Liverpool St Peter, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
In 1699 the parish was created from Walton[-on-the-Hill] in perpetuity 20 shillings and threepence to be paid to the rector of Walton; £400 was ordered to be raised to build a church dedicated to St Peter. In fact it cost three thousand five hundred pounds and is said to be the first parish church that was erected in Lancashire after the Reformation.
The church was consecrated in 1704. St Peter Church Street was designated the Cathedral Church of Liverpool.
In 1830 a new peal of ten bells was installed,in 1831 the church clock was first lighted by gas.
Removal of bodies from a part of St Peter's churchyard, opened in 1704, commeced Jan 27 1868. About 2000 bodies were removed. Some of the coffins bore the date of 1707. The bodies were all removed" with the utmost decency and propriety" and were re-interred in Anfield cemetery.
The mourning at the death of Queen Victoria was lead to St Peter as the Cathedral Church in 1900. A choral memorial service including the Mayor and aldermen of the city and the Bishop of Liverpool gave the benediction.
The church was demolished in 1922, and completed 2 October 1922.
"Liverpool was a chapelry in the parish of Waltonuntil 1698, when it was constituted a distinct parish, and a rectory divided into medieties respectively belonging to the incumbents of St Peter's church and the parochial chapel of St Nicholas. In 1838, an act was passed for uniting the two portions, upon the decease of one of the rectors..."
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Online transcriptions exist for Liverpool St Peter's Chapel registers as well as for Liverpool's ancient parish of St Nicholas' baptism, marriage and burial registers. Displayed below are those links to online data for both this chapelry and for the ancient parish of St Nicholas located in the following websites; note the ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£)|
|LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk|
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|LIVERPOOL ST PETER Chapelry (1704) Indexes|
|LIVERPOOL ST NICHOLAS PARISH (1604) Indexes|
To view a full list for all of Liverpool Parish’s (nearly 60) chapelries, ecclesiastical churches, and district chapels, and to view online baptism, marriage and burial transcription indexes, visit the LIVERPOOL ST PETER & ST NICHOLAS PARISH page.
Liverpool St Peter's Chapelry (parish) registers are held at the Liverpool Record Office. These registers have also been microfilmed by FamilySearch and they are available through its 4600 FamilySearch Centers worldwide.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438717. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 31 December 2012, at 04:36.
- This page has been accessed 943 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More