Milam County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties M
Milam County
Guide to Milam County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Milam County, Texas | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Texas | |||||||||
![]() Location of Texas in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | March 17, 1836 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Cameron | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Milam County Courthouse
PO Box 191
Cameron, Texas 76520-4216
Phone: 254.697.6596
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage records from 1873, probate, court and land
records, school census records 1909-1970 and
military discharge records from 1919[1]
History
In 1836 Milam County consituted one-sixth of the land in the territory in Texas.
Parent County
1836--Milam County was created on 17 March 1836 from the Old Mexican Municipality. County seat: Cameron [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1874--Courthouse and all county records were destroyed by fire in April 1874.
Places / Localities
- Milam County Texas Almanac
- Milam County Communities Milam County Genealogical Society
Populated Places
- Texas Almanac | Cameron (county seat) | Rockdale (adopted in honor of the RHS Class of 1949) |
- The Handbook of Texas Online | Cameron (County Seat) | Milano | Minerva | Rockdale
Ghost Towns
Texas Escapes Online Magazine | Big Lump | Bryant Station | Nashville | Sipe Springs
Neighboring Counties
Bell | Burleson | Falls | Lee | Robertson | Williamson
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| |
||
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Milam County Cemeteries Milam County Genealogical Society - complete list of cemeteries with directions
- Milam County Cemeteries Find A Grave
- Milam County Cemeteries TXGenWeb
- Milam County Cemeteries USGenWeb Archives Project
- Tombstone Transcription Project USGenWeb
Individual cemeteries:
- Lockin Cemetery, Thorndale BillionGraves
Census
- Milam County Census Records Milam County Genealogical Society
- 1850 Milam County Federal Census Index Milam County Genealogical Society
- 1850 Milam County Slave Schedules Milam County Genealogical Society
- 1850 Milam County Federal Census Index USGenWeb
- 1850 Milam County Federal Census ~ USGenWeb
- 1870 Milam County Federal Census USGenWeb
- 1880 Federal Census FamilySearch.org
Churches
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Milam County Churches Milam County Genealogical Society
Court
Voter Registration 1867-1869 ~ TXGenWeb
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Land Survey Abstract Indices Original Land Owners of Texas ~ TXGenWeb
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Milam County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- History of Milam County 1936 Lair Yearbook of Rockdale High School
- History of Texas, together with a biographical history of Milam, Williamson, Bastrop, Travis, Lee and Burleson counties, 1893 The Portal to Texas History
- Milam County History The Handbook of Texas Online
- Milam County Famous People and Families Milam County Genealogical Society
- Milam County Historical Markers Milam County Historical Commission
- Milam County Bible Records TXGenWeb
- Milam County Pioneers TXGenWeb
- Milam County Surname Index TXGenWeb
Maps
- Milam County Map 1895 US Atlas
- Milam County Maps Milam County Genealogical Society
Military
- Milam County Military Records Milam County Genealogical Society
- Milam County Confederate Pension Applications Texas State Library & Archives
- Milam County Military Records TXGenWeb
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Milam County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Milam County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- Milam County, Texas Newspapers Milam County Genealogical Society
Obituaries
- Find Your Roots in Some Central Texas Obituaries Milam County Genealogical Society
- TXMILAM-L Archives Milam County Obituaries
- Milam County Obituaries TXGenWeb
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project Texas
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records ~ Ancestry.com (subscription)
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Texas Birth Certificates 1903-1934 Family Search
- Texas Births and Christenings 1840-1981 Family Search
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 Family Search
- Texas Deaths 1890-1976Family Search
- Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 Family Search
- Texas Marriages 1837-1973 Family Search
Societies and Libraries
- Milam County Genealogical Society
c/o Lucy Hill Patterson Library
201 Ackerman St.
Rockdale, TX 76567
- Cameron Public Library
304 E 3rd St
Cameron, TX 76520
Phone: (254) 697-2401
- Lucy Hill Patterson Memorial Library
201 Ackerman St
Rockdale, TX 76567
Phone: (512) 446-3410
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Milam County Genealogy Website Milam County Genealogical Society
- Milam County Archives USGenWeb Archives Project
- Milam County TXGenWeb
- Family History Library Catalog
- Texas Escapes Online Magazine Articles Specific to Milam County
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Milam County, Texas. Page 670 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 15 May 2013, at 02:17.
- This page has been accessed 2,864 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

