Montgomery County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties M
Montgomery County
Guide to Montgomery County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Adopt-a-wiki page | |
| |
This page adopted by: TXGenWeb Project who welcome you to contribute. |
|---|---|
| Adopt a page today | |
Adopted by TXGenWeb Montgomery County TX
Jane Keppler & Jean Smoorenburg
Contents |
County Courthouse
Montgomery County Courthouse
301 N Main PO Box 959
Conroe, Texas 77305-0959
Phone: 936.539.7885
County Clerk has birth, death and burial records
from 1903, marriage, probate and land records
from 1838 and court records from 1929; District
Clerk has divorce records from 1914[1]
Montgomery county has had three county seats: Montgomery, 1837-1874, Willis, 1874-1880, Montgomery 1880-1889, Conroe, 1889-present.
The first Montgomery County Courthouse, built in Montgomery in 1838 was a two-room log structure. It was replaced in 1842 with a two-story building made of hand-hewn lumber. In 1855 a large Greek Revival style brick courthouse was built in Montgomery.
After Conroe became the county seat, a Greek Revival style courthouse designed by Eugene T. Heiner was built in 1891. In 1936, the current courthouse, a modern style stone building opened. The courthouse was extensively remodeled in 1965. [2]
Montgomery County Courthouse
501 North Thompson Suite 401
Conroe, Texas 77301
(936)756-0571 or (281)364-4200
County Clerk - Mark Turnbull
210 W. Davis (Hwy 105)
P.O. Box 959
Conroe, Texas 77305
936-539-7885
Fax: 936-760-6990
Montgomery County Government Website
History
Parent County
1837 -- Montgomery County was created 14 December 1837 from Washington County.
County seat: Conroe [3]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
- Towns and Cities: Conroe | Cut and Shoot | Houston | Magnolia | Montgomery | Oak Ridge North | Panorama Village | Patton Village | Roman Forest | Shenandoah | Splendora | Stagecoach | Woodbranch | Woodloch | Willis
- Unincorporated Areas: Dobbin | Imperial Oaks | New Caney | Porter | Tamina | Spring | The Woodlands
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| |
||
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Sources
General pages and sites.
Individual cemeteries.
BillionGraves:
- Montgomery New Cemetery, Montgomery
- Scott's Ridge Cemetery, Montgomery
- Smith Memorial Park Cemetery, Willis
- White Oak Cemetery, Porter
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Montgomery County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- A History of Montgomery County, Texas, by William H. Gandy.
- Searchable Digital book on line at the Montgomery County TXGenWeb site.
- Digital book on line at archive.org.
- The Choir Invisible: An Early History of Montgomery County, by the Montgomery Historical Society.
- The History of Montgomery County, 1975, by Robin Navarro Montgomery.
- Montgomery County History, 1981, by the Montgomery County Genealogical Society.
- The Early History of Historic Montgomery County, Texas by Kameron Searle
- I've Been Thinking About! by Narcissa Martin Boulware, on Montgomery County News
- History of the Lake Creek Settlement in Texas and The Founding of the Town of Montgomery in July,1837 by Kameron Searle
- Creation of Montgomery County, Texas Kameron Searle
- Montgomery County Birthplace of the Texas Flag
Maps
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
Military
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Montgomery County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Montgomery County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
Societies and Libraries
- Montgomery County Genealogical & Historical Society
- Humble Area Genealogical Society
Following ancestral footsteps in and around Atascocita, Crosby, Huffman, Kingwood, New Caney, Porter, Splendora, and Humble, Texas. - Montgomery County Societies
- Montgomery County Memorial Library System
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Montgomery County, Texas. Page 670 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ HistoricTexas.net: Montgomery County http://www3.historictexas.net/montgomery-county-texas
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 15 May 2013, at 02:13.
- This page has been accessed 2,655 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More