Liverpool St Barnabas, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Contents |
Chapelry History
Liverpool St Barnabas Parliament Street Chapel was created by the year 1841 and was one of nearly 60 such chapelries within the boundary comprising the ancient parish of Liverpool St Nicholas and St Peter.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two major Internet sites with name lists or indexes to these records of vital content:
- FreeBMD - has over 250 million entries of births, marriages and deaths for England and Wales
- Lancashire BMD - Online index of Lancashire (only) Births, Marriages and Deaths
Church records
Online Records
Online transcriptions exist for Liverpool St Barnabas' Chapel registers as well as for Liverpool's ancient parish of St Nicholas' baptism, marriage and burial registers. Displayed below are those links to online data for both this chapelry and for the ancient parish of St Nicholas located in the following websites; note the ranges of years:
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk |
| LIVERPOOL ST BARNABAS (1841) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1855-1856 | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1841-1939 - part. | None | ||
| LIVERPOOL ST NICHOLAS PARISH (1604) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1604-1894 | 1604-1911 | 1779-1787;1809-1825 | ||
| LOPC | 1776-1865 | 1788-1838 | 1776-1854 | ||
| LBMD | None | 1837-1939 | None | ||
| AC | 1659-1812 | 1659-1812 | 1659-1812 | ||
To view a full list for all of Liverpool Parish’s (nearly 60) chapelries, ecclesiastical churches, and district chapels, and to view online baptism, marriage and burial transcription indexes, visit the LIVERPOOL ST PETER & ST NICHOLAS PARISH page.
Original Records
Liverpool St Barnabas' Chapelry (parish) registers are held at the Liverpool Record Office. These registers have also been microfilmed by FamilySearch and they are available through its 4600 FamilySearch Centers worldwide.
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438717. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Liverpool, Lancashire Poor Law Union
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 31 December 2012, at 04:12.
- This page has been accessed 246 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More