Morgan County, KentuckyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Kentucky
Morgan County
Guide to Morgan County Kentucky genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Morgan County, Kentucky | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Kentucky | |||||||||
![]() Location of Kentucky in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | December 7, 1822 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | West Liberty | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
County Courthouse
| | |||||
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Census | Deeds | Wills |
| 1852 | 1823 | 1852 | 1830 | 1846 | 1866 |
| | |||||
Morgan County Courthouse
450 Prestonburg Street
PO Box 26;
West Liberty, KY 41472-1162
Phone: 606.743.3949[1]
History
Parent County
1822--Morgan County was created 7 December 1822 from Floyd and Bath Counties. County seat: West Liberty [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1862, 1925--Disasters destroyed most records.
9 March 2012 - Tornadoes destroyed much of West Liberty.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
| Adele | Fannin | Middle Fork | Sellars |
| Bear Wallow | Florress | Mima | Silverhill |
| Blairs Mills | Gordon Ford | Mize | Smith Creek |
| Blaze | Grassy Creek | Moon | Stacy Fork |
| Bonny | Greear | Murphyfork | Straight Creek |
| Caney | Head of Stacy Fork | Neal Valley | Tarklin |
| Cannel City | Hickory Grove | Nickell | Twentysix |
| Caskey Fork (hist.) | Holliday | Oak Hill | Upper Sandlick |
| Caskey Settlement | Index | Ophir | Upper White Oak Creek |
| Cindas Creek | Jeptha | Panama | Vance Fork |
| Cisco | Jericho | Payton | War Creek |
| Coffee Creek | Jones Creek | Pekin | West Liberty |
| Cottle | Kellacey | Perry Bend | Wheel Rim |
| Crockett | Leisure | Pomp | Wheelrim Fork |
| Dehart | Lenox | Redwine | White Oak |
| Dingus | Liberty Road | Relief | Woodsbend |
| Ditney School (hist.) | Licking River | Rexville | Wrigley |
| Ebon | Lost Creek | Right Fork | Yocum |
| Elamton | Lower Sandlick | Road Fork | Zag |
| Elkfork | Malone | Rockhouse | |
| Elna | Matthew | Rush Branch | |
| Ezel | Maytown | Salem |
Neighboring Counties
Resources
African American Research
The following have information concerning African American research. Both should be used:
- The KY African American Griots Project ~ The Kentucky African American Griots Project
- Sandi Gorin's Tips ~ Hangings in Kentucky 1792 - 1900
- African American Research (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Kentucky Minorities has information specific to Kentucky African Americans.
Bible
Biographies, Family Histories/Trees, GEDCOM files, etc.
- Sorted by Surname, Morgan County, Kentucky
- KY Biographies ~ Jeff Murphy's Kentucky Biographies Project
Cemeteries
Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
- Morgan Co. KY USGenWeb Tombstone Project usually gives the names of the deceased in alphabetical order by last name with birth and death dates plus any remarks.
- The KY Historical Society’s Cemetery Database
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Cemetery Junction ~ Links to cemetery transcriptions
- Naming the Forgotten ~ Naming the Forgotten - The Eastern State Hospital Project
- Kentucky Cemeteries lists the national cemeteries in Kentucky with links to their web sites. The first link under Online Kentucky Cemeteries goes to the Kentucky section of Interment.net
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness Local volunteers may take photographs of headstones found in county cemeteries.
- Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried. Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone. May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
- Find A Grave also gives a list of cemeteries in Morgan County and links to the information for the individuals buried there,
- The Family History Library Catalog lists some records of cemeteries in Morgan County. Some of the books or others may be on Google Books or available at public libraries.
- ePodunk list of Morgan County cemeteries gives the names of the cemeteries in the county with a link to more information such as address, phone number, and web site.
- Access Genealogy, Morgan County Kentucky Cemetery Records
- Linkpendium, Morgan County Kentucky
- Morgan County Cemetery Inscriptions
- Morgan County Cemetery Records
- The Tombstone Transcription Project, Morgan County Kentucky
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1830 | 2,857 | ||
| 1840 | 4,603 | 61.1% | |
| 1850 | 7,620 | 65.5% | |
| 1860 | 9,237 | 21.2% | |
| 1870 | 5,975 | −35.3% | |
| 1880 | 8,455 | 41.5% | |
| 1890 | 11,249 | 33.0% | |
| 1900 | 12,792 | 13.7% | |
| 1910 | 16,259 | 27.1% | |
| 1920 | 16,518 | 1.6% | |
| 1930 | 15,130 | −8.4% | |
| 1940 | 16,827 | 11.2% | |
| 1950 | 13,624 | −19.0% | |
| 1960 | 11,056 | −18.8% | |
| 1970 | 10,019 | −9.4% | |
| 1980 | 12,103 | 20.8% | |
| 1990 | 11,648 | −3.8% | |
| 2000 | 13,948 | 19.7% | |
| http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21175.txt | |||
For tips on accessing Morgan County, Kentucky census records online, see: Kentucky Census.
- Morgan County Census Records
- USGenWeb Census Project ~ Kentucky Census Transcriptions 1850 - 1930
- The USGenWeb Census Images ~ The USGenWeb Census Images Project
- Kentucky Census Transcriptions ~ The USGenWeb Census Project
- Census Online ~ Census Online
Church
- Church Records
- Kentucky Christian Church Directory ~ ChurchAngel
- Catholic Parishes in the Diocese of Lexington
- Catholic Parishes in the Archdiocese of Louisville
Court
- Kentucky Court of Justice, Morgan County Office of the Circuit Court Clerk
- Morgan County Court Records
Morgan County Court and Tax Records - Abstracts of Early KY Court Cases Abstracts of Early Supreme Court Cases ~ KYGenWeb Special Project
- Kentucky Court of Justice Research & Reference
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- Morgan County, Kentucky Map
- KYGenWeb compiled list of maps
- Click on the county to go to the KYGenWeb site
Military
- Military Resources ~ Revolutionary War through Civil War
- Korean War Memorial Korean War Memorial for Soliders from KY ~ KYGenWeb
- Fallen Soldiers in WWI from KY ~ Fallen Soldiers in WWI from Kentucky
- List of Revelutionary Pensioners
Morgan County Genealogy Trails
Morgan County Kentucky World War II Casualities, Army and Air Corps
Civil War
Regiments. Service men in Morgan County, Kentucky served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Morgan County, Kentucky:
- - 2nd Battalion, Kentucky Mounted Rifles (Confederate). Company A.
- - 14th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate). Company B.
Miscellaneous
- Kentucky Postcards ~ The USGenWeb Archives Penny Postcard Project
- The KYGenWeb Footsteps ~ The Kentucky Footsteps Archives ~ KYGenWeb Special Project
Newspapers
- Kentucky News - Kentucky Newspaper Index with links
- Another Kentucky Newspaper Index with links
- Kentucky Newspapers on Microfilm - Kentucky Newspapers Available On Microfilm
- Licking Valley Courier
P. O. Box 187
West Liberty, KY 41472
Obituaries
- Morgan County Obituaries
- KY Footsteps Archives ~ KY Footsteps List Archives - thousands of obituaries here ~ KYGenWeb Project
- KY Obituary Sources ~ Kentucky Obituary Sources ~ Compiled by the KYGenWeb Project
- Links to research and locate obituaries
- Browning Genealogy Database ~ The Browning Genealogy Database - A Collection of Obituaries Compiled by Charles Browning.
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Kentucky Obituary Project
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Kentucky Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
- Nashville Advocate ~ Death Abstracts from the Nashville Christian Advocate
- Herald & Stewart & Halsey Funeral
- Potter Funeral Home Inc.
Probate
- 1866-1963 - Will Book 2 (1866-1963) has been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
School records
Morgan County School Photos and Yearbooks
Taxation
Morgan County Court and Tax Records
Vital Records
Birth
- 1852-1861 - Morgan County Birth Index 1852-1861. Batch C517791 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1874 - Morgan County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517792 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1875 - Morgan County Birth Index 1875. Batch C517793 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriage
- 1852-1861 - Morgan County Marriage Index 1852-1861. Batch M517791 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1875 - Morgan County Marriage Index 1875. Batch M517794 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1876-1878 - Morgan County Marriage Index 1876-1878. Batch M517795 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Unsorted
- Kentucky Marriage Project, Morgan County
**Marriage Records of Morgan County, Kentucky 1821-1882 - Morgan County Genealogy Trails 1870 Mortality Schedule
- Morgan County Deaths
- Morgan County Marriages
Morgan County Vital Records - USGenWeb Archives Project, Morgan County, Kentucky Marriage Index
- The Kentucky Vital Records Project Transcriptions of and Images of KY Death Certificates - A Work in Progress ~ The KY Vital Records Project
- KY Births & Christenings ~ Kentucky Births and Christenings, 1839-1960 Family Search
- KY Deaths & Burials ~ KY Deaths & Burials 1843 - 1970
- KY Marriage Records ~ KY Marriages 1783 - 1979 ~ Family Search
- Searchable KY Vital Records ~ Searchable databases of KY Births, Deaths & Marriages
- Kentucky Marriage Records 1973 - 2000 ~ Kentucky Marriage Records - 1973 - 2000
- KY Divorces 1973 - 1993 ~ Kentucky Divorce Records 1973 - 1993 ~ University of Kentucky Vital Records Databases
- The Social Security Death Index The Social Security Death Index - Searchable
Societies and Libraries
- Links and addresses to Kentucky genealogical and historical societies
- Morgan County Historical Society
P.O. Box 900; Route 1
West Liberty KY 41472
Family History Centers
Websites
- Morgan County, Kentucky Genealogy [USGenWeb-KyGenWeb Site]
- KYGenWeb project. Has maps, name indexes, history or other information for each county. Select the county.
- State of Kencucky Website
- USGenWeb Kentucky Archives ~ Kentucky in the USGenWeb Archives ~ Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
- The USGenWeb project May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Morgan Co., Kentucky Genealogy Forum
- Morgan County, Kentucky Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Morgan County, Kentucky page 273, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/7/75/Igikentuckymz.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 March 2013, at 17:26.
- This page has been accessed 4,391 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



