Muskingum County, OhioEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Muskingum County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Muskingum County, Ohio | |
| Map | |
| |
![]() Location of Ohio in the U.S. | |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Muskingum Co. Courthouse 401 Main St. Zanesville, Ohio 43702 Muskingum County Website |
|---|---|
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| *For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent Counties: Formed from Fairfield and Washington Counties 7 January 1804.[1]
- County Seat: Zanesville
- Neighboring Counties: Muskingum County, Ohio residents may also have records in [2]Coshocton (north) · Morgan (south) · Licking (west) · Guernsey (east) · Perry (southwest) · Noble (southeast)
Boundary Changes
- A part of the county was returned to Fairfield County 1817.
- Parts set off to create Coshocton 1810, Guernsey 1810, Morgan 1817.
See an interactive map of Muskingum County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
LDS Cemetery Records (rural or uncertain specific location)Vol. 1, page 139 - South Adamsville
- Prospect United Methodist Church Cemetery, Dresden BillionGraves
- Sherrods Chapel Cemetery, Muskingum BillionGraves
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.
Roman Catholics
- The Archdiocese of Cincinnati, Ohio Archives
6616 Beechmont Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45230 Tel: 513-231-0810
website: Archives Genealogy Research
- St. Nicholas Catholic Church
925 E. Main St.
Zanesville, OH 43701
Lutherans
- Records kept by Carl Louis Wagner, Lutheran minister, 1920-1965 [3]Contains baptisms, confirmations, funerals and weddings in the following locations.
- Brandywine and Sugar Grove, Pendleton County, West Virginia
- Zanesville and Philo, Muskingum County, Ohio
- Eagleport, Morgan County, Ohio
- Lake Township, Fort Wayne, Indiana
- Dixon and Amboy, Lee County, Illinois
- Muskingum County OHGenWeb Project has additional information about various church groups and their records.
Baptists
- 105 South 6th Street
- Zanesville, Ohio 43701-3608
- Phone: (740) 452-1620
Methodists
On Prospect Church Road (County Road 99). Has cemetery beside it, see 'Cemeteries' below for link with Google map, headstone images. Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Muskingum County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Court Records
Directories
Muskingum County, Ohio Online Historical Directories - identifies historical city, county, business and other directories available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
- United States Geographic Survey Place Names - GNIS for Muskingum County
(may not always be present in alphabetic order on first try.)
Genealogy
History
Local histories are available for Muskingum County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.
Home of the "Y" Bridge which crosses the Muskingum and Licking Rivers. The Ohio government authorized the creation of Muskingum County on January 7, 1804 and the County of Muskingum was established on 1 March 1804. Muskingum County was named from the Delaware Indian word meaning “a town near the river”.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Maps
- 1866 Atlas of Muskingum County Ohio.
Military
- Civil War
Civil War service men from Muskingum County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Muskingum County.
- - 1st Regiment, Ohio Cavalry, Company B, also known as "Laughlin's Cavalry"
- - 1st Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company H, also known as the Zanesville Guards
- - 97th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies E, F, G, and K
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Muskingum County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.
For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.
- The Zanesville Times Recorder
34 S. Fourth St.
Zanesville, OH 43701
Tel: (740) 452-4561 - Coshocton Tribune
550 Main Street
Coshocton, OH 43812
Tel: (740) 622-1122
Online obituaries since 27 Dec 2001
- Muskingum County Libraries, Ohio State University Library, and the Ohio Historical Society are all resources for historical newspapers. Over the years Zanesville has had it's newspaper change names many times. This Historical Newspapers article lists the names of early newspapers for Adamsville, Dresden, New Concord, and Zanesville.
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate
Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Muskingum County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Muskingum County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:
- Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (1981). [4] FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).
Public Records
Repositories
County Courthouse
Muskingum County Courthouse
401 Main Street
Zanesville, OH 43701
Phone: 740.455.7104
Probate Court has birth and death records 1867-1908,
marriage and probate from 1804 and naturalization records;
County Recorder has land records from 1803 and and military
records from 1865; Clerk Court has divorce and court record
from 1804[1]
Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Taxation
Finding Tax Records at Other Repositories
Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Muskingum County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Vital Records
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Muskingum County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.
Original marriage records are held at the office of the Muskingum County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Muskingum County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.
Birth
Marriage
Death
Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.
Web Sites
- The Muskingum County OHGenWeb Project, an member of The OHGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Muskingum County.
- Family History Library Catalog
Places
Populated Places
City
Villages
|
|
|
Townships
|
|
|
Communities
|
|
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Muskingum County, Ohio" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muskingum_County,_Ohio (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Records kept by Carl Louis Wagner, Lutheran minister, 1920-1965. Wagner, Carl Louis. Family History Library Film Number: 1036647 Item 1
- ↑ Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 17 May 2013, at 19:23.
- This page has been accessed 4,275 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


