Nærøy, NorwayEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Norway > Nord-Trøndelag County > Nærøy
Contents |
Church Records
Nærøy clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Nærøy with Steine Chapel and Vikna (Vikten) until 1914. Included Kolvereid, Leka and Foldereid until 1797.
The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1710-1911.
Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:
Nærøy / Nærøy: 1730-1785, 1816-1829, 1880-1887
Nærøy / Nærøy, Vikna: 1785-1815
Nærøy / Vikna: 1818-1829, 1880-1887
Census Records
- 1664-1666 Census for Nærøy can be found at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. (Usually lists only males over the age og 12 years, but in some cases all males from birth are listed). There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is usually more complete.
NAMDALEN PROSTI I b. 34 Nærø (Nærøy) prestegjeld Vikten (Vikna) parish and Leka annex. Family History Library INTL Film 122976 Item 1. Scanned images are online at [ http://www.arkivverket.no/URN:db_read/ft/35530/ Digitalarkivet] (Digital Archives).
This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. (Usually only males from 12 years and older, but in some cases all males from birth were listed). The clerical authorities also took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is usually more complete.
NAMDALEN FOGDERI b. 19 Nærø (Nærøy) prestegjeld Leka fjering Vikten (Vikna) fjering Folden (Foldereid) fjering Løfsnes fjering Family History Library INTL Film 122981 Item 2. Scanned images are available at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1701 Census for Nærøy can be found at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah
The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and male servants. The place of birth of a servant may be listed if he was born in another clerical district. Several of the records covering south-east Norway are missing.
NORD-TRØNDELAG FYLKE b. 15 Namdalen fogderi Nærø (Nærøy) prestegjeld Family History Library INTL Film 122985 Item 1
- 1801 Census The 1801 census for Nærøy clerical district includes Nærøy and Vikna parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library and as a database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1865 Census The 1865 census for Nærøy clerical district includes Nærøy, Leka and Vikna parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library and as a database atDigitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1875 Census The 1875 census for Nærøy clerical district includesNærøy and Vikna parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library.
- 1900 Census The 1900 census for Nærøy clerical district includes Nærøy and Vikna parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library and as a database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1910 Census The 1910 census search at Digitalarkivet
- The census of 1865, 1875 (partial), 1900 and 1910 are also available at the Norwegian Historical Data Center
Court Records
Land Records
Farm Books
Leirvik,Kåre and Leirvik Sveinung,Nærøy bygdebok, Nærøy : Utgitt av Nærøy kommune, 1980-. A genealogy and history of the people and farms in Foldereid in Nærøy clerical district in Nord-Trøndelag county from 1600-1964. FHL 948.42/N2 D2L
Contents: b. 1. Gårder og slekter i Foldereid 1600-1964 -- b. 2. Gårder og slekter i søndre del av Kolvereid, 1620-1964 -- b. 3. Brukerhistorie. Gårder og slekter i Kolvereid / -- b. 4 og 5. Brukerhistorie. Gårder og slekter i Nærøy, 1600-1964 -- b. 6. Gårder og slekter i Gravvik 1600-1964
A farm name index to volume 1 is found in the following link. File:948.42-N2 D2L V1 - NAEROY 1.pdf
Farm Names
17 Arnøen lille 18 Arnøen store 7 Aunet 9 Bjørndal 35 Breiøen 13 Buskholmen 26 Dyrneset 24 Fikkan 28 Flatholmen 30 Hamland 30 Hamlandsviken 32 Hestviken 20 Hestøen 3 Holand 31 Hundhammer 19 Høggerøen 33 Kalvøen og Abelvær 32 Klungset 22 Kongensøen 27 Korsskogan 35 Kraakøen 27 Laugen 27 Laugsjøen 15 Lundring 36 Maaøen 32 Nesviken 14 Nærøen 2 Ottersøen 32 Ottersøen 33 Ramstad 16 Rossøen 6 Sandnes 6 Sandnesenget 21 Sandøen 24 Skillingstad 26 Skjaaneset 32 Steine 27 Strangvalen 5 Søraaaunet 4 Søraaen 29 Torland 1 Torstad 34 Tviberg 23 Vaag 28 Val lille 26 Val store 25 Varøen 8 Vea lille 10 Vea store 11 Øiahalsen 12 Øien
Probate Records
1656-1863: Probates are found in Namdal judicial district.
1703-1815: Clerical probates are found in Namdal Deanery
References
Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 18 September 2012, at 15:26.
- This page has been accessed 483 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More