Middlesex County, MassachusettsEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Middlesex County, Massachusetts|
Location in the state of Massachusetts
Location of Massachusetts in the U.S.
|Founded||1643, May 10|
|County Seat||East Cambidge|
|Address|| Middlesex County Courthouse|
208 Cambridge Street East
East Cambridge, Ma 02141
Middlesex County Website
City Clerks has birth records 1632-1745
marrige records 1651-1793, death records 165-1689;
Divorce records from 1888 and court records from 1755
Register of Deeds 360 Gorham Street Lowell, Ma 01852 has land
records from southern District for Northern District from 1855
- In 1997, the county governments of Middlesex, Berkshire, Essex, Hampden and Worcester were abolished.
- Their functions were turned over to state agencies.
- Sheriffs in these counties still administer jails but their employees are state employees.
- The legislation to abolish these county governments transferred Registeries of Deeds to the jurisdiction of the Secretary of the Commonwealth.
- Bristol, Dukes, Nantucket, Norfolk, Plymouth and Suffolk county governments remain substantially unchanged.
The county was created by the Massachusetts General Court on May 10, 1643, when it was ordered "that the whole plantation within this jurisdiction be divided into four sheires". Middlesex initially contained Charlestown, Cambridge, Watertown, Sudbury, Concord, Woburn, Medford, and Reading.
5 April 1731: Worcester County was set off.
Places / Localities
Towns: Acton | Arlington | Ashby | Ashland | Ayer | Bedford | Belmont | Billerica | Boxborough | Burlington | Carlisle | Chelmsford | Concord | Dracut | Dunstable | Framingham | Groton | Holliston | Hopkinton | Hudson | Lexington | Lincoln | Littleton | Maynard | Natick | North Reading | Pepperell | Reading | Sherborn | Shirley | Stoneham | Stow | Sudbury | Tewksbury | Townsend | Tyngsborough | Wakefield | Wayland | Westford | Weston | Wilmington | Winchester
Villages: Auburndale | Chestnut Hill | Cochituate | Fort Devens | East Pepperell | Gleasondale | Littleton Common | Newton Centre | Newton Highlands | Newton Lower Falls | Newton Upper Falls | Newtonville | Nonantum | North Billerica | North Chelmsford | Pinehurst | Waban | West Concord West Newton
Archives and Libraries
Refer to the cities and towns above for the cemeteries. There are no "rural" cemeteries in Massachusetts.
- Lowell Cemetery, Lowell BillionGraves
- St. Patrick Cemetery, Lowell: Courtesy of the cemetery
- St. Mary Cemetery, Tewksbury: Courtesy of the cemetery
- Westlawn Cemetery, Lowell BillionGraves. (location also listed in above localities box as 'Littleton Commons').
Searchable census records:
- please refers to cities and towns, too
Massachusetts 1855 State Census A free Internet index and images to the 1855 Massachusetts State Census can be viewed on the Historical Records Search. This index includes every name listed on the census and is linked to an image including information about each person’s residence and age in 1855, birthplace, occupation, other family members, and neighbors.
Massachusetts 1865 State Census A free Internet index and images to the 1865 Massachusetts State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Historical Records Search. This index includes every name listed on the census and is linked to an image including information about each person’s residence and age in 1865, birthplace, occupation, other family members, and neighbors.
Refer to Cities and Towns for the church history and records. There are no "rural" churches in Massachusetts.
Land and Property
Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Boston newspapers (early 1900's), The Lowell Sun (1878-1977), Fitchburg newspapers (1868-1977), and Portsmouth,NH newspapers (1898-2007) covering local news that included residents from Middlesex County communities.
Cambridge Public Library's Historic Cambrige Newspaper Collection courtesy of the Cambridge Public Library includes the following newspapers:
- Cambridge Chronicle (1846-1923
- The Cambridge Press (1887-1889)
- The Cambridge Sentinel (1903-1912)
- The Cambridge Tribune (1887-1923)
Societies, Libraries and Museums
Family history Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Belmont Massachusetts Family History Center
- Boston Massachusetts Family History Center
- Cambridge Massachusetts Family History Center
- The Middlesex County MAGenWeb Project, an member of The MAGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Middlesex County
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Middlesex County (backup site)
- Middlesex County at Our Family Tree
- FamilySearch.org Family History Library catalog for Middlesex County
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 330. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists, 181.
- ↑ Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 224-26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
- This page was last modified on 22 March 2013, at 17:34.
- This page has been accessed 4,100 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More