Murfreesboro Tennessee Family History CenterEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
We serve patrons with one-on-one help and access to numerous genoalogical databases.
Center Contacts and Hours
Location & Map:
Adress: 902 E Clark Blvd Murfreesboro TN 37130
- The entrance to the Family History Center is on the west side of the building (along Leaf Avenue) and is visible from the parking lot as a set of double doors at the end of a sidewalk. The doors remain locked even during FHC hous, so please ring the bell.
Location on Map
Phone: (615) 893-3616
- Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday, 10:00 am to 2:00 pm
- Wednesday Evenings: By appointment
- Weather related closings - when the Rutherford County Schools are closed due to weather, the FHC will also be closed.
Holiday Schedule: Closed Thanksgiving week 19-26 November (reopen Tuesday 29 November)
Closed for Christmas and New Year 17 Dec-2 Jan (reopen Tues 3 Jan)
Calendar and Events
Staff Training Meetings
- Family History Library Catalog: This center has the ability to order any of the films and fiche available through the Family History Library Catalog.
- We have an extensive collection of Tennessee databases on microfilm permanent loan, including many census records for the state. We also have a large collection of microfiche with a variety of information about Tennessee, as well as other areas of the country and international records, as well.
- Databases and Software
- FHC Portal This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions. Hardware and Equipment
- We have 3 computers with high-speed Internet available for patrons, plus a fourth which staff can use to help patrons with research. Each computer has a printer for patrons to print documents found online, such as census pages, birth and death certificates, marriage records, etc, for a fee of 10 cents per copy. We have a printer/reader on which patrons may view microfilm and microfiche, and make copies for a fee of 25 cents per copy. We also have available film and fiche read-only stations; patrons may use digital cameras to capture images from the film readers.
Staff Research Specialties
Volunteer staff is available whenever the FHC is open to help patrons with any research and organization of their family trees.
Resources in the Local Area
Linebaugh Public Library near the Public Square in Murfreesboro has a Tennesse History and Genealogy room on the second floor with a large selection of books and bound periodicals. They also have a collection of microfilm records for the area, and provide access to a number of genealogical databases.
The Tennessee State Archives in Nasvhille houses a large collection of documents about early Tennessee history, including records of land grants made to veterans of the Revolutionary War.
The Rutherford County Genealogical Society meets regularly and is a good resource for county history and genealogies. They have published books, including a recently updated edition of Cemeteries and Graveyards of Rutherford County, Tennessee (compiled by Susan G. Daniel).
(Include links to other websites of interest to those who visit your center such as links to the city, county and state wiki pages where your center is located.)
Volunteer at the Center
(Include information here about the volunteers you are looking for.)
- This page was last modified on 11 April 2013, at 20:12.
- This page has been accessed 303 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More