Macon County, AlabamaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Alabama
Macon County
Guide to Macon County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Macon County, Alabama | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Alabama in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 18, 1832 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Tuskegee |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Macon County Courthouse 101 E. Northside St Tuskegee, AL 36083 Phone (334) 724-2614 County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Probate Judge has marriage, probate and land records from 1835;
Clerk Circuit court has Court Trecords from 1868 [1]
History
The county is named after U.S. Senator Nathaniel Macon (1758-1837).[2]
Parent County
1832--Macon County was created 18 December 1832 from the Creek Cession of 1832.
County seat: Tuskegee [3]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
- Macon County, Alabama Cemeteries. n.d. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Census
| Macon County, Alabama | ||
|---|---|---|
| Year | Pop. | %± |
| 1820 | — | |
| 1830 | — | |
| 1840 | 11,247 | — |
| 1850 | 26,898 | 139.2% |
| 1860 | 26,802 | −0.4% |
| 1870 | 17,727 | −33.9% |
| 1880 | 17,371 | −2.0% |
| 1890 | 18,439 | 6.1% |
| 1900 | 23,126 | 25.4% |
| 1910 | 26,049 | 12.6% |
| 1920 | 23,561 | −9.6% |
| 1930 | 27,103 | 15.0% |
| 1940 | 27,654 | 2.0% |
| 1950 | 30,561 | 10.5% |
| 1960 | 26,717 | −12.6% |
| 1970 | 24,841 | −7.0% |
| 1980 | 26,829 | 8.0% |
| 1990 | 24,928 | −7.1% |
| 2000 | 24,105 | −3.3% |
| 2010 | 21,452 | −11.0% |
Church Records
Court Records
Land and Property
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Macon County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Macon County.
- - 1st Battalion, Alabama Artillery, Company B and D
- - 3rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D "Southern Rifles
- - 3rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C "Tuskegee Light Infantry"
- - 3rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company L "Dixie Eagles"
- - 4th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B
- - 6th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B [subsequently, Company L]
- - 12th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F "Macon Confederates"
- - 12th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K "Tom Watt's Rebels"
- - 15th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C
- - 23rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B
- - 37th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D
- - 45th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B, D, E, G and H
- - 46th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D and F
- - 61st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A, B, C, E, H and I
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
Newspapers
Probate Records
Taxation
- 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Macon County is in District 2.
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- 1834-1931 - Macon County Marriage Books 1 and 3-6 Index 1834-1931 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1834-1878, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1834-1878, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1834–1879 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- 1834–1879 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths Recorded by the State of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths Recorded by the State of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908-1974 - Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection - free
Societies and Libraries
Libraries
Macon County-Tuskegee Public Library
302 South Main Street
Tuskegee, Alabama 36083
Telephone: 334-727-5192
Family History Centers
Macon County Alabama Genealogy Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ contains record transcriptions from Bibles, obituaries, court records and more.
- Macon County ALGenWeb ~ record transcriptions and information pertinent to the county.
[1] - Macon County, Alabama Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Macon County Alabama Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Macon County p. 38. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ "Nathaniel Macon", Wikipedia.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/cf/Igialabamals.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 30 April 2013, at 00:07.
- This page has been accessed 1,931 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

