McHenry County, North DakotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
McHenry County, North Dakota genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| McHenry County, North Dakota | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of North Dakota | |
![]() Location of North Dakota in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 4, 1873 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Towner |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | McHenry County Courthouse 407 Main Street Towner, ND 58788 Phone: 701.537.5729 Adams County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Clerk District Court has marriage records from 1903,
divorce, probate and court records from 1900;
Reg of Deeds has land records[1]
History
Parent County
1873--McHenry County was created 4 January 1873 from Buffalo County. County seat: Towner [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Bottineau | McLean | Pierce | Renville | Sheridan | Ward
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery transcriptions for cemeteries in McHenry County, providing name, date of birth, and date of death where available.
Census
- 1880
- 1885
- 1890
- 1900
- 1910
- 1915
- 1920
- 1925
- 1930
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about North Dakota denominations, view the North Dakota Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. For more information on this, see North Dakota Land and Property.
After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for McHenry County, North Dakota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section North Dakota Local Histories.
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as McHenry County, North Dakota newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a McHenry County, North Dakota Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Probate records of North Dakota are at the clerk's office in each county courthouse. The Family History Library does not presently have copies of probate records from North Dakota. See the wiki page North Dakota Probate Records for additional information.
Some later estate records are available at: North Dakota Supreme Court
Availability
The Family History Library does not presently have copies of probate records from North Dakota. They are at the clerk's office in each county courthouse. See the Repository section for address of the clerk's office.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: dockets, guardians records, administrators records, real estate records, personal property records, and claim registers.
Taxation
The location of tax records of North Dakota depend on the type of tax. Some are at the clerk's office in the county courthouse, while others are in the state archive. The Family History Library does not presently have copies of tax records from North Dakota.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the North Dakota Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- McHenry County, North Dakota Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), McHenry County, North Dakota. Page 524 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 5 June 2013, at 16:26.
- This page has been accessed 1,603 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

