Lower Bebington, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Nether Bebington, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Nether Bebington

Bebington St Andrew Cheshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

BEBINGTON, two townships and a parish in Wirrall district, Cheshire. The townships are styled Higher and Lower; they lie on the river Mersey, and on the Birkenhead and Chester railway, just 2½ and 3½ miles S by E of Birkenhead; they have a station, and a post office of the same name, under Birkenhead. The parish includes also the townships of Tranmere (which is an ecclesiastical district), Storeton, and Poulton-cum-Spittle as well as Higher and Lower Bebington. The living is a rectory, with St. Mark's chapelry. There are four dissenting chapels.[1] [2]

Nether Bebington St Andrew is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cheshire.

Other places in the parish include: Lower Bebbington, Lower Bebington, Poolton cum Spittle, Poulton cum Spital, Poulton cum Spittle, and Storeton.

St Andrew's Church, Bebington is in the town of Bebington, Wirral, Merseyside, England.


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.Online index Cheshire BMD

Church records

Lower Bebington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Lower Bebington Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1559-1909
  NONE
1560-1934
  NONE
1558-1909
  NONE
FS BT'S 1597-1894   NONE
1600-1837
  NONE
1597-1892
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241253. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.



Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Wirral Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Wilson, John Marius, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) adapted 26 March 2013
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted 2 April 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 April 2013, at 18:11.
  • This page has been accessed 686 times.