Marion County, IndianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Indiana
Marion County
Guide to Marion County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Marion County, Indiana | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location of Indiana in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | December 31, 1821 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Indianpolis | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Adams County Courthouse 602 Adams Avenue Hettinger, ND 58739 Phone: 701.567.2460 Adams County Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Historical Facts
The county is named after "The Swamp Fox" Revolutionary War Brigadier General Francis Marion (c1732-1795).[1]
Boundary Changes
Parent County
1821--Marion County was created 31 December 1821 from unorganized territory.
County seat: Indianapolis [2]
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
Marion County Cemeteries - www.genealogyindy.org(Genealogical Society of Marion County)
- Marion County Cemeteries-USGenWeb
- Cemeteries for Marion County - Linkpendium
- Vol. 21 page 73 - Old Battleground Cemetery
- Vol. 21 page 84 - Huffman Cemetery, Washington Township
- Index of Pioneer Cemeteries, Perry Township (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Index of Pioneer Cemeteries, Warren Township (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Census Records
For tips on accessing Marion County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.
- Index to Mortality Schedule for Marion County, Indiana (1860) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Index to Defective, Delinquent & Dependent Census for Marion County, Indiana (1880) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Enumeration of Males in Lawrence Township, Marion County, Indiana (1913) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Church Records
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Indianapolis
- Indianapolis Dist
- Indianapolis N.
- Indianapolis S.
Lutheran
aka Evangelical
- Records of the American Lutheran Church, Indianapolis, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
First German Evangelical Church, Indianapolis
- 1856-1879 - First German Evangelical Church, Indianapolis, Baptism Index 1856-1879 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batches C760381 and C760382.[3]
Court Records
Directories
Genealogical Society of Marion County holds several city directories in their library. www.genealogyindy.org
Fold3.com ($) has Indianapolis City Directories 1857, 1861, 1864-1923 (3 yrs. missing) available online.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political and Religious Groups
Funeral Homes
- Obituaries and Funeral Home Records - Linkpendium
- Jacobs Brothers Funeral Home (digitized records)
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Local Histories
- History of Marion CountyLinkpendium
- SULGROVE, B. R. (1884). History of Indianapolis and Marion County, Indiana. (Philadelphia, L.H. Everts Co.) FHL US/CAN Film 934914 Item 1 FHL Collection other librariesINTERNET ARCHIVE
- The People's Guide, a Business, Political and Religious Directory of Marion Co., Ind., Together with a Collection of Very Important Documents and Statistics Connected with Our Moral, Political and Scientific History. 1873.other librariesINTERNET ARCHIVE
- United States. Names of Persons Enumerated in Marion County, Indiana, at the Fifth Census Eighteen Hundred and Thirty. (Indianapolis: E.J. Hecker, printer and publisher, 1908.) other librariesGoogle books
- Pictorial and Biographical Memoirs of Indianapolis and Marion County, Indiana: Together with Biographies of Many Prominent Men of Other Portions of the State, Both Living and Dead. (Tucson, Arizona: Americana Unlimited, 1974.) otherlibraries Google books
- Nowland, John H. B. Sketches of Prominent Citizens of 1876: with a Few of the Pioneers of the City and County Who Have Passed Away. (1876.) other librariesINTERNET ARCHIVE
Land and Property
Maps
- Family Maps of Marion County, Indiana (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Maps and Gazetteers-Linkpendium
Military Records
- Military Record and Histories-Linkpendium
- Veterans in Marion County, Indiana (1913) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Civil War
Civil War service men from Marion County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Marion County.
- 1st Regiment, Indiana Heavy Artillery, Companies B, L, and M
- 1st Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company K
- 3rd Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 4th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company A
- 5th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry (90th Regiment, Indiana Volunteers), Company M
- 7th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies C, D, G, and H
- 7th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company I
- 8th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company H
- 9th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies A, F, H, I, and L
- 10th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- 11th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, B, E, H, K , and Reorganized Companies A, B, E, F, H, and K
- 12th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company A
- 13th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, H, and Reorganized Companies D, and E
- 14th Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 16th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Companies F, I, and K
- 19th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies D, and F
- 20th Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 26th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies E, and I
- 30th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company A
- 35th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A
- 40th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company G
- 47th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company G
- 52nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, K, and Reorganized Company E
- 70th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, E, and F
- 79th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, C, and F
- 99th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company H
- 100th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- 104th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, All of Companies A-H
- 106th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- 107th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, All of Companies A-M
- 110th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B
- 113th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, All of Companies A-I
- 123rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company E
- 124th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies C, and D
- 132nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies A, B, C, F, and K
- 148th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, C, and G
- 156th Regiment, Indiana Infantry Company A
- 28th US Colored Troops , Companies A, B, C, E, G, and Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
- Wilder Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
World War II
- Soldiers From Marion County, Indiana Who Died in World War II (1941-1946) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Indianapolis Water Company Employees Serving in World War II (1940-1945) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
World War II
Residents of Marion County Who Received Medals in World War I ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Women from Marion County Who Served in World War I ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Residents of Marion County Who Died in World War I ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Naturalization Records
Newspapers
- Indiana Farmer Newspaper, 1851-1917 - digitized collection via Purdue University Libraries
- Indianapolis Recorder, 1899-2005 - African-American newspaper; digitized collection via Purdue University Libraries
Obituaries
Occupational Records
- Members of Indianapolis Electrotypers and Stereotypers Union (1930) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Probate Records
Public Records
Repositories
Archives
County Courthouse
Marion County Courthouse
200 E Washington
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone:1.317.327.4740
CountyClerk has marriage and divorce records.
County Recorder has birth, death and land records.
Probate Court has probate records.[4]
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Indianapolis Indiana Family History Center
- White River Indiana Family History Center
Libraries
Museums
Societies
School Records
- Graduates of Arsenal Technical High School, Indianapolis (1915-1925) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Graduates of Ben Davis High School (1898-1938) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Graduates of Castleton High School (1897-1941) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Graduates of Oaklandon High School (1895-1941) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Graduates of Southport/Perry Township High School (1934-1937) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Graduates of High Schools in Franklin Township (1890-1942) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Students and Teachers in Indianapolis Public Schools Board Minutes (1907-1913) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Students in Grade 1-8 of Indianapolis Public Schools (1890) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Teachers of Indianapolis Public Schools (1883, 1886) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Alumni of Indianapolis Public School #30 (1927-1947) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Students of Marion County Seminary (1834-1853) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Students of Sabbath School Union Society (1826) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Students of Shortridge High School, Indianapolis (1890) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Students of Warren Township (1856-1865) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Students at Indiana School for the Deaf, Indianapolis (1845-1851, 1857, 1858) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Students at Indiana School for the Blind, Indianapolis (1846-1851) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Selected Teachers of Marion County, Indiana (1874) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Taxation
- Selected Tax Lists of Marion County, Indiana (1840-1850) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Delinquent Taxpayers of Indianapolis, Marion County (1840) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Vital Records
- Indiana State Digital Archives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records
- Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992FamilySearch(accessed 31 Mar 2011note; name index)
- Indiana, Marriages, 1811-1959FamilySearch(accessed 31 May 2011 note; at this time Marion County has not be done)
- Indiana Marriage Collection, 1800-1941 [http://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=5059 ancestry com.(accessed 31 May 2011note; name index; year range = 1822-1836, 1861-1925, for Marion County)
- Index to Marriage Record, Marion County was compiled by the Indiana Works Progress Administration in 1939. Vol. I = 1822-1855. Vol. II = 1856-1865. Vol. III = 1866-1870. Vol. IV = 1871-1875. Vol. V = 1876-1880. Vol. VI = 1881-1890. These volumes are available at the public library in Indianapolis and at the Allen County Public Library in Fort Wayne.
- Marion County, Indiana Early Marriages, 1822-1836 by Colleen Alice Ridlen, and Marriage Records, Marion County, Indiana, 1822-1843, compiled by the DAR are two additional indexes of the county's earliest marriages.
- The Allen County Public Library has a 169-volume set of Marion County marriages for 1929 through June 1944 titled Marriage Records, Marion County, Indiana: Ministers' Returns for the Board of Health. An index to the 1929 and 1930 volumes of these records [1] also is available at ACPL.
- A searchable database of Marion County Marriages, 1925-2006 is available at the Marion County Circuit Court's website.
Death Records
- 1919-1937 - Marion County Death Index 1919-1937 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C547421.[3]
- 1939-1956 - Records of Jacobs Brothers Funeral Home, Indianapolis (1939-1956) (free, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Voter Registration
Other Records
- Selected Lists of Jurors in Marion County, Indiana (1800s) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- AfricanAmericans in Civilian Conservation Corps, Fort Benjamin Harrison, Indianapolis (1938) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Indiana Civilians in Training Course at Fort Benjamin Harrison, Indianapolis (1925) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Web Sites
Genealogical Society of Marion County www.genealogyIndy.org. Established in 1995 GSMC focuses on Marion County genealogical records.
- The Marion County IN GenWeb Project, a member of The INGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- Family History Library Catalog
- Marion County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Marion County Genealogy (Indiana Genealogy)
References
- ↑ "Francis Marion," Wikipedia.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igiindianah.pdf.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Marion County, Indiana 214 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 10 June 2013, at 19:04.
- This page has been accessed 4,403 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
