McPherson County, KansasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Kansas
McPherson County
McPherson County, Kansas genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W
| McPherson County, Kansas | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Kansas | |
![]() Location of Kansas in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 26, 1867 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | McPherson |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy [[]] | |
| Address | McPherson County Courthouse 117 N. Maple Street P.O. Box 425 McPherson, Kansas 67460 Phone: 316.241.3656 |
Contents |
County Courthouse
McPherson County Courthouse
117 N Maple St; PO Box 425;
McPherson, KS 67460
Phone: 316.241.3656
County Clerk has birth records 1874-1911,
marriage records 1887-1911, death records 1886-2922 and local census 1932.
Clerk District Court has divorce and court records from 1873,
probate records from 1870 and naturalization records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [1]
History
Parent County
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
- For information about Civil War records see Marion County.
Newspapers
Probate
Indices of McPherson County, Kansas Wills and Probate Records, McPherson County Old Mill Museum
Taxation
Vital Records
The McPherson County, Kansas Official Website (Click "Department" tab, then "Clerk/Elections") has a partial list of early births, deaths, and marriages that occurred in the county.
Marriage and Divorce Records
McPherson County Research Library & Archives, McPherson County Old Mill Museum
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- McPherson County, Kansas Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- McPherson County Research Library & Archives, McPherson County Old Mill Museum
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), McPherson County, Kansas page 253, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 1 February 2013, at 17:55.
- This page has been accessed 1,197 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

