Montgomery County, AlabamaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Alabama
Montgomery County
Guide to Montgomery County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Montgomery County, Alabama | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Alabama in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 6, 1816 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Montgomery |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Montgomery County Courthouse PO Box 1667 Montgomery, Alabama 36102 Phone 334-832-1210 County Website |
Contents
|
County Courthouse
Probate Judge has marriage records from 1928,
Probate Records from 1817
and land records from 1819
Alabama Dept of Archives and History
has marriage records 1817-1928
Clerk of Board of revenue has divorce records from 1851
and court Records from 1817 [1]
History
Parent County
1816--Montgomery County was created 6 December 1816 from Monroe County.
County seat: Montgomery[2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
African American
- 1865-1895 - Montgomery County Colored Marriage Books 1-17 Index 1865-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Biography
Cemeteries
Some Montgomery County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1820 | 6,604 | ||
| 1830 | 12,695 | 92.2% | |
| 1840 | 24,574 | 93.6% | |
| 1850 | 29,711 | 20.9% | |
| 1860 | 35,904 | 20.8% | |
| 1870 | 43,704 | 21.7% | |
| 1880 | 52,356 | 19.8% | |
| 1890 | 56,172 | 7.3% | |
| 1900 | 72,047 | 28.3% | |
| 1910 | 82,178 | 14.1% | |
| 1920 | 80,853 | −1.6% | |
| 1930 | 98,671 | 22.0% | |
| 1940 | 114,420 | 16.0% | |
| 1950 | 138,965 | 21.5% | |
| 1960 | 169,210 | 21.8% | |
| 1970 | 167,790 | −0.8% | |
| 1980 | 197,038 | 17.4% | |
| 1990 | 209,085 | 6.1% | |
| 2000 | 223,510 | 6.9% | |
| 2010 | 229,363 | 2.6% | |
| Est. 2011 | 232,032 | 3.8% | |
Church Records
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Montgomery
Court Records
Directories
- Montgomery County, Alabama Online Historical Directories - identifies historical city, county, business and other directories available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
- 1878 - Beale, Jesse D. City Directory and History of Montgomery, Alabama: With a Summary of Events in that History, Calendarically Arranged, Besides Other Valuable and Useful Information. Montgomery, Ala.: T.C. Bingham & Co., Printers and Binders, 1878. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- 1880-1895 - Montgomery, Alabama Directories, 1880-95 at Ancestry ($). Includes 1881-1881, 1883-1884, 1887, 1891, 1893, and 1895 city directories.
Land and Property
Local Histories
- Robertson, W. G. Recollections of the Early Settlers of Montgomery County, Alabama. Montgomery, Ala.: Society of Pioneers of Montgomery, 1961. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Montgomery County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Montgomery County.
- - 1st Battalion, Alabama Artillery, Company A and E
- - 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company B, G and K
- - 2nd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company I, F and J
- - 3rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F "Metropolitan Guards"
- - 3rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G" Montgomery Free Blues"
- - 6th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D [subsequently, Company E]
- - 6th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G [subsequently, Company H]
- - 7th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company B, C, F and K
- - 7th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I(Mounted)
- - 13th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D and K
- - 17th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F
- - 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B "Montgomery Guards"
- - 22nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K
- - 23rd Battalion, Alabama, Company G
- - 31st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I
- - 33rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H
- - 34th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A and H
- - 46th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E
- - 51st Regiment, Alabama Partisan Rangers, Company H
- - 58th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K
- - 60th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C and F
- - 61st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
Newspapers
Alabama Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Probate Records
- 1820-1899 Montgomery County AlArchives Wills - Index Volumes 2 - 6. Wills from Volume 1 were entered into Volume 2, except for a will for Arthur Williams.
Taxation
- 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Montgomery County is in District 2.
Vital Records
Birth
- There is a growing list of Montogmery County Births that have been submitted by descendants found at ALGenWeb - free.
Marriage
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- 1817-1895 - Montgomery County Marriage Index 1817-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1817-1861, 1869, 1925, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1817-1861, 1869, 1925, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1818-1860 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- 1818-1860 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths Recorded by the State of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths Recorded by the State of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908-1974 - Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection - free.
Societies and Libraries
Libraries
Montgomery City-County Public Library
Main Branch:
- Juliette Hampton Morgan Memorial Library
245 High Street
Montgomery, Alabama 36104
Telephone: 334-240-4999
Family History Center
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Montgomery Alabama
- 3460 Carter Hill Rd
Montgomery, Montgomery, Alabama
Phone: 334-269-9041
Hours: Tuesday 9am-2pm;
by appt Tue. eve. and Sat.
- 3460 Carter Hill Rd
Montgomery County Alabama Genealogy Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ contains record transcriptions from Bibles, obituaries, court records and more.
- Montgomery County ALGenWeb ~ record transcriptions and information pertinent to the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Montgomery County, Alabama Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Montgomery County Alabama Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Montgomery County p. 39. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/cf/Igialabamals.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 30 April 2013, at 23:45.
- This page has been accessed 2,317 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

