) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- 1735-1970
Taxation
- Review catalog holdings in Family History Library regarding Iredell County tax records, which include films of the earliest extant tax lists: 1800, 1815 and 1837.
- Published books regarding Iredell County tax lists can be found through WorldCat.
Vital Records
Births
- North Carolina - Birth Index, 1800-2000 (from records in the North Carolina Archives) - index only: via FamilySearch (free) (information about historical collection)
- North Carolina - Births and Christenings, 1866-1964 (from miscellaneous records across the state) - index only: via FamilySearch (free) (information about historical collection)
Marriages
- North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 - search this database of marriages from across the state - images included; via FamilySearch (free)
- North Carolina Marriages, 1759-1979 - search the data of marriages from across the state - index only: via FamilySearch (free)
- North Carolina Marriages to 1799, a database, available to members North Carolina Pioneers
Deaths
- North Carolina - Deaths, 1931-1994, (from records in the North Carolina Archives) - index only: via FamilySearch (free) (information about historical collection)
- North Carolina - Death and Burials, 1898-1994 (from miscellaneous records across the state) index only: via FamilySearch (free) (information about historical collection)
- North Carolina - Deaths, 1906-1930 (from records in the North Carolina Archives) - index and images: via FamilySearch (free) (information about historical collection)
- Iredell County Obituaries 1949-2006 from local newspapers, Iredell County Public Library
- Online search of Iredell County death certificates
- LInk to online Iredell County, North Carolina obituaries (some $)
- U.S. Social Security Death Index - index only; via FamilySearch (free)
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Lake Norman North Carolina Family History Center (Mooresville)
- Statesville North Carolina Family History Center
Genealogical Societies
Web Sites
- Iredell County, NCGenWeb - free genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iredell County, North Carolina. Page 510 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
| This North Carolina-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
- This page was last modified on 27 April 2013, at 22:21.
- This page has been accessed 583 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


