Morris County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties M
Morris County
Guide to Morris County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Adopt-a-wiki page | |
| |
This page adopted by: TXGenWeb Project who welcome you to contribute. |
|---|---|
| Adopt a page today | |
Contents
|
County Courthouse
Morris County Courthouse
500 Broadnax Street
Daingerfield, Texas 75638-1315
Phone: 903.645.3911
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage and probate records from 1875, land records
from 1849 and some delayed birth records; District
Clerk has divorce and court records[1]
The first courthouse was the first floor of the Odd Fellow Building locate at the corner of Broadnax and King Streets just North of the original "Town Square". The East Line and Red River Railroad crossed the Southern part of the College Plat Addition to Daingerfield in 1877.
In 1881, a group of citizens purchased the present site of the courthouse and presented the lot to Morris County. Within a few years all of the businesses moved from the "Old Town" to the Southeast corner of the College Plat and the adjoining Hinnant Addition. Daingerfield was authorized to incorporate by an Act of the State Legislature in 1871. An election for incorporation was held in 1913 with a vote of 75 for incorporation and 64 against.
Morris County Courthouse 500 Broadnax Daingerfield, Texas 75638
History
Morris County was probably named for William Wright Morris, a judge and planter from Henderson, Rusk County, Texas
Parent County
1875--Morris County was created 6 March 1875 from Titus County. County seat: Daingerfield [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
- Cason
- Daingerfield
- Jenkins
- Lone Star
- Naples
- Omaha
- Rocky Branch
- Snow Hill
- Wheatville
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Area Attractions
Places of interest in and around Morris County:
| Caddo Lake State Park | 245 Park Road 2, Karnack, Texas 75661 | 903-679-3351 |
| Caldwell Zoo | 2203 Martin Luther King Blvd., Tyler, Texas 75702 | 903-593-0121 |
| Ferrells Bridge Dam Lake O' The Pines | Jefferson, Texas 75657 | 903-665-2336 |
| Gardens of the American Rose Center | 8877 Jefferson Paige Road, Shreveport, Louisiana 71119 | 318-938-5402 |
| Farmstead Museum | Pittsburg, Texas 75686 | 903-856-6614 |
| Northeast Texas Children's Museum | Hwy. 50 & Culver Street, Commerce, Texas 75429 | 903-886-6055 |
| Sam Bell Maxey House | 812 S. Church Street, Paris, Texas 75460 | 903-785-5716 |
| Grand Saline Salt Museum | 100 W. Garland Avenue, Grand Saline, Texas 75104 | 903-962-5631 |
Chamber of Commerce
- Daingerfield Chamber of Commerce - 305 Scurry - Daingerfield, Texas 75638
- Naples Chamber of Commerce - 101 W L Doc Dodson E - Naples, Texas 75568
Census
- Partial transcription of 1850 Federal Census - that portion of Morris County that was part of Titus County - Part of the USGenWeb Census Project
- 1880 Federal Census Index - Part of the Morris County, TXGenWeb Site
- 1890 Union Soldier Schedule - Part of the Morris County, TXGenWeb Site
- Partial 1900 Federal Census Heads of Household - Part of the Morris County, TXGenWeb Site
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| |
||
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Sources
(Transcriptions of the cemeteries are available online at the Morris County TXGenWeb site.)
- Barfield
- Barnard
- Barrier
- Bellheaven
- Black Mountain
- Blevins-Cason
- Bradfield Chapel
- Brown (Sheppard Place)
- Center Vine
- Cherry Family (Cherry Tree)
- Chisum-Holloman
- Clark
- Clark-Ingram
- Cockrell
- Concord
- County Line
- Crossland Family
- Curry Family
- Daingerfield City
- Dalby Homestead
- Day (Hargiss/Day)
- Gallaway
- Griffis Family
- Hall (Huff Hill)
- Hall or Huff Family
- Hargiss/Day
- Hart Family
- Hayes
- Heard Family
- Hervey
- Huff Hill (Hall)
- Iron Bluff
- James
- Jim Jacobs
- Jones Family
- Leeves Chapel-Milner
- Lewis Family
- Liberty
- Loving
- Meadowview
- Mitchell-Green-White
- Richard Moore
- Montgomery
- Morning Star
- Morris/Heard Family
- Motley
- Mt. Moriah
- Naples
- Old South Union
- Omaha City
- Our Lady of the Pines
- Paradise
- Peacock
- Ragland
- Reynolds
- Rhodes, Old Daingerfield
- Rice
- Rivers
- Robison
- Rogers
- Sheppard Place (Brown)
- Slayton
- Snow Hill
- Spring Hill
- Taylor Family
- Vissering
- Wheatville
- White Oak
- Whitecotton
- Whitmore Memorial
- Wilder
Churches
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Antioch Baptist Church - Naples
- Belle-Haven Addition Church of Christ - Omaha
- Bethel Full Gospel Church - Naples
- Church of Christ - Daingerfield
- Church of Christ - Naples
- Church On The Rock The Station - Daingerfield
- Church-Christ Minister's Res - Daingerfield
- Concord Missionary Baptist Church - Omaha
- Dalton Missionary Baptist Church - Naples
- Daniel's Chapel Community Church - Naples
- Faith Temple Church of God - Daingerfield
- Fellowship Baptist Church - Daingerfield
- First Baptist Church - Daingerfield
- First Baptist Church - Lone Star
- First Baptist Church - Naples
- First Baptist Church - Omaha
- First United Methodist Church - Daingerfield
- First United Methodist Church - Lone Star
- First United Methodist Church - Naples
- First United Pentecostal Church - Daingerfield
- Gethsemane Baptist Church - Naples
- Jehovah's Witnesses - Daingerfield
- Jenkins First United Methodist - Daingerfield
- Liberty Baptist Church - Naples
- Lilley's Chapel Church of Christ - Lone Star
- Lone Star Baptist Church - Lone Star
- Methodist Church - Omaha
- Mount Mitchell Church of Christ - Daingerfield
- Mount Moriah Baptist Church - Daingerfield
- Mount Moriah Baptist Church - Omaha
- Mount Zion Cme Church - Daingerfield
- New Hope Baptist Church - Daingerfield
- Omaha First Baptist Church - Omaha
- Our Lady of Fatima Catholic Church - Daingerfield
- Our Lady of Fatima Fuqua - Daingerfield
- Pleasant Hill Baptist Church - Naples
- Restoration Family Worship Center - Naples
- Robertson Temple Church of God in Christ - Omaha
- Rock Street Church of Christ - Daingerfield
- Rocky Branch Missionary Baptist Church - Naples
- Shady Grove Baptist Church - Daingerfield
- Shiloh Temple of Faith - Daingerfield - Naples
- Southern Union Baptist Church - Daingerfield
- Trinity Bethel of Daingerfield - Daingerfield
- Union Chapel Baptist Church - Omaha
- Veal Switch Missionary Baptist - Daingerfield
- Victory Temple Pentecostal Church - Daingerfield
- Wallick Chapel Christian Church - Daingerfield
- Worship Center - Lone Star
Court
Funeral Homes
- Alexander Funeral Home - Highway 67W - Naples
- Johnson Funeral Home - 216Fred Street - Pittsburg
- Nail-Haggard Funeral Home, Inc. - 400 Webb Street - Daingerfield
- Reeder-Davis Funeral Home - 1213 Hanes Blvd. - Hugh Springs
- Reeder-Davis-Schlinder Funeral Home, Inc. - 202 N. Main - Linden
Historical Markers
- Caddo Trace
- Site of Chapel Hill College
- Concord Meeting House
- W. T. and T. C. Connor Buildings
- County Line Baptist Church and Cemetery
- Cumberland Presbyterian Church
- Daingerfield, C. S. A.
- Iron Bluff Cemetery
- Rev. Nathan S. Johnson
- Richard Moore Cemetery
- Morris County
- Naples
- Omaha
- Site of Omaha School
- Rocky Branch
- Rogers Cemetery
- Home of U. S. Senator Morris Sheppard
- Snow Hill Baptist Church
- Site of Old Spearman's Ferry
- Spring Hill Primitive Baptist Church of Christ
- James Thompson
- Site of Valley View School
- Ned Walker Home
- Wheatville and Wheatville Cemetery
Hospitals
- East Texas Medical Center Pittsburg - Pittsburg, Texas
- Linden Municipal Hospital - Linden, Texas
- Titus County Memorial Hospital - Mount Pleasant, Texas
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Soil Survey of Morris County, Texas - 1910 - The Portal to Texas History
Landmarks
- Morris County, Texas Landmarks & Vanished Communities - Part of the TXGenWeb Project
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Morris County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Concord Chronicles - History of Concord Baptist Church - 1857-2007 written by Janette Tigert Cook, Vicki Tigert Davis and Reggie Talley
- List of Fugitives from Justice: 1891.--Part VII - Texas Adjutant General's Office "Compiled from reports of sheriffs received by the Adjutant General's Office." from The Portal to Texas History.
- Morris County Texas Cemeteries - Northern & Southern Sections - Published by Cass County Genealogical Society. For information, write the Society at P. O. Box 880, Atlanta, Texas 75551-0880
Maps
- Morris County, Texas Maps - Part of the Morris County, TXGenWeb Site
- Soil Map - 1910 - The Portal to Texas History
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
Military
- Confederate Pension Applications - Texas State Library & Archives Commission
- World War I Draft Registrations - Partial Transcription - Part of the Morris County, TXGenWeb Site
- World War II Casualties - Part of the Morris County, TXGenWeb Site
- Korean War Deaths - Part of the Morris County, TXGenWeb Site
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Morris County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Morris County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- Cass County Sun - Linden
- East Texas Journal - Mount Pleasant
- Gilmer Mirror - Gilmer
- La Tribuna - Mount Pleasant
- Monitor - Naples
- Mount Pleasant Daily Tribune - Mount Pleasant
- Pittsburg Gazette - Pittsburg
- The Bee - Daingerfield
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Morris County Birth Index 1910-1934 - Part of the Morris County TXGenWeb Site
- Morris County Death Index 1908-1974 - Part of the Morris County TXGenWeb Site
- Morris County Divorce Index 1968-2001 - Part of the Morris County TXGenWeb Site
- Morris County Marriage Index 1966-2002 - Part of the Morris County TXGenWeb Site
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
Societies and Libraries
- Morris County Historical Society - 507 E. Whiskey Still Road - Daingerfield, Texas 75638
- Daingerfield Public Library - 207 Jefferson Street, Daingerfield, Texas 75638 - 903-645-2823
- Naples Public Library - 101 Walnut Street, Naples, Texas 75568
- Pittsburg Camp County Public Library - Pittsburg, Texas - 903-856-3302
- Upshur County Library - Gilmer, Texas 75644 - 903-843-5001
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Morris County, Texas. Page 670 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
| This Texas-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 15 May 2013, at 01:24.
- This page has been accessed 2,192 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More