McLeod County, MinnesotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Minnesota
McLeod County
Guide to McLeod County Minnesota genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| McLeod County, Minnesota | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Minnesota | |
![]() Location of Minnesota in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 1, 1856 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Glencoe |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | McLeod County Courthouse 830 11th St PO Box 127 Glencoe, MN 55336 Phone: 320.864.1216 McLeod County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Recorder has birth and death records from 1870,
marriage records from 1865, school census and land records.
County Administrator has divorce, probate and court records.
Veterans Service has military records. [1]
History
Parent County
- 1856--McLeod County was created 1 March 1856 from Carver and Sibley Counties. County seat: Glencoe [2]
- For a brief history of how McLeod County was named, click here. Then select McLeod County.
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
For a list of cities and towns go to hometownlocator.com or wikipedia.com.
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of McLeod County, Minnesota (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from McLeod County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of McLeod County.
- - 4th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company B.
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), McLeod County, Minnesota page 366, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 23:16.
- This page has been accessed 1,283 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

