New York Census State CensusesEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Contents |
State Censuses
New York took some censuses in the years between the federal censuses. The dates are listed below. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.
Please refer to the counties for additional linked information. This list marks the availability of such censuses.
Albany - Clinton
|
Census Records done by the State of New York | ||||||||||
| COUNTY | 1825 | 1835 | 1845 | 1855 | 1865 | 1875 | 1892 | 1905 | 1915 | 1925 |
| Albany | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Allegany | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Bronx | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Broome | Yes | Yes | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Cattaraugus | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Cayuga | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Chautauqua | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Chemung | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Chenango | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | - | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Clinton | - | - | - | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Columbia - Greene
|
Census Records done by the State of New York | ||||||||||
| COUNTY | 1825 | 1835 | 1845 | 1855 | 1865 | 1875 | 1892 | 1905 | 1915 | 1925 |
| Columbia | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | - | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Cortland | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Delaware | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Dutchess | - | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | - | Yes | Yes |
| Erie | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Essex | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Franklin | - | - | - | Yes | - | Yes | - | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Fulton | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | - | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Genesee | - | - | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Greene | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Hamilton - Nassau
|
Census Records done by the State of New York | ||||||||||
| COUNTY | 1825 | 1835 | 1845 | 1855 | 1865 | 1875 | 1892 | 1905 | 1915 | 1925 |
| Hamilton | - | - | - | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Herkimer | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Jefferson | Yes | Yes | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | - | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Kings (Brooklyn) | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Lewis | Yes | Yes | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Livingston | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | - | - | Yes | Yes |
| Madison | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Monroe | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Montgomery | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Nassau | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | Yes | Yes |
New York (Manhattan) - Putnam
|
Census Records done by the State of New York | ||||||||||
| COUNTY | 1825 | 1835 | 1845 | 1855 | 1865 | 1875 | 1892 | 1905 | 1915 | 1925 |
| New York | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Niagara | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Oneida | - | Yes | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | - | - | Yes | Yes |
| Onondaga | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Ontario | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | - | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Orange | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | - | - | Yes | Yes |
| Orleans | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Oswego | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Otsego | Yes | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Putnam | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | Yes | Yes |
Queens - Seneca
|
Census Records done by the State of New York | ||||||||||
| COUNTY | 1825 | 1835 | 1845 | 1855 | 1865 | 1875 | 1892 | 1905 | 1915 | 1925 |
| Queens | - | - | - | - | - | - | Yes | - | Yes | Yes |
| Rensselaer | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | - | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Richmond | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | - | - | Yes | Yes |
| Rockland | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Saint Lawrence | - | - | Yes | - | Yes | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Saratoga | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Schenectady | - | Yes | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Schoharie | Yes | Yes | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Schuyler | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | - | - | Yes | Yes |
| Seneca | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Steuben - Yates
|
Census Records done by the State of New York | ||||||||||
| COUNTY | 1825 | 1835 | 1845 | 1855 | 1865 | 1875 | 1892 | 1905 | 1915 | 1925 |
| Steuben | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Suffolk | - | - | - | - | Yes | - | - | - | Yes | Yes |
| Sullivan | - | - | - | Yes | - | Yes | - | - | Yes | Yes |
| Tioga | Yes | Yes | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Tompkins | Yes | Yes | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Ulster | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | - | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Warren | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Washington | Yes | Yes | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Wayne | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Westchester | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Wyoming | - | - | - | - | - | Yes | - | - | Yes | Yes |
| Yates | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Ancestry.com comes in several different online editions, each having it own unique characteristics and user lists. For example, Ancestry.com Home Edition for use by individual subscribers; AncestryInstitution.com Family History Library Edition for patrons of that library; and AncestryLibrary.Proquest.com Library Edition for patrons of other libraries with a subscription.
New York has a wonderful collection of state census records. They have a 105-year span of population schedules that are available to researchers. Used with the federal census records it is possible to see a family unit about every five years in some towns from 1820 through 1930. The New York State Library provides an excellent overview of the questions asked on each New York State census from 1825 to 1925.
Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:
- New York 1865 State Census (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- New York 1875 State Census (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- New York 1892 State Census (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- New York 1905 State Census ()FamilySearch Historical Records)
- New York State Census, 1915 (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- New York State Census, 1925 (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 17 December 2012, at 23:33.
- This page has been accessed 3,425 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More