Montgomery County, PennsylvaniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Pennsylvania
Montgomery County
Montgomery County, Pennsylvania genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Montgomery County, Pennsylvania | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location in the state of Pennsylvania | |||||||
![]() Location of Pennsylvania in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | September 10, 1784 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Norristown | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Montgomery County Courthouse P.O. Box 311 Norristown, PA 19404-0311 Montgomery County Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Montgomery County Pennsylvania Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
| |
| |
|
|
|
| |
- Parent Counties: Formed from Philadelphia County 10 September 1784. [1]
- County Seat: Norristown
- Neighboring Counties: Montgomery County, Pennsylvania residents may also have records in [2]Lehigh (north) • Berks (west) • Philadelphia (southeast) • Delaware (south) • Chester(southwest) • Bucks (east)
Montgomery County was named for either Richard Montgomery, the American Revolutionary War general who was killed at Battle of Quebec in 1775 or for Montgomeryshire, Wales, from where much of early Welsh Quakers came from. The Quakers settled in the Welsh Tract. Early histories yielded nothing as to how the name came to be.
Boundary Changes
No counties were formed from Montgomery County.
Montgomery County Pennsylvania Genealogy Resources
Bible Records
Biographies
- Biographical Annals of Montgomery County Pennsylvaniacontaining genealogical records of representative families, including many of the early settlers and biographical sketches of prominent citizens. Ellwood Roberts, Editor. Courtesy USGenWeb Archives
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Findagrave.com | Family History Library | Findagrave.com |
| Interment.net | WorldCat | Names in Stone |
| USGenWeb-transcripts USGenWeb-tombstone photos |
Billion Graves | |
| Pennsylvania Genealogy | Epodunk | |
| Pennsylvania Gravestones | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
| Names in Stone | ||
| Access Genealogy | ||
| Ancestry($) | ||
| |
||
| See Pennsylvania Cemeteries for more information. | ||
- Riverside Cemetery is a cemetery located in West Norriton Township, Montgomery County, Pennsylvania,
- First Presbyterian Cemetery is located at 113 Airy St., Norristown, PA 19401
- Reformed Church at Providence, St. Luke's Cemetery, Trappe BillionGraves
The Mennonite Heritage Center
565 Yoder Road
Harleysville PA 19438-1020
215-256-3020
library@mhep.org
Hours: Tuesday thru Friday, 10am–5pm, Saturday, 10am–2pm
The Cemetery Database at the Mennonite Heritage Center includes 86,000 burial records from 125 local cemeteries. Records cover cemeteries in the counties of Berks, Bucks, Butler, Chester, Lehigh, Montgomery, Northampton, and Westmoreland. The database provides transcriptions from Mennonite, Brethren, Lutheran, Reformed, Union, Baptist, Methodist, Episcopal, community, and private cemeteries. Search the list of cemeteries and the alphabetical surname lists in Adobe PDF format.
Visit the Mennonite Heritage Center to search the cemetery database by various criteria. The transcriptions are available for further research at the MHC library.
Census
For tips on accessing Montgomery County, Pennsylvania Federal (or United States) census records online, see: Pennsylvania Census.
There are no county or state census records available for Pennsylvania. County and city tax records can be used as a substitute when census records are not available.
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. In Pennsylvania, church records are often used as a substitute for birth, marriage, and death information. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, view the Pennsylvania Church Records wiki page.
Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Montgomery County, Pennsylvania Church Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
County-wide Database - Multi-denominational
- 1708-1985 - Pennsylvania, Church and Town Records, 1708-1985 at Historical Society of Pennsylvania – $, free to members of the society; Also available at Ancestry.com – $; 7,542,774 entries. This database is incomplete for all counties.
- Contains the church records of:
- Ambler: Calvary United Methodist Church; Trinity Episcopal Church
- Anconia Township: Anconia Mennonite Cemetery Gravestone Inscriptions; Salford Mennonite Church
- Ardmore: Methodist Episcopal Church; United Methodist Church
- Barren Hill: St. Peter's Lutheran Church
- Blue Bell: Boehm's Reformed Church (United Church of Christ)
- Bridgeport: Christ Church
- Collegeville: Skippack Brethren Cemetery; Trinity Christian Church; Trinity Reformed Cemetery
- Conshohocken: Calvary Church; Calvary Episcopal Church
- Eagleville: Lower Providence Presbyterian Church
- East Greenville: New Goshenhoppen United Church of Christ
- Elkins Park: Church of the Annunciation
- Fairview: Riton Brethren Cemetery
- Flourtown: David H. Kollock III Funeral Homes, Record Books; First Presbyterian Church
- Franconia: Indian Creek Reformed Church
- Harleysville: Vincent Mennonite Cemetery
- Lansdale: Plains Mennonite Cemetery
- Limerick: James Union Lutheran and Reformed
- Lower Salford Township: Salford Mennonite Church
- Marion: Westminster Cemetery Company
- Montgomeryville: Montgomery Square United Methodist
- New Hanover: New Hanover Evangelical Lutheran Church
- Norristown: Christ United Church of Christ; St. John's Episcopal Church; St. John's Episcopal Church (2)
- Oaks: Germantown Ministry Church of the Brethren
- Obelisk: St. Luke's Lutheran Church
- Plymouth: Reverend L O Knipp Diary and Pastoral Record
- Potts Grove: Presbyterian Church
- Pottstown: Christ Episcopal Church; Trinity United Church of Christ
- Prospectville: Prospectville Methodist Episcopal Church
- Rockhill: Rockhill Mennonite Church
- Roxborough: St. Timothy's Episcopal Church; St. Timothy's Protestant Episcopal Church [sic]
- Schwenksville: Mennonite Cemetery
- Skippack: Charles M. Pool Undertaker Records; Lower Skippack Mennonite Cemetery; Neutralist Newspaper; Upper Skippack Mennonite Cemetery; Warren G. Bean Ministerial Records
- Towamencin Township: Towamencin Mennonite Cemetery Gravestone Inscriptions
- Trappe: Frank W. Shalkop Undertaker Records
- Upper Frederick Township: Riton Brethren Cemetery
- Upper Hanover: Gehman Family Papers
- Upper Providence: Providence Mennonite Cemetery
- Worcester: Worcester Mennonite Cemetery
- Contains the church records of:
- 1682-1800 - Humphrey, John T. Pennsylvania Births, Montgomery County, 1682-1800. Washington, D.C.: Humphrey Pub., 1993. FHL Book 974.812 K2h.
- Contains baptisms of Abington Friends Monthly Meeting, Lower Merion Friends, Abington Presbyterian Church, Gwynedd Friends Monthly Meeting, Lower Dublin or Pennypack Baptist, Augustus Evangelical Lutheran Church at Trappe, New Goshenhoppen Reformed, St. Paul's Lutheran at Red Hill, New Hanover Lutheran, Falkner Swamp Reformed, Horsham Friends Monthly Meeting, Old Goshenhoppen Lutheran, Indian Creek Reformed, Indianfield Lutheran, St. Luke's Reformed at Trappe, Wentz's Reformed, Boehm's Reformed, Old Goshenhoppen Reformed Church, St. Paul's Lutheran at Barren Hill, Trinity Reformed at Pottstown, St. Paul's Lutheran at Ardmore, St. John's Lutheran at Centre Square, Emanuel Lutheran at Pottstown, St. Peter's Lutheran in North Wales Township, St. Thomas Protestant Episcopal, Plymouth Friends Monthly Meeting, records of Rev. John Casper Stoever (Lutheran), and records of Rev. Henry Melchior Muhlenberg (Lutheran).
- 1793-1844 - Skippack Death Index 1793-1844 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch B543426.[3]
Episcopalian
St. James's Church, Perkiomen
Early registers, which began in 1730, are lost. Surviving registers date from 1800.[4]
For a history, read:
- Barrow, A.J. "St. James's, Perkiomen," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 19 (1895):87-95. For free online access, see WeRelate.
St. Thomas's Church, Whitemarsh
Early registers "were destroyed in the Revolution."[4]
Lutheran
Augustus Evangelical Lutheran Church, Trappe
- 1712-1777 - Augustus Evangelical Lutheran Church, Trappe, Marriage Index 1712-1777 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C504571.[3]
Indianfield Lutheran Church, Franconia Township
- 1753-1838 - Indianfield Lutheran Church, Franconia Township, Baptism Index 1753-1838 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C503941.[3]
- 1753-1780 - Indianfield Lutheran Church, Franconia Township, Marriage Index 1753-1780 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M503941.[3]
Lutheran Church, New Hanover
- 1745-1809 - Marriage Record of the Lutheran Church, New Hanover, Montgomery County, PA., 1748-1800 (Pennsylvania Archives, Series 2, Vol. 8, Part 7) at Ancestry ($); Google Books - free.
Lutheran Church, Old Goshenhoppen
- 1751-1780 - Lutheran Church, Old Goshenhoppen, Marriage Index 1751-1780 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M516611.[3]
St. Peter's Yellow Church, North Wales Township
- 1787-1856 - Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, 1787-1856: St. Peter's Yellow Church, North Wales Township at Ancestry ($). Births, marriages, deaths.
Methodist
- 1920 - Directory, First Cheltenham Methodist Episcopal Church, Cheltenham, Pa. ... February, 1920 at Ancestry ($).
Presbyterian
Ashbourne Presbyterian Church, Elkins Park
- 1878-1919 - Ashbourne Presbyterian Church, Elkins Park, Baptism Index 1878-1919 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C727451.[3]
- 1881-1919 - Ashbourne Presbyterian Church, Elkins Park, Marriage Index 1881-1919 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M727451.[3]
Presbyterian Church, Abington
- 1819-1864 - Presbyterian Church, Abington, Baptism Index 1819-1864 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C524031.[3]
- 1820-1862 - Presbyterian Church, Abington, Marriage Index 1820-1862 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M524031.[3]
Reformed
Boehm's Reformed Church
- 1803-1852 - Boehm's Reformed Church Marriage Index 1803-1852 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M727061.[3]
- Directory, Boehm's Reformed Church ... Blue Bell Montgomery County, Pa., founded 1740 ... at Ancestry ($).
Indian Creek Reformed Church
- 1753-1851 - Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, 1753-1851: Indian Creek Reformed Church at Ancestry ($). Baptisms, marriages.
Reformed Church, Falkner Swamp
- 1748-1800 - Marriage Record of the Reformed Church, Falkner Swamp, Montgomery County, PA., 1748-1800 (Pennsylvania Archives, Series 2, Vol. 8, Part 6) at Ancestry ($); Google Books - free.
- 1748-1854 - Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, 1748-1854: Falckner Swamp Reformed Congregation at Ancestry ($). Births, marriages, deaths.
St. Paul's Memorial Church
- Directory, St. Paul's Memorial Church ... Oaks, Pa. ... Lent, 1926 at Ancestry ($).
Trinity Reformed Church, Pottstown
- 1770-1865 - Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, 1770-1865: Trinity Reformed Church of Pottstown at Ancestry ($). Births, marriages, deaths.
Court Records
Montgomery County, Pennsylvania court records are housed at the Montgomery County, Pennsylvania Courthouse. For many counties copies of court records may be found at the Pennsylvania State Archives and in the FamilySearch collection. Note that within these collections some films may contain the same records, but have different titles. Other titles are not duplicates. See Finding Court Records at other repositories within this section for links to the online catalogs for these two collections. Films at the Pennsylvania State Archives are not available for inter-library loan. If court records are available FamilySearch films may be ordered at a local Family History Center.
Court of Common Pleas
The Courts of Common Pleas are the trial courts of Pennsylvania. Major civil and criminal cases are heard in these courts. Judges also decide cases involving adoption, divorce, child custody, abuse, juvenile delinquency, estates, guardianships, charitable organizations and many other matters. The Common Pleas courts are organized into 60 judicial districts. Montgomery County, Pennsylvania County has its own judicial district. Judges of the Common Pleas courts are elected to 10-year terms. A president judge and a court administrator serve in each judicial district.[5]
Clerk of the Courts
The Clerk of Courts prepares and maintains the records for the Criminal Division of the Court of Common Pleas. The Clerk signs and affixes the Seal of the Courts to all writs and processes, administers oaths and affirmations, and assumes custody of the seal and records of the Courts. The Clerk certifies and distributes orders of the Court. The Clerk also certifies and prepares bills of costs for the defendants and utilizes the computerized financial management system to disburse fines, costs and restitution.[6] For the Montgomery County, Pennsylvania Clerk of Courts address see the Courthouse section on this page.
Prothonotary
The office of the Prothontary is the custodian of all civil matters in the county. This includes naturalization, immigration, equity actions, judgements, federal and local tax leins, city liens, family court, arbitrations, license suspension appeals, appeals to higher court, commercial code filings, applications for passports and divorce proceedings. See the Courthouse section on this page for the Montgomery County, Pennsylvania Prothonotary office information.
Mark Levy, Prothonotary
Office of the Prothonotary
PO BOX 311
Norristown, PA 19404-0311
Telephone: 610-278-3360
Orphan's Court (see Vital Records)
See Vital Records
The Orphans' Court is responsible for a wide range of matters. The name of the Court is derived from the more general definition of "orphan," that being a person or thing that is without protective affiliation or sponsorship. This would include those not capable of handling their own affairs, minors, incapacitated persons, decedents estates, nonprofit corporations and trusts. It is the role of the Court to ensure that the best interests of the person or entity are not compromised.
It is believed the name of this court was borrowed from the Court of Orphans of the city of London, England which had the care and guardianship of children of deceased citizens, in their minority.[7]
For Montgomery County, Pennsylvania Orphans' Court contact information see the Courthouse section on this page.
D. Bruce Hanes, Esq., Register of Wills and Clerk of the Orphans’ Court
One Montgomery Plaza 4th floor
Norristown PA 19404
Please send Mail to:
Montgomery County Register of Wills/Orphans' Court
Marriage License Department
P.O. Box 311
Norristown PA 19404-0311
Orphans' Court
610 278-3400
Marriage License
610 278-3414
Hours 8:30 am - 4:15 pm
Emigration and Immigration
For information about emigration into Pennsylvania, see the Pennsylvania Emigration and Immigration page.
Ethnic Groups
Germans
Gazetteers
- United States Geographic Survey Place Names - GNIS for Montgomery County (over 2000)
(may not always be present in alphabetic order on first try.)
- United States Geographic Survey Place Names - GNIS for Montgomery County (over 2000)
Genealogy
History
Published Histories
- Surnames on 1887 Atlas, courtesy USGenWeb Archives
- Bean's History of Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, 1884, courtesy USGenWeb Archives
- Every Name Index:History of the Alan Wood Iron and Steel Company, 1792-1920, courtesy USGenWeb Archives
- Every Name Index:Kriebel's, A Brief History of Montgomery Co., PA, courtesy USGenWeb Archives
Land and Property
Land records in Montgomery County began in 1850. These records are filed with the Register and Recorder office in Norristown, Pennsylvania.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, grants, sheriff sales, land patents, and maps. Property records include liens as well as livestock brands and estray records.
The following are examples of available resources:
Online Land Records
The Register and Recorder offers online access to land records (available years are unknown). The online indexes are free but fees apply for copies.
Land Record Abstracts
Land Records on Microfilm
- 1784-1877 Deeds, 1784-1866; Index, 1784-1877. FHL film 21583 (first of 101 films)
- 1784–1946 Mortgages, 1785-1822; Index, 1784-1946. FHL film 925001 (first of 42 films)
- 1784-1877 Deeds, 1784-1866; Index, 1784-1877. FHL film 21583 (first of 101 films)
Additional Resources
Note that the "Maps" section below also includes maps related to land ownership.
See Pennsylvania Land and Property for more information about using land records, especially about original land warrants, surveys, and patents filed at the state land office.
Additional resources can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Montgomery County Pennsylvania Land in online catalogs such as:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog.)
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search.)
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
Maps
Ancestor Tracks has posted free downloadable images from the 1868 Barnes' Driving Map of Philadelphia and Surroundings. This wall map located in the Library of Congress shows major landowner and geographic sites at the date of publishing. While the physcial maps are in the public domain, the images we have taken of the maps belong to us and are not to be used commercially. We hereby give permission to use them strictly for personal use; please attribute to Ancestor Tracks.
Migration
Military
Revolutionary War
Local newspapers published obituaries on many Montgomery County Revolutionary War veterans. Summers abstracted these records and his article is available for free online:
- Summers, William. "Obituary Notices of Pennsylvania Soldiers of the Revolution," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 38 (1914):443-460. For free online access, see WeRelate.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Naturalization records can contain information about immigration and nativity. Prior to 1906, it is rare to find the town of origin in naturalization records. See Pennsylvania Naturalization for more information about the types of records and availability.
Naturalizations granted at the county level were kept by the office of the Prothonotary. Naturalizations could also be granted on the Federal Court level.
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1795-1952 – Pennsylvania, Eastern District Naturalization Indexes, 1795-1952 on FamilySearch.org - free, National Archives publication M1248, browsesable images of card.
- 1795-1952 – Pennsylvania, Eastern District Naturalization Indexes, 1795-1952 on FamilySearch.org - free, National Archives publication M1248, browsesable images of card.
- 1795-1931 – Pennsylvania, Eastern District Petitions for Naturalization, 1795-1931 on FamilySearch.org - free, National Archives publication M1522, browsesable images of petitions, no index, use index listed above.
- 1795-1931 – Pennsylvania, Eastern District Petitions for Naturalization, 1795-1931 on FamilySearch.org - free, National Archives publication M1522, browsesable images of petitions, no index, use index listed above.
- 1795-1930 – Naturalization Petitions for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, 1795-1930 on Fold3.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1522, incomplete for all counties.
- 1795-1930 – Naturalization Petitions for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, 1795-1930 on Fold3.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1522, incomplete for all counties.
- 1795-1930 - Naturalization Petitions for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania located in Selected US Naturalization Records - Original Documents, 1790-1974 database on Ancestry.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1522.
- 1795-1930 - Naturalization Petitions for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania located in Selected US Naturalization Records - Original Documents, 1790-1974 database on Ancestry.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1522.
Original Naturalization Records on Microfilm
- 1791–1906 Naturalization Papers FHL Film 1376051 (first of 11 films)
- 1791–1906 Naturalization Papers FHL Film 1376051 (first of 11 films)
Finding Naturalization Indexes at Other Repositories
Additional naturalization indexes can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Montgomery County, Pennsylvania naturalization in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Abstracts in Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Newspapers
Montgomery County, Pennsylvania newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, historical/genealogical societies, college or university libraries, or state archives in the area where the newspaper was published.
For information on state-wide newspapers see Pennsylvania Newspapers
Newspapers of Montgomery County
- Pennsylvania Newspapers
- Chronicling America US Newspaper Directory
Online Newspapers
To learn if there are newspapers online for a specific town or city in Pennsylvania, see news.google.com/newspapers and search for the town or the name of a newspaper.
- Ambler Gazette Collection through Wissahickon Valley Public Library.
Online Newspaper Abstracts
- PA-Roots Newspaper Articles for Montgomery County, Pennsylvania.
- Newspaper Clippings for Montgomery County, Pennsylvania.
Obituaries
Obituaries are generally found in local newspapers where the person died. However, sometimes an obituary is found in the location from which he or she originated. To find an obituary, see the information under the Newspaper heading
| Sometimes the fastest way of finding obituaries is to call or email the local public library in the area where the person died. If the library does not have newspapers, a librarian often will know where they are kept. If a death date is known, and the newspapers are at the library, someone on staff will usually make a search for a small fee, or will indicate someone who will do the search. |
Online Obituary Abstracts
- PA-Roots Obituaries for Montgomery County, Pennsylvania.
- Index to Montgomery County Obituaries Death Notices and Funeral Notices (USGenWeb.com)
- Montgomery County Obituaries, courtesy USGenWeb Archives
Obituary Excerpts and Abstracts
- Marriages...Deaths from Der Nautralist, 1845-1854 (Trenton, New Jersey:NMI, Norton Micro-Images for the Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania) FHL film 1723636 item 6
- Compiled and arranged by Michael J. Osiol, Pottstown Area Necrology (S.I.:M.J. Osiol, 19--?) At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL book 974.81 V4o volumes 1-2
Occupations
Indentured Servants
- List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Montgomery County, Pennsylvania (work in progress), courtesy: Immigrant Servants Database.
Periodicals
Poorhouse, Almshouse
Probate Records
Probate matters in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania are handled by the Orphans' Court and start when the county was created. To obtain original probate records, contact the Orphan's Court in the County Courthouse.
In addition to wills and administrations, the Orphans' Court also handles: audits of accounts of executors, administrators, trustees, and guardians; distribution of estates of decedents, incompetents, and minors; appointment and control of guardians; adoptions; appeals from the Register of Wills involving probate matters; inheritance tax appeals and various petitions and motions.
Additional Probate Indexes and Abstracts
Additional probate indexes or abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Montgomery County, Pennsylvania probate wills in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Online Probate Indexes
- 1784-1850 - Williams, Richard T. Index of Wills & Estate Settlements, Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, 1784-1850. Danboro, Pa.: R.T. and M.C. Williams, 1972. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Online Probate Records
Many original Montgomery County probate records are available free online as digital images at:
- 1784-1973 – Pennsylvania, Probate Records, 1683-1994 at FamilySearch.org - free. Includes Montgomery County, Pennsylvania Will Index (1784-1942), Will Books 1-34 (1784-1907); Administration Record Index (1784-1941); Estate Index A-Z (1784-1973); Orphan's Court Dockets Volumes 1-15 (1784-1866); Proceedings Index Volumes 1-45 (1784-1973).
Online Probate Record Abstracts
Original Probate Records on Microfilm
- 1784-1941 Index to Administrations FHL film 21556 (first of 4 films)
- 1784-1973 Probate Records FHL film 925503 (first of 43 films)
- 1784-1907 Wills FHL film 21552 (first of 25 films) - Index included: 1784-1942
- 1784-1941 Index to Administrations FHL film 21556 (first of 4 films)
Repositories
Archives
- The Pennsylvania Archives collection contains county archive records that can be searched onsite. Currently the Archives' staff cannot provide research or make copies of these records. Their collections include Almshouse Registers; Tax records; Birth, Death and Marriage Indexes and Records; Midwife records; African American records; Wills; Deeds; Naturalizations; Coroner's inquests; and Orphan's Court dockets. A list of the Archive's county holdings are on Microfilm or Manuscript form.
- Schwenkfelder Library and Heritage Center, Library and Archive
105 Seminary Street
Pennsburg, PA 18073
Phone: 215–679–3103
info@schwenkfelder.com
This organization has over "200 unpublished records from churches in Montgomery, Berks, Lehigh and Bucks County, from the Schwenkfelder, Reformed, Lutheran, Mennonite, Brethren, and Roman Catholic congregations." It also has many years of five local newspapers, family genealogies and files, local and county histories, diaries, printed fraktur, cemetery records, photographs, and other types of records.
- Schwenkfelder Library and Heritage Center, Library and Archive
- Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel
8339 Old York Road
Elkins Park, PA 19027
Phone: (215) 887-8700
Fax: (215) 887-1070
The Archives has the records of this Jewish synagogue from 1847 when it started to the present.
- Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel
Courthouse
- Montgomery County Courthouse
493 Swede Streeet
Norristown, PA 19401
PO Box 311
Norristown, PA 19404-0311
Telephone: (610) 278-3000
Hours: Mon. - Fri., 8:30am - 4:15pm
Some of their offices include:
- Montgomery County Courthouse
- Register of Wills/Orphans’ Court
One Montgomery Plaza 4th flr.
Swede and Airy Streets
Norristown, PA
This office probates wills,processes intestate estates, and is an agent for the Commonwealth in collecting inheritance taxes.The Clerk of the Orphans’ Court issues marriage licenses and has charge of the Orphans’ Court dockets. Petitions for adoptions are filed here. The Register of Wills also keeps the records of all persons born in Montgomery County between 1893 and 1915. Records after that time are filed with the Department of Health.
- Register of Wills/Orphans’ Court
- Recorder of Deeds
One Montgomery Plaza
Swede and Airy Streets ~ Suite 303
P.O. Box 311
Norristown, PA 19404
Records and collects deeds. mortgages, and other land records for the county.
- Recorder of Deeds
- Prothonotary Office
PO Box 311
Norristown, PA 19404-0311
This office is responsible for recording and filing a wide variety of legal papers such as: personal injury, medical malpractice, divorce, custody, protection from abuse, judgments, change of name, District Justice appeals, Federal income tax liens, and administers oaths and affirmations. They also processes passport applications.
- Prothonotary Office
- Office of the Prothonotary
Montgomery County Courthouse
2 East Airy Street
P.O. Box 311
Norristown PA 19404-0311
610-278-3360
- Office of the Prothonotary
Family History Centers
Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.
The main FHC for Montgomery County, Pennsylvania is the Pottstown Pennsylvania Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.
Libraries
- Montgomery Area Public Library
1 South Main Street
Montgomery, PA 17752
Phone Number: (570) 547-6212
Online Catalog
- Montgomery Area Public Library
The Montgomery Area Public Library is part of the Lycoming County Library System. The system has genealogical, historical, and biographical items in their collection.
- The Mennonite Heritage Center
565 Yoder Road
Harleysville PA 19438-1020
215-256-3020
library@mhep.org
Hours: Tuesday thru Friday, 10am–5pm, Saturday, 10am–2pm
- The Mennonite Heritage Center
The Mennonite Historians of Eastern Pennsylvania support the John L. Ruth Historical Library and Museum at the Mennonite Heritage Center. Located in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania the records and resources of this treasure also cover the counties of Bucks, Chester, Berks, Lehigh, Northampton, and Philadelphia. The website provides a comprehensive overview of library resources, online cemetery database, manuscript collections, photo collections, archival collections, and more.
Museums
- Valley Forge National Historical Park
At this time the library and archives are only available by appointment:
Dona M. McDermott, Archivist
Valley Forge National Historical Park
1400 North Outer Line Drive
King of Prussia, PA 19406
Office: 610-783-1034
Fax: 610-783-1060
Library: 610-296-2593 (only during scheduled appointments)
Email: dona_mcdermott@nps.gov
- Valley Forge National Historical Park
- Temple Judea Museum
Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel
8339 Old York Road, (SE corner Township Line Road)
Elkins Park, PA 19027
Phone: 215-887-2027
Email: TJMuseum@aol.com
The museum has collections of art works, political items, military information, music, history, and more.
- Temple Judea Museum
Societies
- The Lower Merion Historical Society
Located in the Lower Merion Academy
506 Bryn Mawr Ave.
Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania 19004
- The Lower Merion Historical Society
The Society preserves historic resources of the Township of Lower Merion and the Borough of Narberth. They have a collection of online biographical sketches, burial records, early maps, and other historical items. In their library are countless records that can be identified by online searches.
- Historical Society of Montgomery County
1654 DeKalb Street
Norristown, PA 19401
Telephone: (601) 272-0297
- Historical Society of Montgomery County
The Society was established in 1881. They have a Library containing over thirty thousand titles including books, pamphlets, newspapers and archival materials, family files, censuses, city directories, maps, photographs, county and church records, and scrapbooks. A guide to the library will prepare you to visit their facility.
Schools
Pottstown, PA High School: 1941 Football Team Photo with names of individuals.
Taxation
- 1798 - Pennsylvania, U.S. Direct Tax Lists, 1798 at Ancestry ($).
Vital Records
The following records are available at the Montgomery County Records Department:
- 1852-1855 Birth, Marriage and Death Records
- 1893-1915 Birth and Death Records
- 1841-1966 Delayed Birth Certificates
- 1885 to present Marriage Records, with bride and groom index
Montgomery County Records Department
2000 Old Arch Rd
Norristown PA 19404
Phone: 610-278-3441
Fax: 610-292-4966
archives@montcopa.org
Vital records are handled by the County Orphans' Court. Between the years 1852-1855 Pennsylvania made a failed attempt to record birth, marriage and death events at the county level. While the records for that time period are available, there were few events recorded. County marriage records were kept in earnest in 1885. Births and deaths, at the county level, were begun in 1893 and kept through 1905. Abstracts and copies of vital records are available for some counties, but most are incomplete. For the most complete set of records, always contact the County Orphans' Court.
| Use substitute records for birth, marriage and death information. These substitute records include Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Birth
The following records are available at the Montgomery County Records Department:
- 1841-1966 Delayed Birth Certificates
- 1852-1855 Birth Records
- 1893-1915 Birth Records
Early births 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. See the heading Court Records on this page for contact information.
Indexes for Pennsylvania birth records are available through the Department of of Health for 1906 and 1907. Once an individual is located in the index a non certified Birth certificate can be obtained by writing and sending $3.00 to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
- 1726-1930 - Pennsylvania, Births and Christenings, 1709-1950 - free index. Not complete for all years. This index is an electronic index for the years 1726 to 1930. It is not necessarily intended to index any specific set of records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. This collection may include information previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
- 1852-1854 – Pennsylvania Births Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
- 1893-1895 - Montgomery County Birth Index 1893-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriage
The following records are available at the Montgomery County Records Department:
- 1852-1855 Marriage Records
- 1885 - present Marriage Records, with bride and groom index
Pennsylvania marriages are located at the county level. Contact the Montgomery County, Pennsylvania clerk's office for these records.
- 1700-1821 - Pennsylvania Marriage Records Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties.
- 1725-1976 - Pennsylvania, Marriages, 1709-1940 - free index. Not complete for all years. This index is an electronic database of information. The entries are primarily from the International Genealogical Index (IGI) along with some entries derived from compiled and original records such as: Family Records, Church Records, Civil Registration. It may also include indexes generated by the internet indexing project sponsored by the LDS Church.
- Pre-1810 – Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties. Includes 35,000 marriage records from vol. VIII of of the second series of the Pennsylvania Archives.
- 1812-1839 - Van Booskirk, Mahlon. "Marriages from Squire Van Booskirk's Docket," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 30 (1906):437-444. For free online access, see WeRelate. Van Booskirk was a Justice of the Peace. Republished as: "Marriage Record of Mahlon Van Booskirk," Publications of the Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania, Vol. 4, No. 3 (Mar. 1911):305-311. For online access, see WeRelate; the Family History Library also has this series in its collection: FHL Book 974.8 B2p.
- 1852-1854 - Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
- 1885-1950 - Pennsylvania County Marriage, 1885-1950 Extracted marriage records – free. Most of the records consist of marriage licenses, certificates, applications, docket books, and affidavits. This database is incomplete for all counties. May also contain marriage records earlier than 1885.
- Index to Marriage Records at USGenWeb - Includes two indexes: the first is an alphabetical listing of brides and grooms in local newspapers, the second is a county marriage license search from the early 1990s to the presennt.
Divorce
Divorce records are available through the office of the Prothonotary. The office of the Prothonotary is located in the courthouse building.
Death
The following records are available at the Montgomery County Records Department:
- 1852-1855 Death Records
- 1893-1915 Death Records
Early deaths 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. See the heading Court Records on this page for contact information.
Indexes for Pennsylvania death records are available through the Department of Health for 1906 through 1962. Once an individual is located in the index a non certified death certificate can be obtained obtained by writing and sending $3.00 to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
- 1852-1854 – Pennsylvania Deaths Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
- 1894 - Montgomery County Birth Index 1894 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1852-1854 – Pennsylvania Deaths Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories
Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Montgomery County, Pennsylvania Vital Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Montgomery County Pennsylvania Genealogy Websites
- The Montgomery County PAGenWeb Project, an member of The PAGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- Family History Library Catalog
Montgomery County Pennsylvania Places
Populated Places
Home Rule Muncipalities
|
|
|
Boroughs
|
|
|
|
|
Townships
|
|
|
|
|
Communities
|
|
|
|
|
Montgomery County Pennsylvania Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, Pennsylvania" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Pennsylvania (accessed 17 July 2012).
- ↑ 3.00 3.01 3.02 3.03 3.04 3.05 3.06 3.07 3.08 3.09 3.10 3.11 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/1/10/Igipennsylvaniall.pdf.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 Philip Syng Physick Conner,"Registers of the Anglican Church in Pennsylvania prior to 1800," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 12 (1888):341-349. For free online access, see WeRelate.
- ↑ The Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/ accessed 10 July 2012.
- ↑ Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania, Clerk of Courts in http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/ClerksOfCourts.htm (accessed 25 Aug 2012)
- ↑ The Philadelphia Courts at http://www.courts.phila.gov/common-pleas/orphans/ accessed 10 July 2012
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 22 May 2013, at 21:20.
- This page has been accessed 4,999 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More






