Massachusetts CensusEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
U.S. Census
Massachusetts
Census
|
|
Online Massachusetts indexes and images
| Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Massachusetts | |||||||||||
| Free | Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* | Pay | |||||||||
| Family Search[1] |
Internet Archive[2] | Misc. | Heritage Quest[3] | Fold3[4] | Ancestry FHL[5] | Ancestry Library[5] | Ancestry Home[5] | Archives[6] | Family Link[7] | ||
| 1940 | indexes | Link | - | Link Link |
- | - | Link | Link | Link | - | - |
| images | Link | - | Link Link Link |
- | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | |
| 1930 | indexes | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1920 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1910 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1900 | indexes | Link | Soundex | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1880 | indexes | Link | Soundex | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | - | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1870 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1865 State | indexes | Link | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| images | Link | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | |
| 1860 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link |
| images | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1855 State | indexes | Link | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| images | Link | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | |
| 1850 | indexes | Link | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1840 | indexes | Link | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1830 | indexes | Link | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1820 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1810[8] | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| partial 1800[8] | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1790[8] | indexes | Link | - | Tran- script |
Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| Family Search | Internet Archive | Misc. | Heritage Quest | Fold3 | Ancestry FHL | Ancestry Library | Ancestry Home | Archives | Family Link | ||
| Free | Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) | Pay | |||||||||
Federal population schedules
Microfilm images
| 1940 N/A | 1910 | 1870 | 1790 - 1840 |
| 1930 | 1900 and Soundex | 1860 | |
| 1920 and Soundex | 1880 and Soundex | 1850 | |
| 1940 N/A | 1910 T624 | 1860 M653 | 1820 M33 |
| 1930 T626 | 1900 T623 Soundex T1051 | 1850 M432 | 1810 M252 |
| 1920 T625 Soundex M1567 | 1880 T9 Soundex T754 | 1840 M704 | 1800 M32 |
| 1870 M593 | 1830 M19 | 1790 M637 |
Indexes: fiche, film, or book
For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Massachusetts, click here
Federal non-population schedules
Online indexes and images
| Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Massachusetts | ||||||||||
| |
Free | Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) | Pay | |||||||
| Year | Type | Record Search | Census Bureau | Google Book | Heritage Quest | Ancestry FHL | Ancestry Library | Ancestry Home | ||
| 1890 | Veterans | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1880 | Defective | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1880 | Mortality | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1870 | Mortality | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1860 | Mortality | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1850 | Mortality | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1840 | Pensioners | Link | BookLink | BookLink | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
Microfilm images
Family History Library Federal Census Non-Population Schedule Microfilms for Massachusetts
- 1880 mortality schedules FHL films 1421020–23
- 1870 mortality schedules FHL films 1421018–19
- 1860 mortality schedules FHL film 1421017
- 1850 mortality schedules FHL films 1421015–16
National Archives Federal Census Non-Population ScheduleMicrofilms for Massachusetts
- 1935 Census of Business
- 1820 - 1880 Census of Manufactures including agriculture, manufacturing, social statistics, mortality and delinquent classes.
Indexes: fiche, film, or book
For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Massachusetts, click here.
State and colonial censuses
Massachusetts often took censuses in the years between the federal censuses, the dates are listed below. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.
| State and Colonial Censuses of Massachusetts | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1945 | Lost[9][10] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1935 | Lost[9][10] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1925 | Lost[9][10] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1915 | Lost[9][10] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1905 | Lost[9][10] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1895 | Lost[9][10] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1885 | Lost[9][10] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1875 | Lost[9][10] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1865 May 1 | Exist[10][11][12] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1855 June 1 | Exist[10][11][12] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1850 | Lost[10] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1840 | Lost[10] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1837 May 1 | Lost[10] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Existing and lost censuses
For a list of available and missing Massachusetts censuses, click here.
Why use a census?
A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.
More about censuses
Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:
Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:
- Massachusetts 1855 State Census (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Massachusetts 1865 State Census (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Sources and footnotes
- ↑ FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
- ↑ Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
- ↑ HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
- ↑ Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
- ↑ Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
- ↑ FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 8.2 Massachusetts federal censuses included Maine in 1790, 1800, and 1810, although Maine counties were always enumerated separately.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 9.2 9.3 9.4 9.5 9.6 9.7 Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992)[[FHL book 973 X2Lai]], 57-61.
- ↑ 10.00 10.01 10.02 10.03 10.04 10.05 10.06 10.07 10.08 10.09 10.10 10.11 10.12 Henry J. Dubester, State Censuses: An Annotated Bibliography of Censuses of Population Taken After the Year 1790 by States and Territories of the United States (Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1948) [FHL Book 973 X23s; Film 982038 Item 13; Fiche 6018062], 24-29.
- ↑ 11.0 11.1 Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992)[[FHL book 973 X2Lai]], 57-61. Original censuses at the Massachusetts State Archives.
- ↑ 12.0 12.1 Massachusetts, Secretary of the Commonwealth, State Census, 1855–1865 (Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1974) [FHL Films 953973+]. For online census editions see "Online Federal and State Population Schedules for Massachusetts" above.
| ||||
| ||||||||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 28 June 2012, at 18:00.
- This page has been accessed 9,935 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More