Moultrie County, IllinoisEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Illinois
Moultrie County
Guide to Moultrie County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Moultrie County, Illinois | |
| Map | |
| |
![]() Location of Illinois in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded: | February 16, 1843 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Sullivan |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives | |
| Address | Moultrie County Courthouse 10 S. Main Street Sullivan, Illinois 61951 (217) 728-4389 Moultrie County Website |
Moultrie County Organization
Moultrie County's civil records start the following years:
| Beginning Dates for Moultrie County Records | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1877 |
1843 |
1877 |
1850 |
1831 |
1845 |
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Moultrie County are kept, see the Moultrie County Courthouse page.
Historical Facts
Moultrie County is named for William Moultrie who was a General during the Revolutionary War and later became the 35th Governor of South Carolina.Parent County
- 1843--Moultrie County was created 16 February 1843 from Shelby and Macon Counties. County seat: Sullivan [1]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Moultrie County boundary changes.
Record Loss
November 25, 1864 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Records and Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
Illinois Cemeteries for more information.
Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
- Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried. Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone. May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
- Find A Grave also gives a list of cemeteries in Moultrie County and links to the information for the individuals buried there.
- Moultrie Co. IL USGenWeb Tombstone Project usually gives the names of the deceased in alphabetical order by last name with birth and death dates plus any remarks.
- Illinois Cemeteries by county.
- The Family History Library Catalog lists some records of cemeteries in Moultrie County. Some of the books or others may be on Google Books or available at public libraries.
- ePodunk list of Moultrie County cemeteries gives the names of the cemeteries in the county with a link to more information such as address, phone number, and web site.
- Moultrie County Cemeteries includes a map (click to expand the image).
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1900 | 15,224 | ||
| 1910 | 14,630 | −3.9% | |
| 1920 | 14,839 | 1.4% | |
| 1930 | 13,247 | −10.7% | |
| 1940 | 13,477 | 1.7% | |
| 1950 | 13,171 | −2.3% | |
| 1960 | 13,635 | 3.5% | |
| 1970 | 13,263 | −2.7% | |
| 1980 | 14,546 | 9.7% | |
| 1990 | 13,930 | −4.2% | |
| 2000 | 14,287 | 2.6% | |
| IL Counties 1900-1990 | |||
Church Records
Copies of Original records
- 1883–1909 Wilburn Creek Church of Christ FHL film 1521249 item 8 and item 10
- 1881–1906 Bethany Church of Christ minutes and membership recordsFHL film 1521249 Item 10
- 1872–1948 Union Prairie Church of Christ membership records FHL film 1521249 Item 9
- 1891 Sacred Heart Church records FHL film 1521249 Item 12
- 1860–1909 Wellborn Creek Church FHL film 985957 Items 1–4
- 1927–1994 Smyser Christian Church FHL film 1301715 Item 9
- 1867–1990 Oak Grove Baptist Church records FHL film 1301715 Item 6
Additional Resources
Additional resources for Moultrie County church records may be found in the FHLC - church records. Histories of area churches may be found in the FHLC - church histories section. Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Court Records
Ethnic Research
African American
The following have information concerning African American research.
- African American Research (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Illinois State Archives pamphlet on African American Research describes what records are at the State Archives with an online method for ordering records.
- African-American Resources for Illinois
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online sources, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) - search for Moultrie County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the EIU IRAD Wiki page.
Copies of Original Records
- 1849-1935 Deed and mortgage records, 1849-1935; index 1849-1935 FHL Film 1313216 (first of 41 films)
- 1948-1951 Chattel Mortgage Releases IRAD-EIU
- 1948-1952 Chattel Mortgages IRAD-EIU
Abstracts
- 1978 Moultrie County (Illinois), atlas and plat book, 1978 (Rockford, Illinois:Rockford Map Publishers, c1969) Other Libraries; FHL Book 977.3675 R2m
- Moultrie County Plat Books 1875, 1913, 1942, 1949, 1953, 1960
Online Resources
- Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales See Illinois Land and Property for more information about this database. Also available at Ancestry ($)
- 1796–1907 U.S. General Land Office Records found at Ancestry.com ($)
- Moultrie County Federal Township Plats
- 1800s – Present - Use the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Land Patent Index to obtain original federal land transfer records, including homestead, military warrants, and cash entry patents. These records help a researcher establish location and lead to National Archives’ records which may include genealogical information. Earlier land transfer records are at the National Archives.
Maps
Military
General
The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) - search for Franklin County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the EIU IRAD Wiki page.
- 1862-1919 Military Discharge Record IRAD-EIU
Civil War
Civil War service men from Moultrie County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Moultrie County.
- - 21st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E
- - 41st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- - 126th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A and C.
- - 143rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company I.
Naturalization
Original naturalization records are held in the office of the County Clerk. See Illinois Naturalization Records for more information about using naturalization records.
The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library.
- 1871-1929 Naturalization records FHL Film 1301714
Newspapers and Obituaries
- USGenWeb, Moultrie County, Illlinios (ILGenWeb), Historical Newspapers
- USGenWeb, Moultrie County, Illiniois (ILGenWeb), Obituaries
Probate Records
Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library.
- 1862-1964 Will records and estate file index FHL Film 1312718 (first of four films)
- [No probate record holdings noted in IRAD-EIU Moultrie County Listing.] Search for Moultrie County records. Information about how to use IRAD
Repositories
County Courthouse
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Moultrie County are kept, see the Moultrie County Courthouse page.
Family History Centers
There are over 4500 Family History Centers worldwide which serve as branch facilities of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Volunteers provide research assistance to help patrons identify their ancestors. Microfilm and microfiche may be ordered from the FHL collection at a nominal cost. Locate your nearest Family History Center at the FamilySearch website. Call ahead to verify operating hours. All are welcome.
The following centers are accessible to residents of Moultrie County, Illinois:
Champaign Illinois Family History Center
604 W Windsor Rd
Champaign, Champaign, Illinois
Phone: 217-352-8063
Hours: Thur-Sat 9:30-12:30pm; Thur 7pm-9pm; or by appt
Decatur Illinois Family History Center
3955 Lourdes Ln
Decatur, Macon, Illinois
Phone: 217-875-9396
Hours: T, Sat 10am-3pm; Th 6pm-9pm
Springfield Illinois Family History Center
3601 Buckeye Dr
Springfield, Sangamon, Illinois
Phone: 217-529-7930
Hours: T 6pm-9pm; W 10am-2pm, 6pm-9pm; Sat 10am-2pm
Please note: Addresses posted are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.
Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)
The Illinois State Archives administers a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD) to manage the archival records of local governments. Local governments which have transferred records to the regional depositories include counties, townships, municipalities, and school districts. The records of Moultrie County come under the jurisdiction of the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) regional depository.
Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)
Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University (EIU)
600 Lincoln Avenue
Charleston, IL 61920
Telephone: (217) 581-6093
Hours: Monday – Friday, except state holidays
9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.; 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Note: The depository is staffed by graduate student interns. Because of class scheduling conflicts, hours may vary somewhat from the published schedule. Researchers are urged to call before planning a visit.
Libraries
Arthur Public Library District
225 South Walnut Street
Arthur, IL 61911
Phone: (217) 543-2037
Lovington Public Library District
110 West State Street
Lovington, IL 61937
Phone: (217) 873-4468
Marrowbone Public Library District
216 West Main Street
Bethany, IL 61914
Phone: (217) 665-3014
Elizabeth Titus Memorial Library
2 West Water Street
Sullivan, IL 61951
Phone: (217) 728-7221
Social Groups Online
USGenWeb, Moultrie County, Illinois (ILGenWeb) Receive notification when new updates are available. Register for MrMoultrie's tweets on Twitter .
Societies
Moultrie County Historical and Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 588 - 117 E. Harrison St.
Sullivan, IL 61951-0588
(217)728-4085
The Heritage Center Research Library & Museum is open to the public.
Summer Hours: Monday & Saturday, 1:00-5:00 p.m.
Winter Hours: Monday & Saturday, 1:00-4:00 p.m.
Publication: Moultrie County, Illinois Heritage Journal
Taxation
The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) - search for Franklin County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the EIU IRAD Wiki page.
- 1956-1967 Tax Schedules, Townships IRAD-EIU
Vital Records
See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois.
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Moultrie County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) - search for Moultrie County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the EIU IRAD Wiki page.
Births
Copies of Original Records
- 1877-1900 Births, marriages, deaths, 1843-1927; indexes, 1843-1981 FHL Film 1311780 (first of 7 films) Index to births ca. 1877-1956; birth registers 1877-1915; birth certificates 1859-1900.
- 1859-1900 Birth Certificates IRAD-EIU
- 1859-1920 Birth Record IRAD-EIU:*1859-1980 Birth Record Index IRAD-EIU
Online Resources
- Village of Arthur (Douglas and Moultrie Counties) Local Registrar's Birth Certificates Index, 1868-1925 Courtesy Illinois State Archives.
- USGenWeb, Moultrie County, Illinois (ILGenWeb), Moultrie County Births
Marriages
Copies of Original Records
- 1877-1900 Births, marriages, deaths, 1843-1927; indexes, 1843-1981 FHL Film 1312673 (first of 4 films) Index to marriages ca. 1843-1981; marriage record book A 1845-1919; marriage register 1877-1900; marriage licenses 1901-19031859-1900.
- 1843–1919 Marriage Record IRAD-EIU
- 1843-1981 Marriage Record Index IRAD-EIU
Online Resources
- 1843–1900 Illinois Statewide Marriage Index, 1763-1900 (1843-1900 for Moultrie County)
- 1790–1860 Illinois Marriage index found at Ancestry.com ($)
- USGenWeb, Moultrie County, Illinois (ILGenWeb), Moultrie County Marriages
Deaths
Copies of Original Records
- 1878-1973 Births, marriages, deaths, 1843-1927; indexes, 1843-1981 FHL Film 1312674 (first of 4 films) Index to deaths, 1878-1973; death registers 1877-1902; death certificates 1902-1927
- 1877–1927 Death RecordIRAD-EIU
- 1877–1973 Death Record Index IRAD-EIU
Abstracts
- 1904-1970 Hunter, Cheri; Decatur Genealogical Society (Decatur, Illionis) and Illinois Masonic Home (Sullivan, Illinois) Illinois Masonic Home death card file, 1904-1970, Moultrie County, Illinois (Decatur, Illinois:Decatur Genealogicla Society [IL], 2004) Other Libraries; FHL Book 977.3 C42h
Online Resources
- Pre-1916 Illinois Statewide Death Index, Pre-1916
- 1916-1950 Database of Illinois Death Certificates, 1916-1950
- 1850–1885 U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 found at Ancestry.com ($)
- Moultrie County, Illinois Obituary and Death Notices Collection Free from GenealogyBuff.com. From various funeral homes in the Sullivan, Allenville, Bethany, Dalton City, Dora, East Nelson, Gays, Jonathan Creek, Lovington, Lowe, Marrowbone, Whitley, and surrounding area.
- USGenWeb, Moultrie County, Illinios (ILGenWeb), Death Certificates
Web Sites
Databases pertinent to Moultrie County
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 19:40.
- This page has been accessed 2,102 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



