McLean County, North DakotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
McLean County, North Dakota genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| McLean County, North Dakota | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of North Dakota | |
![]() Location of North Dakota in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 8, 1883 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Washburn |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | McLean County Courthouse 712 5th Avenue Washburn, ND 58577 Phone: 701.462.8541 McLean County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Clerk District Court has marriage records from 1887,
burial records from 1920, divorce and court records
from 1891 and probate records from 1900; Register
of Deeds has land records[1]
History
Parent County
1883--McLean County was created 8 March 1883 from Stevens (Old), Burleigh, and Sheridan Counties. County seat: Washburn [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Indian Reservation
Fort Berthold (Caros Ventres, Mandan and Arickara tribes) | Devils Lake Agency (Sioux tribe)
Neighboring Counties
Burleigh | Dunn | McHenry | Mercer | Mountrail | Oliver | Sheridan | Ward
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
- 1885
- 1890
- 1900
- 1910
- 1915
- 1920
- 1925
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the North Dakota Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Societies and Libraries
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- McLean County, North Dakota Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), McLean County, North Dakota. Page 525 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 May 2013, at 17:42.
- This page has been accessed 1,262 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

